Author Topic: Isuzu mu-x  (Read 141581 times)

rsser

Re: Isuzu mu-x
« Reply #150 on: June 05, 2014, 08:28:10 AM »
Some good EOFY deals at the mo.  Picked up an LS-U for 46k drive away inc. tow pack, mats, wheel swap to 16" and tyre swap to ATs.

I test drove one first as well as a Triton and a Pajero.  NVH isn't as good as the Paj but I wouldn't say the difference was huge.  Suspension is less than stellar: wallows at slower speeds but still transmits minor bumps to the cabin.  Suspender kit is a priority.

Offline Ironman 4x4

• Ironman 4x4
« Reply #151 on: June 05, 2014, 08:58:51 AM »
Some good EOFY deals at the mo.  Picked up an LS-U for 46k drive away inc. tow pack, mats, wheel swap to 16" and tyre swap to ATs.

I test drove one first as well as a Triton and a Pajero.  NVH isn't as good as the Paj but I wouldn't say the difference was huge.  Suspension is less than stellar: wallows at slower speeds but still transmits minor bumps to the cabin.  Suspender kit is a priority.

We've found that the NVH is a Pajero can become a little worse when fitted with aftermarket suspension. This is due to it's monocoq design, which means that the normal shocks absorber sounds are much more audible through the cabin. It's an issue that isn't just Pajero focused either, the new Jeep Grand Cherokee also has a similar "issue". Stating that, you can even hear the stock shocks, its just that with stiffer/different valving it becomes more noticeable.

I'd say this though. It's very easy to make a vehicle quieter than stock by ripping out the interior and adding extra sound dampening and absorbing throughout if you feel it's not up to scratch. I've just done this on my Patrol (granted I drowned it and ripped everything out to clean and dry it, but decided to go the extra step with some sound insulation), it makes a big difference.

As for suspension, yeh most stock suspension leaves much to be desired. But that's a quick and easy fix on the aftermarket :D. I'd suggest tracking down someone whos got a kitted out vehicle of choice to see how a vehicle feels once it's setup. It could very well change your opinion on what works/what doesn't.

Ironman 4x4

Offline ATC

« Reply #152 on: June 05, 2014, 09:32:39 AM »
We've found that the NVH is a Pajero can become a little worse when fitted with aftermarket suspension. This is due to it's monocoq design, which means that the normal shocks absorber sounds are much more audible through the cabin. It's an issue that isn't just Pajero focused either, the new Jeep Grand Cherokee also has a similar "issue". Stating that, you can even hear the stock shocks, its just that with stiffer/different valving it becomes more noticeable.

I'd say this though. It's very easy to make a vehicle quieter than stock by ripping out the interior and adding extra sound dampening and absorbing throughout if you feel it's not up to scratch. I've just done this on my Patrol (granted I drowned it and ripped everything out to clean and dry it, but decided to go the extra step with some sound insulation), it makes a big difference.

As for suspension, yeh most stock suspension leaves much to be desired. But that's a quick and easy fix on the aftermarket :D. I'd suggest tracking down someone whos got a kitted out vehicle of choice to see how a vehicle feels once it's setup. It could very well change your opinion on what works/what doesn't.

Ironman 4x4

Slightly off topic - Matt - great post & some great advice without any vested interests.
Had planned to do some research on a few bits from Ironman 4x4 that I'm interested in, might just have to move that up the list

Back to discussion about the Isuzu MU-X....

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #153 on: June 05, 2014, 06:32:57 PM »
Suspender kit is a priority.

Yep when my wife is wearing hers the bumps have been welcomed :cheers:
http://www.somuchviral.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/beer-holder.gif

rsser

« Reply #154 on: June 05, 2014, 06:35:59 PM »
heheh  ;D  There's a bit of a list of the other suspension kits here: http://www.4x4earth.com.au/forum/mu/30032-mu-x-2013-technical-info.html#post398210

« Reply #155 on: June 10, 2014, 06:10:30 PM »
More finking good stuff.....

Just for the record they won their class in this....... Ok so the only other competitor in production was a land rover that broke down but a win is a win ;D
Looking at the times they didn't hold back and it did the return run within 2 minutes of the first stage so both stages were problem free. I'd like to know how well it held up to the punishing course.

« Reply #156 on: June 10, 2014, 06:15:42 PM »
Stop looking.......

GARLAND DELIGHTED WITH ISUZU FINKE DEBUT

Off-road racing legend Bruce Garland is extremely happy with his new Isuzu MU-X after the race-prepared wagon made its highly successful international racing debut at the famous Finke Desert Race.

Garland and long-time navigator Harry Suzuki posted first in class (Class Seven, Production 4WD, diesel, not exceeding 7200cc) and 48th outright after a gruelling two days of racing in Australia’s Northern Territory.

“The car was fantastic. It’s really well balanced – the chassis is really good – and we are really happy with it,” says Garland, who prepared the car with Suzuki in their Sydney workshop.

“It’s good everywhere – it took an absolute pounding but it is really, really strong. I could say the same about the new Toyo AT tyres we tested. They worked well in the dunes, under brakes, whatever. They copped a hiding on the rocks but there were no problems whatsoever. They have proved to be brilliant at everything – just like the car.”

While the MU-X does not have the outright speed of the Extreme 4WD-class D-MAX ute Garland has campaigned so successfully in the past, he was surprised by its speed – and also by the fact he survived the bruising two days feeling less battered than he expected.

“The road was so bad, just so rough. It was bad enough going down on Sunday, but it was cut up even more, of course, by the time we started today (Monday) and it took us longer to get back.

“But Harry and I feel remarkably good. I had a massage at Finke, which ironed out the kinks, and we’ve used the air conditioning all weekend – the joys of having a production car! So we’re nice and clean and we don’t smell that much, given how hot and sweaty you get in an event like this!”

So impressed is he with the car and its performance on debut, that Garland has mentioned the ‘D’ word, but with a disclaimer.

“I have absolutely no doubt that the MU-X will develop into a very good package for both the Australasian Safari this year and the Dakar in January 2015 – if we can get the funding.

“That’s our next challenge. We’re drawing a line in the sand. We’d love to do both events with this car but we’re not going unless we can find the money to do it properly.”

The MU-X is Isuzu’s first entry into the world of seven-seat family transport. Powered by a three-litre turbo diesel, the standard power and torque figures are130kW/380NM, but the race-prepared vehicle is expected to pump out closer to 195kW/600Nm.

This was Garland’s 14th start in the annual Finke classic, just run for the 39th time. After Saturday’s prologue to determine starting order, competitors started at 7.30am (Central Australian Time) on Sunday for the 226km run from the Alice Springs start to the overnight stop at the remote Aboriginal settlement of Aputula (on the Finke River).

The field camped out overnight before turning tail for home, and retracing their path to Alice Springs on the holiday Monday. Eighty-eight cars/buggies and 418 bikes/quads contested the prologue in readiness for a start, with 55 cars failing to finish over the two days (bike/quad competition unfinished at time of writing).

Sponsored by Tattersalls, the Finke is the richest off-road race in the Southern Hemisphere. It started in 1976 as a ‘there and back’ challenge for local bike riders but soon grew. Cars and buggies (specialist desert racing vehicles) were introduced in 1988.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #157 on: June 10, 2014, 09:23:56 PM »
Thanks Danny, I was looking at the build up of the MU-X and see where they have two King shocks at each corner. They have a set for the D.Max for sale, one per corner, at $3850 ouch, was trying to get a set for my D.Max last year but had problems trying to get them from the importer they were only $500 each then.
 http://isuzumotorsports.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=40     see them here
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

Offline Minibloodhound

« Reply #158 on: June 10, 2014, 10:16:50 PM »
Just found the thread and had an interest in it as my mum bought one a few months back to replace her Pathfinder. She got the top of the range one with the leather.  Compared to my D4, it's no luxury car, but it's not designed to be and is a whole lot cheaper.
Good to see that Ironman and TJM have released bars as ARB were telling me only last week that the bar for the DMax does not fit.
If you follow the link to Drifta's Facebook page, they have an assortment of photos that they took of her car after getting the rear storage area sorted.  The rear most seats were removed and the fridge box is big enough to take the 47 litre ARB fridge.
She tows her Campomatic camper with it and so far is very happy.  When she updates the suspension and get a bar I'll have to take it offroad a bit further and REALLY try it out!   >:D
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.781981005148487.1073741879.222514264428500&type=1
Clancy - 2011 Land Rover D4
Kull - Conqueror UEV-490 Evolution

Offline chad_MUX

« Reply #159 on: June 12, 2014, 12:51:03 PM »
hi forum,

Dropped by ironman a few days a go and asked about the deluxe commercial bar and they said its out of stock and will be available by the end of july. i asked if they have had fitted a bullbar or shockers for the mu-x here in Australia, but there is no reply yet. jut saying.

cheers!

« Reply #160 on: June 12, 2014, 12:56:47 PM »
Just found the thread and had an interest in it as my mum bought one a few months back to replace her Pathfinder. She got the top of the range one with the leather.  Compared to my D4, it's no luxury car, but it's not designed to be and is a whole lot cheaper.
Good to see that Ironman and TJM have released bars as ARB were telling me only last week that the bar for the DMax does not fit.
If you follow the link to Drifta's Facebook page, they have an assortment of photos that they took of her car after getting the rear storage area sorted.  The rear most seats were removed and the fridge box is big enough to take the 47 litre ARB fridge.
She tows her Campomatic camper with it and so far is very happy.  When she updates the suspension and get a bar I'll have to take it offroad a bit further and REALLY try it out!   >:D
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.781981005148487.1073741879.222514264428500&type=1

Nice set up there mate, your mum would be happy with that.

Offline Ironman 4x4

• Ironman 4x4
« Reply #161 on: June 12, 2014, 02:18:27 PM »
hi forum,

Dropped by ironman a few days a go and asked about the deluxe commercial bar and they said its out of stock and will be available by the end of july. i asked if they have had fitted a bullbar or shockers for the mu-x here in Australia, but there is no reply yet. jut saying.

cheers!

Hey Chad,

Yes we are currently out of stock of the Deluxe Commercial until July, but we have stock of our Commerical and Protector bars (were you the guy that I responded to through our FB page the other day?)

We have had a number of our distributors install MU-X bars in Australia, unfortunately we haven't got any photos off them. Unfortunately we don't have an MU-X in our Australian fleet of vehicles, otherwise we'd have had it installed already and plenty of photos taken.

We have just had a photo shoot done on an MU-X in Thailand by a magazine, I'll be recieving those pics soon for some high res imagery.

I can guarantee that our MU-X bar fits, and the ride of our suspension will be excellent if spec'd correctly for you vehicle - like all our suspension products. We wouldn't state that they do fit if they didn't - otherwise there would be great costs on our end when people come back saying that it doesn't fit and they've cut up their bumper!

If you have any questions I'm here to help!

Ironman 4x4
« Last Edit: June 12, 2014, 02:48:21 PM by Ironman 4x4 »

Offline chad_MUX

« Reply #162 on: June 12, 2014, 02:52:17 PM »
yeah matt ironman same person on fb; :D
yeah i know reputation is at cost. im just making sure everything would be perfect for my mu-x.:D
i''ll be dropping by at Ironman Dandenong soon to have those shockers installed.
can't wait for those thailand pics!
thanks matt!

Offline Ironman 4x4

• Ironman 4x4
« Reply #163 on: June 12, 2014, 02:54:18 PM »
yeah matt ironman same person on fb; :D
yeah i know reputation is at cost. im just making sure everything would be perfect for my mu-x.:D
i''ll be dropping by at Ironman Dandenong soon to have those shockers installed.
can't wait for those thailand pics!
thanks matt!

:p no problem mate, we wouldn't want our gear on your MU-X if it wasn't perfect either!

Yeh we're all eagerly awaiting those pics from the photoshoot!

« Reply #164 on: June 12, 2014, 02:57:02 PM »
Thanks Danny, I was looking at the build up of the MU-X and see where they have two King shocks at each corner. They have a set for the D.Max for sale, one per corner, at $3850 ouch, was trying to get a set for my D.Max last year but had problems trying to get them from the importer they were only $500 each then.
 http://isuzumotorsports.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=40     see them here

Hey Bruce do you know anything about the tuning module they have on the Isuzu motorsports web page. It says it gives you the safari tune but no power figures etc

Offline Ironman 4x4

• Ironman 4x4
« Reply #165 on: June 19, 2014, 10:16:14 AM »
Hey Guys,

As promised here is some pics from the photoshoot in Thailand:

« Reply #166 on: June 19, 2014, 10:18:56 AM »
Very nice.  I reckon the chrome number plate bracket spoils the front but hey that's just me.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #167 on: June 19, 2014, 12:51:19 PM »
Hey Bruce do you know anything about the tuning module they have on the Isuzu motorsports web page. It says it gives you the safari tune but no power figures etc
[/quote

No figures that I have seen, but think around 147 KWs and 440 NMs, bit dear DP is the same power and $1400 or so
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #168 on: June 19, 2014, 01:08:11 PM »
Love the wheels on the Thai MU-X, look very similar to the 1992 MU
http://www.riverize.com/syr-022.htm
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu

Offline Loneshark

« Reply #169 on: June 20, 2014, 02:52:45 PM »
Hi All
We have just upgraded our 2011 Challanger to a MUX LST. We really liked the challanger but it did like to drink fuel towing the camp trailer. So far I have been very impressed with the MUX ride wise it is quieter that the Challanger and take off seems effortless in the MUX compared to the challanger. the fuel economy so far around town has been about 9.6/100(2500km on the clock). Having worked out of utes and having young kids the comercial feel to the interior doesnt bother me. Even the bootspace with the last row of seats in place is surprisingly good, much better thatn the challanger. For the price we are very happy and at this point would point anyone towards buying the MUX

« Reply #170 on: June 20, 2014, 02:57:43 PM »
Congrats on the MUX.  I am sure you will continue to love it  :cup:

Offline lochgilphead

• Disgruntled by work; Gruntled by camping
« Reply #171 on: June 24, 2014, 09:27:31 PM »
I can guarantee that our MU-X bar fits, and the ride of our suspension will be excellent if spec'd correctly for you vehicle - like all our suspension products. We wouldn't state that they do fit if they didn't - otherwise there would be great costs on our end when people come back saying that it doesn't fit and they've cut up their bumper! -

Quote from Ironman in previous post (sorry don't know how to pick up previous posts)

We will soon see just how good it all is - at Australia Expo on the weekend went the whole pig with Ironman - Bullbar, 12000lb winch and suspension upgrade.  Just waiting for the call to see when they can be fitted.  Pics when all done.  Bit excited - even the boss is looking forward to it all happening as this is the last of the real modifications to be done.
Mac and Jen - Isuzu MUX with some small mods towing a Rhinomax Discovery. This is our rig until we stop travelling!!

Offline Ironman 4x4

• Ironman 4x4
« Reply #172 on: June 24, 2014, 09:58:09 PM »
I can guarantee that our MU-X bar fits, and the ride of our suspension will be excellent if spec'd correctly for you vehicle - like all our suspension products. We wouldn't state that they do fit if they didn't - otherwise there would be great costs on our end when people come back saying that it doesn't fit and they've cut up their bumper! -

Quote from Ironman in previous post (sorry don't know how to pick up previous posts)

We will soon see just how good it all is - at Australia Expo on the weekend went the whole pig with Ironman - Bullbar, 12000lb winch and suspension upgrade.  Just waiting for the call to see when they can be fitted.  Pics when all done.  Bit excited - even the boss is looking forward to it all happening as this is the last of the real modifications to be done.
where are you planning to get it fitted mate? our workshop in our dandenong south office?

« Reply #173 on: June 25, 2014, 10:08:38 AM »

If you get your local guy to do the suspension remind him that the front struts should not be completly tightened up till it is back on the ground if he fully tightens it in the air the front bushes flog out

Offline lochgilphead

• Disgruntled by work; Gruntled by camping
« Reply #174 on: June 25, 2014, 10:57:33 PM »
Yep, waiting for a phone call to organise with them.  I presume it will be done in Dandenong
Mac and Jen - Isuzu MUX with some small mods towing a Rhinomax Discovery. This is our rig until we stop travelling!!