Author Topic: mitsubishi triton ... what are they like ?  (Read 19124 times)

Offline craigtempo

• welcome to the party that never ends
mitsubishi triton ... what are they like ?
« on: May 29, 2014, 05:30:55 PM »
Looks like we are getting a new 4x4 tow vehicle and im thinking a 12 - 13 - 14 model triton double cab , deisel .
What are they like ? They are cheap at the moment if I buy a new one .

Re: mitsubishi triton ... what are they like ?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2014, 06:03:15 PM »
They are a great bus.  Great engine and trans.  Reliable and very fuel efficient.   NVH is not up there with the newer ones which would be expected of a model designed in 2003.  EGR blank from new to stop carbon build up causing off idle miss.

Keep in mind they are cheap as other manufacturers have built newer and larger models and left Triton behind (Ranger / DMax etc).  MMA have been discounting the hell out of them so you will pay on the flip side.   

« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2014, 06:07:42 PM »
The ones on sale  are usually 013 plated examples.

If you don't mind the looks, a good buy - I personally don't mind them but others don't.

My best mate has a white GLXR for towing his 7m boat, his daughter has a blue one for carrying the dogs,  his son has a black one with all the off road gear and big tyres for high country escapes.

None have had any issues and done all of their jobs pretty well. If anything should have broken, it would have been on the black one, but it's done a lot of kms for its age, over 30k a year and all good.

There may be a new model on the way.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2014, 06:13:17 PM »
I loathe them...but I got a lemon so my opinion is biased ..lasted 3 mths and was traded,, carbon build up and all that jazz.

Know heaps of ppl with 200K and love em so just like any modern 4x4 you will get good and bad reports based solely on the users experience.. mine was bad hence bad opinion, as to weather that translates to the car being bad  I have no idea..

I did like the after sales warranty service from MMA much better than others ..and I used alot of it..in 16 weeks I did more KLMS in loan cars than mine LOL

Jet ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline PhilW

« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2014, 07:00:50 PM »
I have a 2013 MN manual dual cab with a few mods. 27,000kms on the clock and have found it to be a great ute.It is used as my trade vehicle and a recreational family truck.  I tow a Jayco  Eagle outback..... it does that with ease. As far as looks go...I reckon they look every bit as good as other dual cabs on the market. 10 year drive train /5 year 130,00km warranty. 3 year capped price servicing. The dual cab has a reclined back seat and offers plenty of leg room. Jump on the NewTriton forum and you will see they have a few issues (as with most of the modern CRD engines)these can be overcome with a few simple mods.

« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 07:14:50 PM by PhilW »
Cheers Phil.

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2014, 07:48:56 PM »
My work tried a couple of them at the mine that I last worked at.

They did not handle the continues corrugated roads / tracks.
Bits just started falling off after about 10,000 k.

For around town and occasional offroad they would be ok.
Bloody good pricing at the moment.

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2014, 08:30:54 PM »
Doesn't matter the make or model of vehicle used in a mine the all have bits fall off or fail
Latest one on our site (sand mine) is the patrol front diff wearing out holed from abrasion, front chassis breaking off at the strut lower control arm on a hilux,

We don't run the tritons at the mine, so I have no comment, but mine has 140,000 kms without problem, well apart from operator error couple of cvs due to running simex tyres and dual lockers when playing, but tows my 2 tonne van on the 32" mtr's tyres at the speed limit
Love that car
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2014, 08:36:06 PM »
Doesn't matter the make or model of vehicle used in a mine the all have bits fall off or fail
Latest one on our site (sand mine) is the patrol front diff wearing out holed from abrasion, front chassis breaking off at the strut lower control arm on a hilux,

Must have got a bad batch of Tritons.

The other couple of brands used had no issues.

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Offline IanC

« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2014, 08:43:33 PM »
We have a 2011 model.  We love it.  Good height inside for tall people.  Seat base nice and wide.  Roomy for rear passengers.  There are some that will say but its a Mitsubishi, but gotta say with the 10 or so new cars we have had over the last 20 years Mitsubishi have surpassed ALL the others for back up service. 

Not saying it hasn't had its dilemmas but none have been so that we wished we hadn't bought it.  We have had the badge that everyone says you gotta have and that was a bag of, well you know.

Goes well (wife usually drives like she has stolen it)  No mods. Take care with the fitting of the EGR blanking plate some have melted and thrown metal into motors.  Dealers are aware of this procedure and it may not turn out well for you.  Suggest you jump on New Triton before going down that line.  I believe there is a better way.

As for not being very off road capable you need to watch some of the Misadventure videos on Youtube and make up your own mind on that one.

There is no perfect motor vehicle, they all have Friday Models..... ;D
2008 Cruiser - "Guzzles"
2015 Lifestyle Reconn

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2014, 09:05:50 PM »
To be honest and I've driven most model of 4wd utes at mines I have worked at they are all pretty much more of less the same as one another each with small differences that worked in their dis/advantage.
I'd rate the tritons as fairly middle ground amongst them.
They aren't  as stable as the cruisers and patrols offroad or towing but are nicer to drive onroad.
Any of the IFS dual cabs have their limitations offroad but unless you are going go looking for the hard tracks then they are actually pretty good and the cars ability usually outweighs the drivers skills.
If its national parks/beach driving then it will be good. If you want better than average offroad ability gat will get you up the hard stuff without fear of breakages then you need to go up to the next size and do mods.
A mate mine has one and loves it and goes 4wding in it and it goes good.
GU Patrol. Lifted Locked and Boosted
 Johnnos offroad deluxe -SOLD
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2014, 09:39:30 PM »
I have had a 2010 MN 2wd auto from new with now 97,000km on it. It has been mostly reliable and get consistent high 9L/100, and lower if I do some highway driving. I came out of a RA 3.5L Rodeo and had to adjust my driving style to suit the Triton being diesel with a hell Turbo lag of the bottom. Would I buy one, no. I think there are better utes on the market but admittedly they are much dearer. I don't like the feel of the car when you close the doors, just feels and sounds cheap and tinny. I put up with it because I don't pay the fuel or maintenance bills, it is a company car.

Offline chillipepperz

« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2014, 09:45:01 PM »
I quite like these utes, though saw the current model close up a week or so back, and wow, that departure angle is a concern on a 4WD. The one I looked at had a decent tow bar to take the hits, but was very low and a long way behind the rear wheels. I have heard that a tub change is possible to the previous model with a shorter tub. The departure angle may not be an issue to all owners though. Cheers! Andrew
Alumina Hardtop Camper Build: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=22809.0

Offline har05l

« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2014, 02:20:18 AM »
To be honest and I've driven most model of 4wd utes at mines I have worked at they are all pretty much more of less the same as one another each with small differences that worked in their dis/advantage.
I'd rate the tritons as fairly middle ground amongst them.
They aren't  as stable as the cruisers and patrols offroad or towing but are nicer to drive onroad.
Any of the IFS dual cabs have their limitations offroad but unless you are going go looking for the hard tracks then they are actually pretty good and the cars ability usually outweighs the drivers skills.
If its national parks/beach driving then it will be good. If you want better than average offroad ability gat will get you up the hard stuff without fear of breakages then you need to go up to the next size and do mods.
A mate mine has one and loves it and goes 4wding in it and it goes good.

How are you able to back up this opinion with the tritons ability in the hard stuff  ??? I've had mine on some of the hardest tracks NSW has to offer and in over 3 years of ownership since new have yet to have a breakage. This is my daily driver and I've travelled just over 125k km's and it feels just as good now as it did back when new.

When you try and compare stability with a "cruiser or patrol" as you put it considering the price difference it's little wonder. For under 2k I'd guarantee my triton is as stable now and I still have another 30k plus in the back pocket for more mods.
I've been to the outback a few times towing about a 1.2 ton camper and numerous other adventures and the triton tows just fine.

Yes their are possibly better dual cabs on the market now but again the price difference does speak and not everybody can afford to spend $50k plus on a new vehicle.

If it was called a Nissan triton or toyota triton would the opinions be different  ???, who knows.

Please don't take this personally but it's just annoying to see people Shit on other vehicles when they own something else, and it happens on every forum.

So to answer the question with which this thread is based, what are they like? I think they are a great all round vehicle and will give you many years of happy motoring

2010 MN Triton with most of the goodies

2014 Jayco Starcraft Outback 15.48

http://www.newtriton.net/

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2014, 05:00:34 AM »
How are you able to back up this opinion with the tritons ability in the hard stuff  ??? I've had mine on some of the hardest tracks NSW has to offer and in over 3 years of ownership since new have yet to have a breakage. This is my daily driver and I've travelled just over 125k km's and it feels just as good now as it did back when new.

When you try and compare stability with a "cruiser or patrol" as you put it considering the price difference it's little wonder. For under 2k I'd guarantee my triton is as stable now and I still have another 30k plus in the back pocket for more mods.
I've been to the outback a few times towing about a 1.2 ton camper and numerous other adventures and the triton tows just fine.

Yes their are possibly better dual cabs on the market now but again the price difference does speak and not everybody can afford to spend $50k plus on a new vehicle.

If it was called a Nissan triton or toyota triton would the opinions be different  ???, who knows.

Please don't take this personally but it's just annoying to see people **** on other vehicles when they own something else, and it happens on every forum.

So to answer the question with which this thread is based, what are they like? I think they are a great all round vehicle and will give you many years of happy motoring

Apologies if I have offended anyone here but I'm giving my opinion based on my personal experience. Which will differ from othes no doubt. ( I thought it was a fair review)
I have real world of offroad experience at driving  these vehicles back to back. At one stage we had D-Max, hilux, navara, triton, cruise and patrol utes at work all at the same time. And at the back of the pit we had a test track up a hill that some would crawl up easily, some would get up with a fair but of a go and others simply wouldn't get up without a huge run up foot flat to the floor and sheer momentum to bounce and spin up.
The navara was best on road but low ground clearance made it worst offroad as you would hit rocks that the others would clear.
The hilux had good ground clearance and good offroad but lacked a little onroad dynamic
D-max and triton were both all rounders but not the best at either and not the worst either. ( they are good (Utes)
Then hop in a cruiser or patrol and go up the same track and they are clearly a more stable platform to drive offroad than any IFS ute. Bigger, heavier, larger wheels and tyres more ground clearance and the a ability to idle up most stuff and Not having to give it boot up and bounce your way up the track
I'm sorry if you don't like it mate but its just the way it is.
I'm sure your Triton is a great rig.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2014, 05:10:13 AM by Jakster1 »
GU Patrol. Lifted Locked and Boosted
 Johnnos offroad deluxe -SOLD
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2014, 08:16:32 AM »
We have a 2011 model.  We love it.  Good height inside for tall people.  Seat base nice and wide.  Roomy for rear passengers.  There are some that will say but its a Mitsubishi, but gotta say with the 10 or so new cars we have had over the last 20 years Mitsubishi have surpassed ALL the others for back up service. 

Not saying it hasn't had its dilemmas but none have been so that we wished we hadn't bought it.  We have had the badge that everyone says you gotta have and that was a bag of, well you know.

Goes well (wife usually drives like she has stolen it)  No mods. Take care with the fitting of the EGR blanking plate some have melted and thrown metal into motors.  Dealers are aware of this procedure and it may not turn out well for you.  Suggest you jump on New Triton before going down that line.  I believe there is a better way.

As for not being very off road capable you need to watch some of the Misadventure videos on Youtube and make up your own mind on that one.

There is no perfect motor vehicle, they all have Friday Models..... ;D.

Interested to know what were the dilemmas and what was wrong with the other make (what was it and what went wrong?)

BTW, it would be virtually impossible to melt 1.6mm mild steel plate with exhaust gas in the blank off spot on Triton.  Something else has gone wrong or the plate they used was of the wrong material.

« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2014, 08:27:29 AM »

Please don't take this personally but it's just annoying to see people **** on other vehicles when they own something else, and it happens on every forum.

Over to you Peter Griffin;

Family Guy Lionel Richie Who Hurt You Small | Large

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #16 on: May 30, 2014, 08:32:00 AM »
Now I've never driven a Triton, or even sat in one for that matter, so I can't comment on comfort etc... but I've travelled and played offroad for years with a family who owns one, so I can give some insight into how capable they are offroad.

From Cape York's Old Telegraph Track, the CREB track, and Maytown's Old Coach Road, to tough tracks in the Watagans, Newnes and beyond, it never ceases to amaze me just where this truck will go...and with ease as well.

Now this particular Triton is a little older than what you're considering, but as Ian mentioned, if you're not sure about a Triton's capability offroad, check out Layla the Triton in action in some of our Misadventure 4wd videos ;D  :cheers:

https://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore/videos

Good luck with your decision

Karen
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2014, 08:33:31 AM »
Apologies if I have offended anyone here but I'm giving my opinion based on my personal experience. Which will differ from othes no doubt. ( I thought it was a fair review)
I have real world of offroad experience at driving  these vehicles back to back. At one stage we had D-Max, hilux, navara, triton, cruise and patrol utes at work all at the same time. And at the back of the pit we had a test track up a hill that some would crawl up easily, some would get up with a fair but of a go and others simply wouldn't get up without a huge run up foot flat to the floor and sheer momentum to bounce and spin up.
The navara was best on road but low ground clearance made it worst offroad as you would hit rocks that the others would clear.
The hilux had good ground clearance and good offroad but lacked a little onroad dynamic
D-max and triton were both all rounders but not the best at either and not the worst either. ( they are good (Utes)
Then hop in a cruiser or patrol and go up the same track and they are clearly a more stable platform to drive offroad than any IFS ute. Bigger, heavier, larger wheels and tyres more ground clearance and the a ability to idle up most stuff and Not having to give it boot up and bounce your way up the track
I'm sorry if you don't like it mate but its just the way it is.
I'm sure your Triton is a great rig.
I tend to agree with this post. I had a T/Diesel Triton work ute bought specifically for rural & beach surveying which has now done 200,000 + ks. I've had it in some pretty ordinary situations (had to get rescued by a 30 tonne excavator once, the only thing that could get near me ;D) without any mechanical problems but have to say the IFS is an handicap & does limit wheel travel, therefore off road ability as with any make. I have 1 Asian & 1 English 4x4 for personal use, both live axle, & can say they're both more capable of road, 1 quite a bit moreso.
If I was looking for a ute for travel or just medium to rough use I would certainly be having a look at the Triton. There's a nice looking Challenger in the Classifieds by the way!
Good Luck

« Reply #18 on: May 30, 2014, 09:08:48 AM »
They're about this long, this wide and somewhere around that high.  Come with 4 doors or 2 depending on your taste. Have 4 wheels, and even attempt to drive the front wheels occasionally again depending on which model ya have.
Come in a small variety of colors between white and black.
 :angel: ;D :angel: ;D

« Reply #19 on: May 30, 2014, 09:55:40 AM »
Cant go wrong mate they are a Top Rig with a few mods  :cheers:

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2014, 12:16:58 PM »
To tow a camper of around 2 tonne or below it will be wonderful, they go very well in sand, with a couple of sensible additions which you can afford due to the price comparison with other competitors the triton will serve you well.

If you can splurge to the glxr and 5 speed auto it is a better option than  the 4 speed auto, manual doesn't matter and additionally the glxr gets superselect
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

Offline aussieducker

« Reply #21 on: May 30, 2014, 12:17:21 PM »
Interested to know what were the dilemmas and what was wrong with the other make (what was it and what went wrong?)

BTW, it would be virtually impossible to melt 1.6mm mild steel plate with exhaust gas in the blank off spot on Triton.  Something else has gone wrong or the plate they used was of the wrong material.
maybe used a left over beer can cut down

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

2013 Ford Ranger
Lifestyle Reconn Hypercamper

« Reply #22 on: May 30, 2014, 12:48:24 PM »

If you can splurge to the glxr and 5 speed auto it is a better option than  the 4 speed auto, manual doesn't matter and additionally the glxr gets superselect

Good advice.

What brain surgeon decided to keep the 4sp auto for gods sake.  Must be some in a parts bin somewhere.    Maybe the bloke that talked Nissan into fitting the skyline 3 litre petrols into the GQ Patrols is out of retirement  ;)  .

Offline IanC

« Reply #23 on: June 01, 2014, 07:29:59 PM »

Dilemmas were not that much of a problem.  Steering wheel was not centred and kept clicking when on full lock, surface rust under the plastic strip on the roof, occasionally difficult to select second (manual).  All have been fixed under warranty without any drama from the dealer. 

The blanking plates have been made out of various materials by people who thought they new what they were doing but maybe without enough R & D to go it alone.  This mod is something we haven't done.  Reading on the Triton Forum about the issue and possible alternatives to the carbon prob.

2008 Cruiser - "Guzzles"
2015 Lifestyle Reconn

« Reply #24 on: June 01, 2014, 07:55:19 PM »
the clicking is a known aggrevant that MMAA don't seem to fix well.