Author Topic: Fuel pump test  (Read 13272 times)

Re: Fuel pump test
« Reply #25 on: May 14, 2014, 04:39:34 AM »
QLD Dept of Weights and Measures used to do it - that department no longer exists. Often in the past they would have a pump blocked off while checking - doesn't happen any more. Food scales in supermarkets were also regularly checked - no more !!

I smell a RAT !!

The rat would be one dead rat very quickly-
http://www.fairtrading.qld.gov.au/petrol.htm
You're more likely to get underweight and under volume from a farmers market or corner store than the Coles and Woollies or the multinational oilcos with the ACCC big stick awaiting them if something goes pear shaped. If their pumps were found under delivering no doubt they'd be suing their pump supplier and maintenance contractor on your behalf and the latter (usually another international) would know implicitly the commercial and Legislative realities and their obligations too.

Don't know about you, but I wasn't a straight shooter in biz simply because I might get caught if I were crooked, or some public servant type was or wasn't looking over my shoulder all the time. You want to worry more about union slush funders and the odd rogue employee ripping you off than big biz with their name to protect these days.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #26 on: May 14, 2014, 11:18:34 AM »
Has anyone done the test where say if fuel is advertised at $1:60/Ltr, pump in $1 worth and see if the pump is accurate?
It wouldnt take too long to rack up big profits for the servo's if the pump was out a few cents or so  >:(

Going to try this next time i fuel up.

Here is a Face Book link to post pics ( and shame) the servo's who are doing this.

https://www.facebook.com/1LitreCheck

Mark,

If you do wont to try it, it would probably be a lot easier and fairer test to pump in one (1) litre of fuel and see what price the pump says as to how accurate the pump is.  To pump in $1 would not get the desired result, esp if fuel is as per your example $160 a litre. 

When they do test the bowsers they do it with from memory a 10 litre  drum.

http://www.raa.com.au/motoring-and-road-safety/fuel-information/fuel-measurement

« Reply #27 on: May 15, 2014, 11:23:57 PM »
Speak of the devil. Management would not be pleased-
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/sa-court-fines-coles-31500-for-selling-significantly-stale-food-at-its-mclaren-vale-store/story-fni6uo1m-1226918600252
and no doubt heads have already rolled or are back stacking shelves
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Offline mongrel

« Reply #28 on: May 16, 2014, 01:44:14 PM »
The pumps win have a sticker on them that will state the minimum delivery. Generally 5L. This is the least amount that the pump will be accurate. So if you put in 5L the it should calc correctly.

« Reply #29 on: May 17, 2014, 06:42:33 PM »
ok guys, here's a question for ya's  8)

your at the pump, press the numbers for desired amount ie say $50 worth.
pump starts pumping then reaches $50 and clicks off.

while keeping the handle on the nozzle open you up end the fuel hose and drain it into your tank.

The servo operator questions this practice but you tell him you are going to pay the $50 which it what the pump says. you tell him the fuel in the hose is what came OUT of the pump before it clicked off.

am i correct in saying that 1/2 to 1 ltr is mine because i payed for it?

« Reply #30 on: May 17, 2014, 06:57:02 PM »
Only if the hose was empty before you started your fill.  The hose holds fuel after each fill so you're not missing out.

« Reply #31 on: May 17, 2014, 07:04:00 PM »
Only if the hose was empty before you started your fill.  The hose holds fuel after each fill so you're not missing out.

if the hose was full but before i used it then..................

« Reply #32 on: May 17, 2014, 08:14:52 PM »
Mate, It's got nothing to do with the amount of fuel in the hose.
The hose is always full of fuel, its the tiny amount in the nozzle that runs back into your filler tube.
Which is about sweet FA.
Just shaking the nozzle is all you are going to get more, the cut off is in the handle.  :angel:

« Reply #33 on: May 17, 2014, 08:29:37 PM »
Jon
not saying your right or wrong but i have heard it running down the neck of the filler tube to the tank before. some nozzles may be different type to the diagram you posted?

« Reply #34 on: May 17, 2014, 08:51:52 PM »
Hey,
Contact Myth Busters.

« Reply #35 on: May 17, 2014, 09:18:20 PM »
Hey,
Contact Myth Busters.

did they burn down the servo while they were there  ;D

« Reply #36 on: May 17, 2014, 09:33:10 PM »
I reckon they would give it a shot if you put a releasable request to them.
Maybe something along the lines of,
When filling his tank, he was having a perv on a good looking sort that was showing the twins quiet well, he had a heart attack, the pump had shut off, but the fuel in the hose ran out, as he fell to the ground a spark was caused through static electricity as he slid down the side of his car, which blow the servo pieces  ;D
I'd give that a go  :cheers:

« Reply #37 on: May 17, 2014, 09:49:48 PM »
I reckon they would give it a shot if you put a releasable request to them.
Maybe something along the lines of,
When filling his tank, he was having a perv on a good looking sort that was showing the twins quiet well, he had a heart attack, the pump had shut off, but the fuel in the hose ran out, as he fell to the ground a spark was caused through static electricity as he slid down the side of his car, which blow the servo pieces  ;D
I'd give that a go  :cheers:
i reckon that sounds like one of your previous experiences mate  :cup:

Offline TheWall

« Reply #38 on: May 18, 2014, 08:39:58 PM »
Popped down to the servo tonight to get fuel for the lawn mower....

Managed to fit 6.01 litres into my 5 litre jerry can?!?!?!?!? ???

Spoke to the guy at the counter...he gave me the number of the manager to call in the morning and I took a pic...

Thoughts on what I should do?

Offline Pog

• Insert personal text here...
« Reply #39 on: May 18, 2014, 08:58:17 PM »
Get over it....

Tip all of the fuel out of the can, and use an approved measuring device to accurately determine the actual capacity of your fuel can, and then if it definitely only holds 5ltrs, and not a drop more, then I would make an enquiry to the service station.

I am sure you will find that your can holds 6 ltrs when completely full to the top. Something you shouldn't do with petrol...
2013 Toyota Prado Altitude & Challenge Outback Deluxe Offroad Camper Trailer.
MY PRADO BUILD

« Reply #40 on: May 18, 2014, 09:01:36 PM »
I am sure you will find that your can holds 6 ltrs when completely full to the top. Something you shouldn't do with petrol...

100% agree, after watching what happens to a plastic boat fuel tank when it gets a bit of sun on it :o

Work - Outback  SOLD

Offline znelbok

« Reply #41 on: May 18, 2014, 09:16:42 PM »
These pump are checked by a national government department - National Measurement Institute (Trade Measurement).

So QLD is covered, just like NSW is.  Most of the time everything is in good nick and when not its fixed pretty quickly.

These photos have valid explanations - apparently a press release is going to come out soon because of all the crap that has been doing the rounds getting everyone up in arms about nothing at all.

How do I know this - the handbrake works for the dept in question

Mick

Offline Streetkid

« Reply #42 on: May 18, 2014, 09:19:00 PM »
Popped down to the servo tonight to get fuel for the lawn mower....

Managed to fit 6.01 litres into my 5 litre jerry can?!?!?!?!? ???

Spoke to the guy at the counter...he gave me the number of the manager to call in the morning and I took a pic...

Thoughts on what I should do?

Stop over filling your 5l petrol can.
Happy Customline owner

Offline Davepatrol

• 4.2 Patrol with a lot of extras
« Reply #43 on: May 18, 2014, 11:15:19 PM »
Stop over filling your 5l petrol can.

Yes they make fuel containers a bit larger to allow for expansion, The black plastic 20lt ones will hold 22lt if you fill them right up.