Author Topic: 2015 Ashes.  (Read 76493 times)

Offline Paul (SA)

Re: 2015 Ashes.
« Reply #301 on: August 10, 2015, 08:01:18 AM »
I get sick of all the English who have migrated to Australia giving me heaps about how'they' won back the Ashes.

You've moved over here, enjoy everything Australia can offer - who's side are you on!!

Bloody soap dodgers.
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

Offline broncos11

« Reply #302 on: August 10, 2015, 08:17:14 AM »
The biggest problem with the Aussie team is they play to much one day cricket with the smash and run attitude and take the same attitude into the test matches.

Yep. You've hit the nail right on the head.
My young fella, who's 12,  is in a state academy of sport elite squad and goes once every 3 weeks to training days. The other day the head coach encouraged these young kids to practise their ramp and reverse sweep shots as they can make good careers out of one day and 20/20 cricket. I could have flogged him when he said that!!!
How about we teach our kids a sound technique and worry about show pony shots later in life when they have the basics sorted????
Of interest also is that Joe Burns got another 100 playing for Aussie A over in India. That's a couple of tons and a couple of 50+'s in trying conditions. Would have been handy in middle order.

2003 IFS V8 100 series

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #303 on: August 10, 2015, 08:20:07 AM »
Might be time to take some learnings from India in the current "A" team tour over there. 10 South Africa A players were hospitalised for food poisoning, maybe we should have slipped the poms a dodgy butter chicken the night before the last test!
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #304 on: August 10, 2015, 08:22:41 AM »
Like it or not, the future in Cricket is 20/20 and probably not as much but IPL/50 over...

Night test cricket wont save it.. that will just annoy people.

The following users thanked this post: broncos11

« Reply #305 on: August 10, 2015, 08:48:19 AM »
Make sure you all tune into four corners tonight.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

« Reply #306 on: August 10, 2015, 09:03:47 AM »
Like it or not, the future in Cricket is 20/20 and probably not as much but IPL/50 over...

Based on what? Same thing was said when Packer brought in World Series Cricket...

« Reply #307 on: August 10, 2015, 09:12:07 AM »
20/20 is where the quick money is... no doubt...

i can't stand 20/20 (or hit and giggle)... much prefer 50 over cricket for the shorter form.  more tactics and skill involved...

test cricket will always be the pinnacle of cricket, IMO...

we need to get back to not thinking that someone who is good in the shorter forms of the game is necessarily as good in test cricket.

more emphasis on consistent and sustained sheffield shield form for test cricket selection is needed, IMO...

and when you are selected for the test team, you get a minimum of 5-10 tests to prove your worth to get rid of this 'one bad test and you're out of the team' habit for new players...

Offline Moggy

« Reply #308 on: August 10, 2015, 09:19:45 AM »
This makes for interesting reading...
http://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes-2015-david-warner-set-for-vice-captaincy-as-steve-smith-lined-up-to-replace-michael-clarke/story-fnu2penb-1227476479975

Geez as if he didnt already have enough "short man syndrome" attitude.

It could either make him or destroy the aussies reputation
All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #309 on: August 10, 2015, 09:26:56 AM »
Agreed, if you remember Punter also was involved in a punch on early in his career, history repeating...
http://www.espncricinfo.com/australia/content/story/80026.html

Offline ellisd

« Reply #310 on: August 10, 2015, 08:18:20 PM »

The players have changed with One dayers and 20/20, batsman try and score a boundry off every ball and the bowlers bowl far too many slower balls trying too much. Cannot remember that many tests going into day 5 latley
2012 Ford Ranger XLT
2013 Lifestyle Walkthru Delux

« Reply #311 on: August 12, 2015, 10:08:46 AM »
Hope his kid is doing ok.

Brad Haddin has been granted an early release from Australia's Ashes squad and is flying home from what will almost certainly be his last tour with the national team.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/ashes-2015-brad-haddin-out-of-squad-flies-home-early-for-personal-reasons-20150811-giwzxe.html

The following users thanked this post: plusnq

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #312 on: August 12, 2015, 09:31:16 PM »

Offline Moggy

« Reply #314 on: August 14, 2015, 08:48:55 PM »
Dad " Whats vice"
"Well son its drugs, loose women, alcohol, and gambling.  Why do you ask?"
"Wow I just got made CAPTAIN of it in the Australian cricket side"

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #315 on: August 20, 2015, 07:45:01 PM »
Siddle in for Hazelwood. Hope Buck has a blinder of a last test, good luck mate!

None fa off the first, already a better start!
« Last Edit: August 20, 2015, 08:03:35 PM by lino6 »
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #316 on: August 21, 2015, 08:07:57 AM »
Warner batted well, as did Smith. If only this could have happened in the last 2 tests this one may have meant something.

Was a good tribute to Richie the poms put on too.

« Reply #317 on: August 22, 2015, 06:55:49 AM »
Poms 8/107 chasing 481, Siddle 2/18, pity we didn't play like this 2 tests ago...

« Reply #318 on: August 22, 2015, 08:41:47 AM »
i wonder if warnie thinks not having siddle in the side is still a good idea...

« Reply #319 on: August 22, 2015, 08:47:47 AM »
Poms 8/107 chasing 481, Siddle 2/18, pity we didn't play like this 2 tests ago...

Even is we wernt so up oursleves in the first test and played day 4 out till stumps? It pissed down all day 5 and would have been a draw?

Still aways to go, wood seems to be able to hang around. I would love to see them get through quickly and bundle them back in?  An innings defeat would be the perfect comeback to close the series?

« Reply #320 on: August 22, 2015, 08:49:26 AM »
i wonder if warnie thinks not having siddle in the side is still a good idea...

Yeah but I read warnies whole comments and he made sense. If cummins is the future blood him now.  Warne did say in the article that siddle should have been selected earlier to replace hazlwood.

« Reply #321 on: August 22, 2015, 08:53:03 AM »
Yeah but I read warnies whole comments and he made sense. If cummins is the future blood him now.  Warne did say in the article that siddle should have been selected earlier to replace hazlwood.

johnson or starc should have been the ones to go...

have hazelwood and siddle building pressure and doing the hard yards and then have starc or johnson firing in 4 or 5 over spells...

starc and johnson are not frontline, pressure building bowlers, they are attacking bowlers...  thery have actually relieved pressure, not built it, with crap bowling.

hazelwood and siddle are more of the ryan harris mold... and look how we miss harris..

warnie should just keep his mouth shut.  he wants matthew wade (a victorian, what a shock) in the test side instead of peter nevill.  enough said.

Offline Palmer

« Reply #322 on: August 22, 2015, 09:05:18 AM »

warnie should just keep his mouth shut.  he wants matthew wade (a victorian, what a shock) in the test side instead of peter nevill.  enough said.

Actually, Wade's a Tasmanian who couldn't get a permanent spot for the Tassie team  (was battling with another keeper who was also in the mix for Test selection)    :laugh:

« Reply #323 on: August 22, 2015, 09:33:39 AM »
Actually, Wade's a Tasmanian who couldn't get a permanent spot for the Tassie team  (was battling with another keeper who was also in the mix for Test selection)    :laugh:

plays for the vics now though... amounts to the same thing...

he hasn't done a thing for ages... and yet warnie thinks he's test material all of a sudden??

this obsession we have for finding the next gilchrist/haddin is just ridiculous. 

how about we get a wicket keeper who is the best keeper in the country (IMO, chris hartley for years) and then let our top order batsmen worry about the runs...?

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #324 on: August 22, 2015, 02:59:05 PM »
Maybe Clarke and Rogers should retire every test!

tappa tappa tappa