Author Topic: Old Stuff I Really Miss  (Read 34090 times)

Re: Old Stuff I Really Miss
« Reply #25 on: January 31, 2015, 05:12:30 PM »
The $4.75 a carton for tallies!  :'(

« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2015, 05:19:22 PM »
petrol @ 20c a litre

« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2015, 05:20:47 PM »
petrol @ 20c a litre

You can go back further than that Keith.......

« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2015, 05:23:08 PM »
You can go back further than that Keith.......
Really thought it was 12c but didn't think any one would believe me  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #29 on: January 31, 2015, 05:24:36 PM »
Really thought it was 12c but didn't think any one would believe me  ;D ;D ;D

I remember paying 60c/gallon for ZOOM for my minibike.. ;D

Also remember it going from 15.9 to 18.9.....circa 1978

« Reply #30 on: January 31, 2015, 05:27:26 PM »
I remember paying 60c/gallon for ZOOM for my minibike.. ;D
Last of the big spenders, ;D probably filled a cream bottle, that would have lasted a days running  :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #31 on: January 31, 2015, 05:30:33 PM »
Last of the big spenders, ;D probably filled a cream bottle, that would have lasted a days running  :cheers: :cheers:

Bought it by the gallon tin, and it kept us going for ages...... :cup:

Offline Gazza00

« Reply #32 on: January 31, 2015, 06:05:50 PM »
Spot on Azz - I'll even go a step further. Politicians and police need to take some responsibility too - if we hadn't introduced seat belt and XPCA laws in the 70's imagine how many less numpties we'd have around today!  ;D unfortunately the legislation and enforcement prevented Darwin's theory taking today's numpties' grandparents and parents!

A couple of bosses at work didn't see it the same way when I mentioned it though!  >:D

Yep ... one of my favorite sayings  "Danger eliminates stupid people"

and totally agree

"unfortunately the legislation and enforcement prevented Darwin's theory taking today's numpties' grandparents and parents!"

Had the same reaction with the OHS safety wanker

"A couple of bosses at work didn't see it the same way when I mentioned it though!"

Seems like no one wants to take responsibility of their own actions anymore.

Offline Reddirtroaming

• You can't rush something you want to last forever
    • Red Dirt Roaming
« Reply #33 on: February 01, 2015, 03:21:16 PM »
Manners, courtesy, kindness & respect from others in all aspects of life.

Growing up as a country kid, we would get a ar*e kicking if we were ever disrespectful to anyone. So many people are all for themselves now days & have no courtesy to others.

Makes me sad to think how the world has changed. Our kids won't get to grow up in the safe little world that I did.
Check out our adventures on our blog http://reddirtroaming.blogspot.com.au

Offline Andreweasty90

« Reply #34 on: February 01, 2015, 03:29:23 PM »
Sounds like the same OHS people I deal with asking what's my hearing protection for hamming nails in by hand and msds for everything and you can't forget having to wear gloves to pick up anything even a tape measure

Offline BillC

« Reply #35 on: February 01, 2015, 04:32:20 PM »
Am I forgetting something when I say: " I really miss Windows 95" imagine how fast it would be if I could just get it on my current computer.

I just don't think they are getting any faster, they just do extra stuff I don t need.

A bit like caravan parks, they aren't getting better, they Just have extra stuff I don't need.

"Nostalgia! It ain't what it used to be"

Offline Azz

« Reply #36 on: February 02, 2015, 06:45:13 AM »

Yep ... one of my favorite sayings  "Danger eliminates stupid people"

and totally agree

"unfortunately the legislation and enforcement prevented Darwin's theory taking today's numpties' grandparents and parents!"

Had the same reaction with the OHS safety wanker

"A couple of bosses at work didn't see it the same way when I mentioned it though!"

Seems like no one wants to take responsibility of their own actions anymore.

We work in a government department yard on a regular basis, part of this is you need to do a OHS test and carry a card on site. Repeat every twelve months.

So the last question of the multi choice test.

Who is responsible for your safety on site?

A. The Manager.
B. Yourself.
C. The Manager and your workmates.
D. The Manager & Yourself.

So I answered B. Because I am responsible for my own actions, but guess what, I was wrong  ;D

Turns out D is the correct answer.  ??? Not sure how the manager can keep tabs on everyone working on site at any given time, must be a super human.

« Reply #37 on: February 02, 2015, 07:19:13 AM »
I miss the old driveway service that you got at service stations, fill her up and check your oil and water, all with a smile. Now you hardly even get acknowledged at the counter of the modern fuel shops.

cheers duggie

Offline broncos11

« Reply #38 on: February 02, 2015, 08:40:18 AM »
High school girlfriends!!!
2003 IFS V8 100 series

« Reply #39 on: February 02, 2015, 08:45:29 AM »
Manners, courtesy, kindness & respect from others in all aspects of life.

Growing up as a country kid, we would get a ar*e kicking if we were ever disrespectful to anyone. So many people are all for themselves now days & have no courtesy to others.

Makes me sad to think how the world has changed. Our kids won't get to grow up in the safe little world that I did.

+1...

Offline Cosworth

« Reply #40 on: February 02, 2015, 09:30:59 AM »
Nostalgia is a seductive mistress....

:cheers:Pete

« Reply #41 on: February 02, 2015, 09:57:37 AM »
buying a trading post on Thursday and getting the deal before others, unlike battling with morons in ebay who will bid more than retail, with 9 days to go in the auction...

Offline Artie01

« Reply #42 on: February 02, 2015, 11:37:42 AM »
BEX is better..... ::)

There's a reason they're both gone.

Indeed, these suckers cost me my Grandmother (earlier than I would have liked...) according to the doctors who looked after her in her last days....  :-[

I remember the little cardboard box they came in.. little folded paper sleeves nasty lil suckers.....
« Last Edit: February 02, 2015, 11:40:50 AM by Artie01 »

« Reply #43 on: February 02, 2015, 12:01:01 PM »
skimpy barmaids
and ducking down the pub on Fridays lunch break and watching the titty show whist downing as many beers was you can in that hour

Offline Nifty1

« Reply #44 on: February 02, 2015, 03:44:54 PM »
Azz, that's because the whole system is a rort and a primary aim seems to be to provide ways to get the management in the poo. I did the 5 day intro course and was disgusted by the entire thing. Learnt nothing about safety but a lot about how to cause problems.
Tvan + Terracan
Hilux Adventure Camper
1999 Outback Sturt - an oldie but a goodie. Updated of course (passed on within family)

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #45 on: February 02, 2015, 07:29:12 PM »
Cars with proper gauges not warning lights so I can actually tell what is going on in my 4x4 without having to fit secondary gauges

4x4's with PTO's

Walking to school with your mates. Not being chauffeured by mumsie and dadda from door to door

The recognition and kudos from holding the street record for highscore on PacMan on the Atari
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

« Reply #46 on: February 02, 2015, 07:52:55 PM »
Common Sense. A mate has informed me that in the world of OH&S you are actively discouraged from using common sense. Apparently it's better to sift through the manuals and standards to find an approved procedure, and common sense is reckoned to be a very poor defence if you are ever called to account.

The reason you are discouraged from using common sense is because it is nothing more than a philosophical concept. You can't use common sense as a defense because you can't rely on it.

« Reply #47 on: February 02, 2015, 08:06:49 PM »
The reason you are discouraged from using common sense is because it is nothing more than a philosophical concept. You can't use common sense as a defense because you can't rely on it.
So are you saying that if I was at work it would be ok for me to stick my toe under the track of a moving excavator because I had my regulation safety boots on or should I use common sense and not do that regardless of what I'm wearing   :angel:

« Reply #48 on: February 02, 2015, 08:07:15 PM »
What ever happened to the days a tyre shop only had to stock a dozen tyre or so sizes and cater for 90% of cars on the road  ;D
To name a few:
165/75R13
185/75R14
195/75R14
205/65R15
185R14
31/10.5R15
205R16
750R16

Now you have to carry 100 different sizes and that still ain't enough ???

A Sample of few current sizes:

BMW X5
315/35R20
285/35R21
325/30R21

MERC ML
265/40R21
295/35R21

New sizes just launched for BMW's electric cars:
BMW i8
195/50R20
215/45R20

BMW i3
155/70R19
175/60R19

???
???
WTF

« Reply #49 on: February 02, 2015, 08:08:39 PM »
What ever happened to the days a tyre shop only had to stock a dozen tyre or so sizes and cater for 90% of cars on the road  ;D
To name a few:
165/75R13
185/75R14
195/75R14
205/65R15
185R14
31/10.5R15
205R16
750R16

Now you have to carry 100 different sizes and that still ain't enough ???

A Sample of few current sizes:

BMW X5
315/35R20
285/35R21
325/30R21

MERC ML
265/40R21
295/35R21

New sizes just launched for BMW's electric cars:
BMW i8
195/50R20
215/45R20