Author Topic: I'm just home from a 350 day, 43000 klm around Aus trip - Ask Me Anything  (Read 27091 times)

Offline ako

Re: I'm just home from a 350 day, 43000 klm around Aus trip - Ask Me Anything
« Reply #50 on: December 30, 2014, 02:11:19 AM »
Sounds like a great trip.

Was there anything you packed and took around the country that should have stayed at home?

Or something that you wished you had the extra space for?

Could you give a basic breakdown of fridge size, solar panels, batteries, etc that your camper has.

« Reply #51 on: December 30, 2014, 10:03:07 AM »
Sounds like a great trip.

Was there anything you packed and took around the country that should have stayed at home?

Or something that you wished you had the extra space for?

Could you give a basic breakdown of fridge size, solar panels, batteries, etc that your camper has.

Ako
Im sure Trev will give more details but from my half lap experience we took may to much clothing in the cold you live in the same jeans and jumper and in the summer you live in the same board shorts and t shirts

Offline trevc

« Reply #52 on: December 31, 2014, 09:07:10 AM »
Ako

It was a great trip!

Most of the stuff we took was used at some point or another. We had some spares that we didn't use ( which is a good thing), but generally just about everything else came into play at some point or another. As we didn't have heaps of space we had to be very selective in what came on the trip. Also having researched Chesters blog and others we thought we're better off adding stuff along the way if needed. Clothing was a good example, we travelled light and bought at op shops and target etc if we needs to add anything.

CT: 2x105ah AGM's running 1x70L evakool fridge, 2 x 500mm LED strips and a CPAP, iDevices
Car: 1x105ah AGM aux running 1x 47L ARB fridge, inverter for Laptop and Camera
Solar: 160w folding panel with Juta MPPT controller - chased the sun during the day - would run solar into car and trailer simultaneously via a Ando Plug double adapter.
240v: 1 ea CTEK charger in trailer and car (forget the models)

Longest period between 240v charging was 70 days, so combo of good panels and controller, driving (hence charging) every few days and awesome weather kept us going. I was very pleased with this.

So car and trailer had there own fridge, battery, charger which offered some redundancy.
I did all the electrical setup myself and though envious of others wiring arrangements kept it super simple with a self made battery box with heaps of Ando plugs and some hard wiring of the trailer.

I thought about DC-DC but decided to run with what I had and I could of added along the way but clearly wasn't necessary for my needs, even with a ****ty 'smart' alternator and Voltage Booster only giving out 13.8v.

Hope this helps

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #53 on: December 31, 2014, 11:08:11 AM »
Welcome back Trev!!

Just reading your thread and it looks like you had a blast!!

Will have to catch up for that beer and a chat about your trip!!

« Reply #54 on: December 31, 2014, 11:24:45 AM »
Doing a u-turn, drivers side trailer wheel jumped the gutter and just wrong angle / wrong speed and she tipped over. It was a 3 lane arterial road so plenty of traffic so plenty of people stopped and about 5 of us tipped it back onto the wheels. Did a fair bit of damage to it but didn't take us off the road. Off to the insurance assessment tomorrow, they're talking about writing it off...I don't know how I feel about that she's part of the family
How did the assessment turn out?
If they write it off can you purchase the salvage and fix it up?

« Reply #55 on: December 31, 2014, 11:40:48 AM »
WOW mate been checking out your Blog.....amazing you lucky buggers :cheers:

Offline trevc

« Reply #56 on: December 31, 2014, 12:25:10 PM »
Welcome back Trev!!

Just reading your thread and it looks like you had a blast!!

Will have to catch up for that beer and a chat about your trip!!

For sure!

Offline trevc

« Reply #57 on: December 31, 2014, 12:28:07 PM »
How did the assessment turn out?
If they write it off can you purchase the salvage and fix it up?

Work in progress but looks like $7.5k damage so they will cash pay out the repair value to me and I keep the trailer. Then up to me to get repairs which they need to see before re-insuring.
Not a bad result.

Offline Cage

• Camel Beachcomber
« Reply #58 on: December 31, 2014, 03:24:53 PM »
Hi Trev,

Sounds like you had a fantastic trip.

I'm hoping to do a big lap next year and am getting the tug and camper sorted.

Looking at your running repairs I noted 4 x CB aerials. As I intend to fit a CB radio I wondered what you learnt about the best aerial for this sort of trip. My research seems to lead me towards fibreglass jobbies nudging $200.00.
Triton GLX+ with some mods
Camel Beachcomber
Itchy Feet

« Reply #59 on: December 31, 2014, 04:30:04 PM »
As long as you don't go over corrugations or through the bush or treat it ruff then no matter the cost it will break at some stage . l came hone from Fink NT with 100MPH tape on my aerial & it still worked well  :cheers:

Offline Cage

• Camel Beachcomber
« Reply #60 on: December 31, 2014, 06:00:18 PM »
Cheers Spewa.

The Tanami Track is on my bucket list and from what I've read, it is an aerial destroyer, among other things. It's for spots like that I want to get it right.

Maybe I should be looking at satellite phones?
Camel Beachcomber
Itchy Feet

Offline Reddirtroaming

• You can't rush something you want to last forever
    • Red Dirt Roaming
« Reply #61 on: January 01, 2015, 09:07:44 AM »
Hi Trev

We found your Facebook posts very valuable in our travels as you guys were a bit ahead of us as you know, so thanks for that. Also for posting your money & travel figures, it really helps & we have tried to do the same so others can see the "real" costs of taking a year off.

Question for you.

Do you have any regrets?

1. In your travels is there anything you regret not seeing or doing?

2. Did you regret missing out on anything that happened at home while you were away?

Been thinking about this a bit ourselves & wondering if you had any regrets?
Check out our adventures on our blog http://reddirtroaming.blogspot.com.au

Offline trevc

« Reply #62 on: January 01, 2015, 10:39:14 AM »

Question for you.

Do you have any regrets?

1. In your travels is there anything you regret not seeing or doing?

2. Did you regret missing out on anything that happened at home while you were away?

Been thinking about this a bit ourselves & wondering if you had any regrets?

Hey Red

Yeah we saw you guys were a little way behind us, I trust you're enjoying it as much as us.

We spoke a bit about this towards the end and honestly we wouldn't have changed a thing about the trip. We didn't do a lot of touristy things or 'experiences' but we weren't about ticking boxes so didn't feel we missed out on things.
An afternoon sitting under a tree watching the kids play down the creek was worth far more than heli-trips around the Bungles, Mitchell, horizontal falls etc. for me.

I should have put 17" rims on the Prado (18" standard) with LT tyres, that's the only change I would make with the setup.

We didn't miss any major event at home, no births, deaths or marriages.

Trev

Offline trevc

« Reply #63 on: January 01, 2015, 10:47:27 AM »
Hi Trev,

Sounds like you had a fantastic trip.

I'm hoping to do a big lap next year and am getting the tug and camper sorted.

Looking at your running repairs I noted 4 x CB aerials. As I intend to fit a CB radio I wondered what you learnt about the best aerial for this sort of trip. My research seems to lead me towards fibreglass jobbies nudging $200.00.

Hi Cage

I started with a GME base and screw on aerials and I changed to a big GME base and broomstick model, arguably too late as we'd done most of the gnarly stuff by the time I finally replaced it.
No I'm back home it's far to long and so I've taken it off and will either get a short one or put some type of waterproof cover over the mount.

Trev

« Reply #64 on: January 01, 2015, 02:35:43 PM »
With a spring base UHF aerial if you string a bit of fishing line from either side to the top it helps . The extra brace stops the tip flicking all over the place  & only back & forward  :cheers:

Offline ako

« Reply #65 on: January 01, 2015, 05:34:04 PM »
Ako

It was a great trip!

Hope this helps

Thanks for the detailed response.  :cheers:

Better start saving for the next trip now I guess  ;D

Offline Cage

• Camel Beachcomber
« Reply #66 on: January 01, 2015, 06:30:25 PM »
Cheers Trev,

I was looking at the ZCG Scalar Heavy Duty 6.6dBi UHF CB Bullbar Antenna ZN3-77-11 to go with an ICOM IC440N, the  one with the readout on the mike, so I can tuck the main unit out of the way.

And thanks for the tip speewa
Camel Beachcomber
Itchy Feet

Offline lilstookie

• Traveling Lab Rats
    • http://facebook.com/thewanderingjocks
« Reply #67 on: January 02, 2015, 11:30:52 PM »
Nay, I keep saying you just need a gooseneck The Bicentennial Trail would keep you busy for a while and plenty of horse stops along the way too!

Vicndug, just do it! Neither of you would have any trouble getting work. Do the rounds on stations and you'd be knocking people back. Advertise yourselves on Gumtree...a lot of stations recruit from there.

Sent from my fingertips using my brain
If the spelling and grammar are good, it's a post from Lil. If not, the mad Scot is on the keyboard ;)

Add us on facebook and keep up to date with our big lap .
www.facebook.com/TheWanderingJocks or follow our blog

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #68 on: January 03, 2015, 01:07:07 PM »
Nay, I keep saying you just need a gooseneck The Bicentennial Trail would keep you busy for a while and plenty of horse stops along the way too!

Vicndug, just do it! Neither of you would have any trouble getting work. Do the rounds on stations and you'd be knocking people back. Advertise yourselves on Gumtree...a lot of stations recruit from there.

You never know someone has to win tonight's lotto haha  :cheers:

« Reply #69 on: January 03, 2015, 02:35:53 PM »
Just a quick question about the total cost of your trip - and how to fund such a venture..

From your costings - I understand you spent a tad under $50K...

But let's call that $60K+ ...because you mentioned the $50K didn't include the op shop birthday presents and expatiation apparel; equipment breakages; insurances - (house back home; health; CT; Tug; etc); back home rates and utilities etc...

So if the costs were circa $60K - I recon that works out to 5 years of hardcore savings religiously every week of $240!!!

(5 years x 52 weeks x $240 per week... = $60K)

Who can do that??   Sure as heck not me...

So; How???

(You mentioned you had attempted to liquidate the family home prior to the trip) - Was that the plan re: the funding...

Have you come back with any big credit card bills... ouch!! - etc ??

Thanks....   
You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

Offline lilstookie

• Traveling Lab Rats
    • http://facebook.com/thewanderingjocks
I'm just home from a 350 day, 43000 klm around Aus trip - Ask Me Anything
« Reply #70 on: January 03, 2015, 10:59:41 PM »
Basecamp, maybe consider making it your life? We live in our camper and work as we need to. It's much cheaper to live on the road than it is to holiday for 12 months. We can set up in freecamps for a longer period to really explore an area. Fuel is by far the biggest expense so we can spread that cost by moving slower. You don't have that luxury when you have a time limit.

I get us down to around $550/wk average all inclusive (we don't have a house, own our car and camper and no credit cards) for 2A3K1D.

Lil

« Last Edit: January 03, 2015, 11:02:15 PM by lilstookie »
If the spelling and grammar are good, it's a post from Lil. If not, the mad Scot is on the keyboard ;)

Add us on facebook and keep up to date with our big lap .
www.facebook.com/TheWanderingJocks or follow our blog

Offline trevc

« Reply #71 on: January 04, 2015, 10:13:22 AM »
Just a quick question about the total cost of your trip - and how to fund such a venture..

From your costings - I understand you spent a tad under $50K...

But let's call that $60K+ ...because you mentioned the $50K didn't include the op shop birthday presents and expatiation apparel; equipment breakages; insurances - (house back home; health; CT; Tug; etc); back home rates and utilities etc...

So if the costs were circa $60K - I recon that works out to 5 years of hardcore savings religiously every week of $240!!!

(5 years x 52 weeks x $240 per week... = $60K)

Who can do that??   Sure as heck not me...

So; How???

(You mentioned you had attempted to liquidate the family home prior to the trip) - Was that the plan re: the funding...

Have you come back with any big credit card bills... ouch!! - etc ??

Thanks....   

Yeah mate $60k is just about spot on. We pretty much decided on the trip in May 2013 and were off Jan 2014.

Funding will be a challenge for anyone doing this type of trip. Our situation combined Debt (used some equity from the house) and Equity (Long Service Leave) and we were comfortable doing that.
We maintained our trip budget religiously and knew how we were tracking and when we had to tighten our belts.

So yes we have come back to a bigger debt (about $40k on the house) and don't regret a cent of it. Initially we wanted the house sold and we'd have come back to some $$$ in the bank but upon reflection it doesn't really matter one way of the other to us. It's revenue neutral and we didn't have to try and re-enter the market after paying RE fees on the way out and Stamp Duty on the way back in - that alone would have amounted to ~$50k.

Hope that helps a little

Trev

Offline V8CRSA

• Just waiting to hit the open road again......
« Reply #72 on: January 04, 2015, 11:09:12 AM »
Hi trev,

It was great to be able to spend a weekend with you guys in nagambie with both xcavator and speewa. We too have been following your travels on Facebook and living your dream too.
We often often speak about speewa's tour of his area that we where lucky enough to share with you guys.
Looking forward to sharing a fire and a drink next time your back in Victoria.

Cheers Matt and Brooke.
2013 GXL TTD 200 SERIES CRUISER
Not quite "ATS" but working on it

Offline cucinadio

« Reply #73 on: January 04, 2015, 11:27:28 AM »
Not one favourite in Tassie??
My 130 HCPU camper build - (now sold) http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=6733.msg240757#msg240757

Offline trevc

« Reply #74 on: January 04, 2015, 01:34:19 PM »

Tassies a Beautiful place and would go again in a heartbeat, having been there twice now. If pushed I'd put Boat Harbour Beach, Coles Bay and Dunalley (for the fish and chips) as my three.
We have hundreds of favourite places, listing three probably saves a lot questions about where our favourite is.
In fact it's far easier to list the least favourites as there is less than a handful.

Matt, we are all very fond of Camp Nagambie and the weekend we spent there with new friends on Bec's birthday. I hope you, Brooke and Ryan have a good year and you get back on the road and out and about again soon.

Trev