Author Topic: Winter and camping. How cold is it where you are tonight????  (Read 18069 times)

Re: Winter and camping. How cold is it where you are tonight????
« Reply #25 on: June 29, 2014, 06:25:59 PM »
x2. We love our Trackie too, but no chance I'd be camping in it anywhere southern NSW or Vic in the current weather:-)

You'd be all over it mate, I've spent this afternoon playing with my new Projecta Inverter, looks like it'll run a couple of elect blankets for a couple of nights from the battery bank, I'll give Jetcrews panels a good run if things look grim, honestly , can't wait.

Disco teddy.

« Reply #26 on: June 29, 2014, 06:38:40 PM »
what cold weather ?  8)
Back Beach Brooms Head

Nathan pleased with his fish

was a pleasant 20 deg   :cup:
« Last Edit: June 29, 2014, 06:53:49 PM by MarkGU »

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #27 on: June 29, 2014, 06:40:22 PM »
1.5 in Alice this morning :(
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

« Reply #28 on: June 29, 2014, 06:50:05 PM »
was up at Cunninghams Gap this morning then near Warwick after that...the wind was blowing a gale and felt like it was coming off Antartica, out of the wind and in the sun was a great day, but anywhere with the wind and the cold would cut right through you

Offline feisty

« Reply #29 on: June 30, 2014, 11:53:02 PM »
what cold weather ?  8)
Back Beach Brooms Head

Nathan pleased with his fish

was a pleasant 20 deg   :cup:

Great photos Mark. Very jealous.   Nathan must be stoked.
Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle

Offline Pirate_Pete

« Reply #30 on: July 02, 2014, 07:00:08 AM »
We are still under canvas

Offline Pirate_Pete

« Reply #31 on: July 02, 2014, 07:08:38 AM »
The camper froze

Offline GUEY

« Reply #32 on: July 02, 2014, 07:29:45 AM »
Heading out the back of Beaudesart on Thursday night camping for a long weekend. Glad it wasn't last night.
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

Offline Draggin

« Reply #33 on: July 02, 2014, 06:38:20 PM »
Ok - not tonight but don't sook too much in your campers  ;D

Went to bed on 100mm of snow, woke up with an additional 75mm of snow, warm as toast IN the swag, not when I got out at 4.30am for a comfort stop!

Sorry about the poor quality shot, but the phone doesn't handle low light at 4.30am too well - hmmmm, bit like me really.
"Beneath the radiant Southern Cross"

Offline feisty

« Reply #34 on: July 02, 2014, 07:29:42 PM »
Left camping in the flinders ranges and now holidaying in Noosa sans camper. Abc news tonight... 'And at 5 degrees Brisbane was colder than Hobart'
WTF!!!!!!!
Feisty

Offline feisty

« Reply #35 on: July 02, 2014, 07:32:21 PM »

Went to bed on 100mm of snow, woke up with an additional 75mm of snow, warm as toast IN the swag, not when I got out at 4.30am for a comfort stop!

Sorry about the poor quality shot, but the phone doesn't handle low light at 4.30am too well - hmmmm, bit like me really.

Mate you win. That is truly hardcore camping. Well done!
Feisty

« Reply #36 on: July 02, 2014, 08:14:10 PM »

Many years ago I got up early at Bluff Hut in the Victorian High Country to see a similar image  with much deeper snow coverage. A lone swag next to a vehicle. It also had what seemed to be a foot/leg protruding from the end, covered in snow and ice.

Being concerned about the likely outcome, I rapped at the head end of the swag to enquire if the occupant had a cold foot.

"Mate, are you ok, how's your foot" I asked.

"No worries, pal, all good" came the reply.

He then reached down to the lower end of the swag and grabbed his foot and lower leg and strapped it onto his leg stump.  You guessed it, prosthetic leg!

"You making the coffee" was his next response.

We had a good laugh about it over a strong brew. :cheers:

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #37 on: July 02, 2014, 10:27:04 PM »
Went for a 'cool' camp north of Licola yesterday for the night. Plan was to camp in snow around Kelly's Lane just prior to the closed gate. Wasn't a lot on the ground so we went further up to Lost Plain to have a look and a recce for a couple of weekends away trip. Bit more snow around but not much shelter so back to Kellys. The night was cool with a stiff wind chill - fairly toasty in our tents....did miss the heater of the KK though  ;D  No snow fell through the night and it was a cracker, but crisp, day.

The camp.

Lost Plain ( aka Bird Plain)

..and the new shovel in action...

Tim
« Last Edit: July 02, 2014, 10:40:19 PM by Tim - Stratford »

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

Offline McTavish

« Reply #38 on: July 02, 2014, 11:06:51 PM »
Some of you people are real hard core hey!! To deliberately go looking for snow to camp in?  I must be going soft from living in Brisvegas...   
Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??

« Reply #39 on: July 02, 2014, 11:12:32 PM »
Snow during the night doesn't get as interesting as Crocodiles visiting.

Offline McTavish

« Reply #40 on: July 02, 2014, 11:24:48 PM »
Forgive me - but both can give you a "bite"    :laugh:
Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #41 on: July 03, 2014, 02:51:57 PM »
Snow during the night doesn't get as interesting as Crocodiles visiting.

Yup, much rather take my chance with a feral snowball than a croc!  ;D

Tim

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

Offline Shadow2000

« Reply #42 on: July 05, 2014, 08:30:16 PM »
Meant to be about 6 deg here tonight. Police paddocks vic. Funnily enough it's quite comfortable, maybe because my wife and kids are not    here tonight!

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
« Reply #43 on: July 05, 2014, 08:54:05 PM »
Camping on a friends farm tonight, i took the bobcat out before with the forklift attachment and brought up three fallen trees for firewood!

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

Offline Landyline

« Reply #44 on: July 06, 2014, 08:58:47 PM »
Katoomba wasn't as outright cold as I expected but the windchill certainly took it to a new level for family camping.
Customline camper trailer

« Reply #45 on: July 06, 2014, 09:03:38 PM »
We had -2 yesterday.

What I wouldn't give to be traipsing off around the top end of WA and NT.

Been quite cold over night, down to 7.4 or something. Day temps 30c

« Reply #46 on: July 06, 2014, 09:03:58 PM »
Where in katoomba you stay mate ?

Offline Landyline

« Reply #47 on: July 06, 2014, 10:15:37 PM »
We stayed at the caravan park. There is only one in Katoomba. Just down the road from Scenic World.
Customline camper trailer

« Reply #48 on: July 06, 2014, 10:19:44 PM »
Yep I know it. I grew up in mt Victoria. Hence why I live up here now, over that winter

Offline jaycamrie

« Reply #49 on: July 07, 2014, 04:27:05 AM »
Not tonight but Thursday night in Kroombit Tops

  Yep went and had a look at the Bomber site on Wednesday and was a tad cool at the lookout