Author Topic: Clean Up Australia Day 2014  (Read 4899 times)

Clean Up Australia Day 2014
« on: March 02, 2014, 05:30:20 PM »
so who jumped in and helped out? here's a quick post i did elsewhere from my involvement today.......

As many of you know today was Clean Up Australia Day, i along with my 4wd club (and a few other 4wd clubs aswell) went along to Plunkett Reserve near Logan Village to help clean up in the morning, then this afternoon we spent a few hours with the Reserves Rangers fencing off some areas for rejuvenation. Many people would know the Logan area for it's 4wding, Plunkett Reserve is strictly off limits these days and you'll cop a $330 fine for going in there in a vehicle or on a motorbike etc, horses, walking and push bikes are ok though. Today the Rangers that were with us came across atleast a dozen different vehicles (bikes and 4wd's) in the reserve that shouldn't have been in there, luckily for them the people were only given warnings today. One of the Rangers did say to me later on that next time he's in here they won't be giving any warnings and the people will cop fines. It did make me feel good when one Ranger said to us, "today is the best thing that's ever happened to Plunkett Reserve", i guess he's sick of seeing the destruction mindless idiots are doing in the reserve, and was pleased to see so many people hooking in and doing something to try and improve the place.  i had an intersting chat with one Ranger about access to the area and fines, was surprised to hear that past citations (from some areas in or around the reserve) didn't hold in court and now there's been changes to lease arrangements of some surrounding areas that allow the fines to stand up now, so go 4wding or bike riding in this area and expect to cop a fine is what i'm saying to you. don't expect to see locked gates in the reserve either, it's too costly repairing them from the regular damage they sustain, so they aren't repairing them just handing out fines when they catch you in there. I also asked about cameras in the park, anyone that thinks they don't exist best think again, i was told they recorded 115 vehicles in a week in a lesser used section of the reserve (the camera was put in a lesser used area to avoid it's detection). Just thought i'd post the extra info on my chat with the Ranger to let those who are unsure if they can wheel in there or not know exactly what the situation is for Plunkett Reserve.
so here's a few pics from todays effort (i only took a few on the phone)....

SOME OF WHAT WE HAD TO PICK UP TODAY (the Ice Break Coffee in this pile was putrid and i nearly hurled several times from the stench...lol)

THE TYRES PULLED OUT THE RESERVE TODAY

THE GENERAL WASTE REMOVED FROM THE RESERVE TODAY

ALL THE RUBBISH IN ONE SPOT

AFTERWARDS WE DID SOME FENCING (ABOUT 500 Metres WORTH ALL UP)

AND EVEN THEN WE WERE STILL REMOVING RUBBISH FROM THE SURROUNDING AREA AT THE SAME TIME

« Last Edit: April 20, 2015, 05:32:35 PM by Rumpig »

Re: Clean Up Australia Day 2014
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2014, 06:01:32 PM »
Bloody disgusting.  Thumbs up Mal, well done.

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2014, 06:04:28 PM »
Good job, that's a lot of rubbish!

Work - Outback  SOLD

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2014, 06:11:41 PM »
Good job, that's a lot of rubbish!
even the Rangers were blown away by how much rubbish those there on the day managed to drag out in what was really less then a 4 hour time frame. the day started at 8.00 a.m, but by the time they registered everyone and gave the safety speel etc, i reckon that was a 3 1/2 hours worth effort. they put on a sausage sizzle for lunch to say thanks for effort, and we hooked into some fencing in the arvo and finished up around 3.30 p.m.

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2014, 06:12:51 PM »
Bloody disgusting.  Thumbs up Mal, well done.
cheers mate...and thumbs up to everyone else who pitched in today where ever they did it  :cup:

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2014, 06:17:27 PM »
Wow, are there that many scumbags that feel it is their right do dump their crap anywhere they like???

« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2014, 06:23:39 PM »
Wow, are there that many scumbags that feel it is their right do dump their crap anywhere they like???
apparently so....and we only set foot in a small area of that particular reserve today, so it'd be many more times that amount of rubbish that is in that one area >:( >:(

« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2014, 06:25:31 PM »
Well done Mal.  Have done it a couple of times in the past.  Amazing what people dump.

« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2014, 07:26:37 PM »
Well done mate that's a fair effort and a big pile. Some people are just plain scums >:(

Offline Terry W4

• Retired - loving every minute of it
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2014, 08:36:05 PM »
Very disappointed in ACT. Normally would be a big pre-day promo but nothing this year. No pics in Canberra Times or on TV news. Only found out it had happened from these posts. FAIL CUAD.
Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com

Offline Clouty

« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2014, 08:48:46 PM »
Well done mate :cup: :cup:
I just can't believe the amount of rubbish and all those tyres..

« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2014, 08:54:10 PM »
Very disappointed in ACT. Normally would be a big pre-day promo but nothing this year. No pics in Canberra Times or on TV news. Only found out it had happened from these posts. FAIL CUAD.
i posted this original posting elsewhere and someone mentioned similar about a lack of advertising the day pre-event wise also. i have no idea if they cut back the advertising of the day or not, would be interesting to see what others say about if they saw it mentioned much in the lead up to today?

Well done mate :cup: :cup:
I just can't believe the amount of rubbish and all those tyres..
yeah that pile grew rather rapidly inbetween unloading of trailer loads  :o
the Ranger asked for a couple of large semi trailer sized skip bins to be dropped off at the dump site, they (i assume his bosses, but i could be wrong) sent him 3 industrial bins like you see in an industrial park building. you can't see them in the pics but they are behind my fourby in one pic and full also, filled up in the first 15 minutes i reckon.

« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2014, 07:17:17 AM »
When was it that an empty stubby or can becomes toxic to the hand as soon as it empty . Containers such as this should be flung ASAP lest it contaminate the car . Grubs  >:D

« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2014, 08:25:17 PM »
bit of a follow up to this trip report ...some of the 4wd club members from my club were back out there again this morning with the Rangers repairing some of the fencing we had erected on Australia Day, which has since been knocked down. one of the guys just wrote this in reply to me asking if the day still went ahead with the wet weather about (which it did go ahead)....
The rangers and police stock squad (think walker Texas ranger and your close to what these guys look like) were out there writing infringement notices. They wrote 40 at a cost of $350 each. The stock police even tackled a motor bike rider to the ground who tried to evade a fine.
so if anyone is thinking of going driving in there or knows of others thinking of doing so, i suggest they best rethink doing it or it could be a costly day out.
AND YEAH I KNOW THE PICS ARE GONE IN THE O.P...I DELETED THEM FROM PHOTOBUCKET WHEN I HAD A RUN IN WITH A POWER HUNGRY FORUM MODERATOR OF A CERTAIN 4WD FORUM

« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2014, 08:57:30 PM »
I was unable to attend our clubs clean up day and saw the amount of rubbish that they removed from the Candole State forest.
Some people are just grubs  >:D