Author Topic: mitsubishi triton ... what are they like ?  (Read 19113 times)

Offline craigtempo

• welcome to the party that never ends
Re: mitsubishi triton ... what are they like ?
« Reply #25 on: June 01, 2014, 09:54:10 PM »
Thanks for your thoughts guys .....
Probably should have put more info in at tge start of the thread .I will be giving it a lift and putting decent tyres on ( I do this to all my 4wds) .the car will be also used as a daily driver as well as towing my camper (southern cross) .so power .... fuel economy is important .
As far as 4wd in concerned, nothing real difficult ... mainly beaches and track work and being able to do this with my wife and to boys in comfort is all I want .

They are cheap ..

Now are they made in Malasia or Thailand ..... sales rep told me Malasia but I read somewhere they were from Thailand.

Offline Skinnee

« Reply #26 on: June 02, 2014, 08:05:01 AM »
Just go auto over manual whatever you buy

« Reply #27 on: June 02, 2014, 08:55:57 AM »
Just go auto over manual whatever you buy

Yep.  TD's and Autos are like Pancakes with bacon and maple syrup!

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #28 on: June 02, 2014, 06:52:35 PM »
Had a manual TD MN GLXR and except for the ride, would have kept it. Great vehicle for most punters. Mine was a 2007 model.
No major issues up to 130k kms.
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

Offline koshari

« Reply #29 on: June 02, 2014, 09:46:43 PM »

Now are they made in Malasia or Thailand ..... sales rep told me Malasia but I read somewhere they were from Thailand.

definitely Thailand

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_Motors_%28Thailand%29

along with some of the Navara and Hilux production.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2014, 09:55:45 PM by koshari »
Code: [Select]
5M strips SMD3528x150 SMD3528x300 SMD5050*150 SMD5050x300 
LED Qty 150 pcs 300 pcs 150 pcs 300 pcs
Voltage DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V
Current(A) 1Amp 2Amp 3Amp 6Amp
Pwr 12 watt 24 watt 36 watt 72 watt

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #30 on: June 02, 2014, 10:43:19 PM »
I'm getting a new one after June. Just have to wait on the house move to be over first.

Sent from my Ring-a-ding-a-ling
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

Offline scubasteve

« Reply #31 on: June 03, 2014, 06:26:08 AM »
Mine is a 2010 GLXR dual cab 2.5 , 115000 k's , manual. Had a fault code once, indicating faulty EGR, replaced under warrenty .That has been the only thing gone wrong with it . The only thing I would improve would be the shockies , they tend to let the vehicle skip on rough ground. Apart from that more than happy with the Triton.
Cheers . ;D

Offline Gav Dal Broi

« Reply #32 on: July 22, 2014, 07:51:57 PM »
I've had my 2012 triton for 20months and in that time it has been in the dealers for 3 months. I am over that ute and wish I spent the 4k extra and got a hilux. Also it hurt that I bought mine a few months before they dropped 7k.
Out before sunrise, home after sunset. Won't change it for anything.

Offline scubasteve

« Reply #33 on: July 22, 2014, 07:54:57 PM »
I've had my 2012 triton for 20months and in that time it has been in the dealers for 3 months. I am over that ute and wish I spent the 4k extra and got a hilux. Also it hurt that I bought mine a few months before they dropped 7k.

Ouch !!

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #34 on: July 23, 2014, 08:25:08 AM »

whats been the problem?

not surprising that there are a few bad examples out there
http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2/DE73F76A8B8FBCB0CA257D0A000B5822
Top 10 selling models June 2014

Rank Model Sales
1 Toyota Corolla 4648
2 Toyota HiLux 4276
3 Mitsubishi Triton 4124

the more you sell the more volume in terms of numbers that could be bad BUT the % of bad stays the same

considering as well that a high % of the hilux sales goes to fleet- so personal attachment does not figure so strongly- we have around 15 Toyota vehicles on site ATM 3 are down (unusable) 1 hilux clutch 2 landcruiser V8's engines, but that doesn't stop me and the family getting home or enjoying life  :cheers: so whats there to bitch about :angel:

sad all the same- would love to know whats gone wrong.
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

« Reply #35 on: July 23, 2014, 11:20:10 AM »
My best mate has one, in fact I talked him into getting it. He bought in new last year but it could be the 2012 model (not sure). He got the manual because he prefers them but I did tell him to get the auto.

It certainly has a fair bit of power in the CRTD. It hasn't towed anything substantial so I can't comment on that. I will say that the bucket seats are not particularly comfortable.

I reckon they are good value for money, the Tritons are not a Patrol or Cruza but then again it is unfair to compare against another vehicle that is at least twice the price. If I was in the market for a 4 door ute I would consider them but I don't mind the Ranger. Good luck

Offline PhilW

« Reply #36 on: July 23, 2014, 07:13:58 PM »

Just interested what things went wrong with the Triton that took the dealer a total of 12 weeks to repair?

I am aware of a few issues with the Triton but most of the time nothing too serious. Heard of a bloke getting well over 300,000 very hard km's from one of those MN's with very few problems.  :D
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 07:19:45 PM by PhilW »
Cheers Phil.

Offline rotor138

« Reply #37 on: July 23, 2014, 07:49:48 PM »
Have a couple of mates with Tritons and have done 6 hour trips home from work in both cars. They have to have the hardest most uncomfortable seats I have ever sat in in a car. In saying that they are suprisingly good off road getting places my old Patrol wouldn't due to their lighter weight.

Good luck with the decision.

Offline PhilW

« Reply #38 on: July 24, 2014, 05:19:28 PM »
Have a couple of mates with Tritons and have done 6 hour trips home from work in both cars. They have to have the hardest most uncomfortable seats I have ever sat in in a car. In saying that they are suprisingly good off road getting places my old Patrol wouldn't due to their lighter weight.

Good luck with the decision.

Tell your mates to fit 25mm seat spacers to the two front seat fixing points....makes a big difference to the comfort factor.  Available on eBay ,custom made for both MN and ML Tritons.  ;)
Cheers Phil.

Offline Big D

« Reply #39 on: July 24, 2014, 05:59:49 PM »
2012 GLX, suspension upgrade, custom tune, rear locker and heaps of other goodies.  Would't change it for the world.  Recently did an 8000 km trip up north towing the camper in some pretty remote spots, and a fair bit of 4wding to get there.  It ate it all up.  Also did the Simpson, SA Far West Coast,  Boggy hole etc.  Does everything my mate's modified  Hilux can do.  If you're not going to be HARDCORE 4wding, like in ridiculous bog holes or rock steps then it will do everything you want, and I only run 31 inch all terrains. 

I think the rear diff lock is a real bonus at only $700 extra from factory and means it doesn't really matter if you don't have great articulation in the front wheels because if one lifts the other gets traction and both rears push you up.

They are an AWSOME care for the money and every bit as capable off road as any other ute, including the new generation ones.
2014 Trackabout Safari towed by 2012 Mitsubishi Triton

Offline Gav Dal Broi

« Reply #40 on: July 31, 2014, 05:36:46 AM »
Just interested what things went wrong with the Triton that took the dealer a total of 12 weeks to repair?

I am aware of a few issues with the Triton but most of the time nothing too serious. Heard of a bloke getting well over 300,000 very hard km's from one of those MN's with very few problems.  :D
First it was ABS module then a new engine module, then at 90,000km the timing belt disintegrated, piston hit a valve and part engine rebuilt, straight back again with lack of power and excessive fuel use 22lt/100km. Oil in the inter cooler. New turbo.  Still a lack of power and high fuel use. Best I could get was 17lt/100km without anything in the back. It is a auto but I never had that sort of usage. In at the moment with a new gearbox on order. Believing that the torque converter and GB are causing slip and high fuel use and no power. Also new gear selector. Prior to all this a new drivers seat as mine collapsed. Every time it went to get computer measurements done it was in for at least a week if not two waiting for Mitsubishi to get back to the local dealer. I am very disappointed with it and the fact that only after begging that I got a loan vehicle 95 triton for about a week. So I have fallen back in love with my old hilux with 350,000km on it. At least it won't leave me stranded.
Rant over :-[

Offline Gav Dal Broi

« Reply #41 on: July 31, 2014, 05:41:32 AM »

Tell your mates to fit 25mm seat spacers to the two front seat fixing points....makes a big difference to the comfort factor.  Available on eBay ,custom made for both MN and ML Tritons.  ;)
Any chance of getting a link. I can't seem to find them. My seat is as uncomfortable a wooden box and my head hits the room 6"3'. I think angling up the front might help.

Offline PhilW

« Reply #42 on: July 31, 2014, 08:50:07 PM »
Any chance of getting a link. I can't seem to find them. My seat is as uncomfortable a wooden box and my head hits the room 6"3'. I think angling up the front might help.

poh53 was the guys username on eBay. Just tried to find the link ......looks like he does not have any listed at the moment...maybe send him a message via eBay?

Sounds like you have had a bad run with your Triton.
Hope the situation improves for you.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2014, 08:55:01 PM by PhilW »
Cheers Phil.