Author Topic: Word me up on Pajeros  (Read 12370 times)

Offline ozbogwam

Word me up on Pajeros
« on: October 17, 2014, 08:46:15 PM »
I'm currently tossing up whether to get rid of my 98 DX Patrol and get a Pajero.

The Patrol is reliable, capable etc but it's is also a very basic car and to be honest I don't need the offroad benefits of a solid axle while not having a nice quiet comfortable tourer.

So the Pajero has piqued my interest seems like a lot of bang for your buck. I'd be looking at probably at least a 2012 or newer and am thinking the glx-r with diff lock sounds good. Would put a lift, AT/MTs, bullbar, dual battery and lights and call it done.

So any experience, opinions etc

Re: Word me up on Pajeros
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2014, 08:47:24 PM »
Good jigger but plan to keep it a long time as resale sucks, oh and be prepared for 'pajero' in Spanish jokes :)

Offline ozbogwam

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2014, 08:48:15 PM »
Yeah know about the jokes, parents had an early Pajero which was a great 4wf

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2014, 08:49:47 PM »
I missed you were buying 2nd hand, best way to go, let some other schmuk pay for the depreciation :)

Offline Straitened Out

• Out in the straits.
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2014, 08:57:17 PM »
Have had 2 and I like them!
S.O.

I wonder what the poor people are doing?

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2014, 09:09:51 PM »
Had one 4 years, very good tourer, remarkably capable as a 4wd.
If you get one with more than 50k on it get it lifted as the rear springs sag.

Good AT rubber and a lift will see you most places.
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2014, 09:35:44 PM »
We've had our 2010 NT for 2 years now and love it. Easy to drive around town (it's SWMBO's daily driver) and capably holds it's own on the rough stuff. We just did 8000km to the red centre and it performed faultlessly. The diesel has enough power and is torquey, some reckon it's a bit loud but I personally like the sound of a diesel.
Monocoque construction is strong, lack of live axles only an issue if you're after big articulation. The traction control is fantastic and works exceptionally well, I just wish I had have found a car with the factory diff lock :'( Great car for towing and really comfy for touring.
All the usual aftermarket bits and pieces are easily available, the thread for ours is here: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=28338.0
The rear door is a PITA, we can't open it fully when the camper is hooked up, and we needed to lift the spare tyre by 50mm to clear the hitch. But that is really our only gripe about the car. And as D4D said, resale is bad, which means if you buy second hand you're getting a lot of car for the money. Mitsubishi have just released the NX (2015), which means you should be able to get some great prices on older models at the moment.

So, very happy with ours. IMO quite an underrated 4WD. Heaps of good info on here: http://www2.pajeroclub.com.au/forum/

......... oh and be prepared for 'pajero' in Spanish jokes :)

That didn't take long!!!! At the risk of sounding like a, erm....., pajero, its actually named after a South American wild cat :Leopardus Pajeros, hence the cat symbol on the pajero club's insignia.  :-*

« Last Edit: October 17, 2014, 09:49:41 PM by brickiematt »

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2014, 09:45:31 PM »

That didn't take long!!!! At the risk of sounding like a, erm....., pajero, its actually named after a South American wild cat :Leopardus Pajeros, hence the cat symbol on the pajero club's insignia.  :-*

So your saying it is named after a Spanish pussy w@nker?
GU Patrol. Lifted Locked and Boosted
 Johnnos offroad deluxe -SOLD
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2014, 09:52:54 PM »

So your saying it is named after a Spanish pussy w@nker?

LOL ;D
My BIL is from Uruguay and he's always giving me sh!t about the name of my car, reckons it's even funnier that there's a club for them ;D ;D

Offline Paul Mac

• Bolwell Edge
« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2014, 09:59:54 PM »
Firstly, the word pajero  in Spanish being w@nker is absolute crapola ! I have a Spanish friend and she said pajero doesn't mean that at all. Myth broken !

I've had pajero's for 25 years and currently have a NT diesel. Economy wise they are much better than the bigger cruisers and patrols. When towing I get an average 13 litres per 100kms and I'm towing approx. 1.5t.

There is a drawback if you want to tow something up around the 3t with a ball weight less than 180kg. Something to do with the weight in the rear of the pajero which isn't evident in the larger patrols or cruisers.

They are a good 4wd and very comfortable to drive.

« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2014, 10:05:54 PM »
Firstly, the word pajero  in Spanish being w@nker is absolute crapola ! I have a Spanish friend and she said pajero doesn't mean that at all. Myth broken !

I've had pajero's for 25 years and currently have a NT diesel. Economy wise they are much better than the bigger cruisers and patrols. When towing I get an average 13 litres per 100kms and I'm towing approx. 1.5t.

There is a drawback if you want to tow something up around the 3t with a ball weight less than 180kg. Something to do with the weight in the rear of the pajero which isn't evident in the larger patrols or cruisers.

They are a good 4wd and very comfortable to drive.

and how much were those 18in AT tyres again?? 600ea weren't they

« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2014, 10:52:25 PM »
Firstly, the word pajero  in Spanish being w@nker is absolute crapola ! I have a Spanish friend and she said pajero doesn't mean that at all. Myth broken !.......

My Chilean friends would disagree with that, Paul......

Offline ozbogwam

« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2014, 11:08:41 PM »
From my understanding it is a slang word used in some parts of the world but not particularly common in the Spanish language worldwide.

Anyway, are there any common issues? Can I run up to 32" tyre? They appear to come with either 17 or 18" rims can you run a 16" rim?

Offline ozbogwam

« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2014, 11:18:28 PM »
Brickiematt just read your thread, pretty much sums up what I'm hoping to do

Offline eman

« Reply #14 on: October 18, 2014, 06:16:12 AM »
Alot of bang for buck especially if you buy second hand. Mine has been very reliable, bought it new in July 09 and currently has 190,000km on it. Still performs as good as it did back when I bought it.
Very capable with a few mods, I don't have diff locks but the traction control works incredibly well.

Can only fit 16" on the SWB, they wont fit over the brakes on the LWB. I run two sets of wheels, factory alloys with the A/T's and factory steel wheels with BFG KM2's

« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2014, 06:23:54 AM »
My Chilean friends would disagree with that, Paul......

x2 (but they're Mexican friends)

Just checked carsales, you can get a lot of car for $35-40K...
« Last Edit: October 18, 2014, 06:43:45 AM by D4D »

Offline Paul Mac

• Bolwell Edge
« Reply #16 on: October 18, 2014, 06:50:36 AM »
Yeah, OK Bruce, I forgot about the tyres.....lol but I bought a new paj since then. I'd hate to be buying 20" A/T's they are now putting on some 4wd's.
The last lot of tyres I bought set me back $400 each Yokohama Geo 12's I think from memory.

« Reply #17 on: October 18, 2014, 07:00:07 AM »
x2 (but they're Mexican friends)

I reckon they might call them fightin' words..... ;D

Word me up on Pajeros
« Reply #18 on: October 18, 2014, 07:14:38 AM »
We seriously looked at a Pajero in our search for a new 4by. Everything I researched and read told me these are a seriously tough and reliable unit. Swmbo's uncle has had the last 4 models and as a registered 4wd trainer and regular tourer has driven them all around Oz. The only thing that swayed me away was the 4cyl pot and the previous rounded shape.  Really like the new shape and if anything happened to my current 4by, I'd revisit one of these in a heartbeat.

Sub post - all good things come to those who wait, or so I'm told.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2014, 07:18:40 AM by scarps »

Offline db

« Reply #19 on: October 18, 2014, 08:04:26 AM »
I'm on number two now, like all vehicles they are not perfect, but their vices are generally minor and don't involve tray trucks. Have a look here http://www2.pajeroclub.com.au/forum/index.php for all the good and bad. I'd be looking for a late NT or ideally an NW.
Modcon Quattro
NW Pajero GLX-R

« Reply #20 on: October 18, 2014, 08:22:24 AM »
the only downer I've heard of with them is 180B syndrome on the rear tyres when towing.
Drive one they are really nice even with the tiny motor.

Offline Diesel Power

« Reply #21 on: October 18, 2014, 08:32:34 AM »
Keep researching, the common rail motor has a nasty habit of blocking off number 4 cylinder with EGR soot and oil mist from crankcase.
A mate has a NT model, we have had the intake manifold off to be cleaned, EGR blank fitted, Catch can fitted and vacuum control valve replaced.
BUT, as I say this, this sort of issue is happening to all common rail diesel motors including me.
Angus.
Work - dedicated or medicated?

1999 HZJ105 GXL Auto Fully kitted. SOLD.
2008 VDJ200 GXL Auto.
2007 Custom built soft floor. SOLD.
2015 Kimberley Karavan Classic. SOLD.
2012 Kimberley Kamper Limited Edition.

Offline db

« Reply #22 on: October 18, 2014, 10:05:43 AM »
Keep researching, the common rail motor has a nasty habit of blocking off number 4 cylinder with EGR soot and oil mist from crankcase.
A mate has a NT model, we have had the intake manifold off to be cleaned, EGR blank fitted, Catch can fitted and vacuum control valve replaced.
BUT, as I say this, this sort of issue is happening to all common rail diesel motors including me.
Angus.
There are a few ways to manage this for the paj anyway, the key seems to be eliminating either the soot (egr blank or use a resistor to fool the ecu and stop it opening) or the oil (use a catch can).
Modcon Quattro
NW Pajero GLX-R

Offline rotor138

« Reply #23 on: October 18, 2014, 11:11:29 AM »
I sold my 03 Patrol to buy a Pajero last year. The 2nd hand ones with 30000kms on the clock were not much cheaper than buying new. Is a brilliant car as a tourer, uses heaps less fuel and is way more comfortable. Is a strange feeling the first time it lifts a wheel in the air.

Would I do it again? I miss the Patrol, but yes I would 8).

« Reply #24 on: October 18, 2014, 01:08:04 PM »
lm in my 4th Pajero , NB , NH, NL,petrols  & NS oiler . They just get better & better. The new rigs are all Oilers so get a snorkel , then a beaudesert bigger exhaust system . When it can breath better it goes better .
 l have run pajero since 84 & all over Aus , as has been said buy 2nd hand then hold it . My NS is ex Cop car from Tassie got it as 2year old with 60K on the clock .now has 184K  Goes like it should where ever l point it in comfort .usually runs at about 11L/100KM bit more towing at or about 100KPH  l like it & so will you as it6 a very able quadruped  :cheers: