Author Topic: What's The Weather Like Where You Are?  (Read 51869 times)

Re: What's The Weather Like Where You Are?
« Reply #100 on: January 06, 2014, 07:20:36 PM »

I like OzForecast on the PC.  Enter your town name and tada ... a 7 day report with bom type radar pinpointing where chosen town is.

P.S. Was bloody hot today, but a ripper of a storm came through ... lightning, thunder, torrential downpour ... still watching the flashing in the sky from home now.

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #101 on: January 06, 2014, 08:29:14 PM »
If that is the one that ripped through Tallibuggera at 4pm this arvo.

Complete campsites removed from the park. Gazebo's removed from the surface of the earth

I was holding down the front awning.

The lifestyle Explorer damage, one slightly bent awning support pole.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #102 on: January 06, 2014, 08:37:55 PM »
Alls I can say thank christ we dodged the bullet again, though did spare a thought for you blokes a bit further north... Got a bit excited up there huh in Tally did it  02..  Glad to hear you came through it ok ..

« Reply #103 on: January 06, 2014, 09:20:40 PM »
So every time they have a really hot forecast my digital et up is 3c hotter. If that is the case we will get 45c on Wednesday - Shite

« Reply #104 on: January 06, 2014, 10:12:02 PM »
If that is the one that ripped through Tallibuggera at 4pm this arvo.

Complete campsites removed from the park. Gazebo's removed from the surface of the earth

I was holding down the front awning.

The lifestyle Explorer damage, one slightly bent awning support pole.
i drove through that about a half hour to an hour earlier from Beaudesert through to Algester, could barely see where i was driving most of the time, and when i got to Parkinson it was so torrential i ended up pulling into a shopping centre in a side street and waited for it to ease off. i didn't pull off to the edge of Beaudesert Rd like some people were doing for fear someone would rear end me, at times i couldn't see past my bonnet and i was crawling along in 2nd gear with the rest of the other vehicles doing the same around me. the wind ripping through the trees on the Rathdowney side of Beaudesrt before the storm hit was amazing, i was dodging small tree branches on the road as i went along, and actually feared that a bigger branch might come off as i drove along  :o :o

« Reply #105 on: January 07, 2014, 09:04:10 PM »

Yep I reckon it was the same one.   ;D  Sorry to hear of your damage and now extended arm ... but WOW ... loved it.  Got 65mm at home and it's washed all but the grass away  ;D  We so needed the rain, but it could have been spread out over an hour or so rather than the 20 minutes we got.

Was at work when it hit (so glad I shut the house up that morning) and spent the entire time taking photos and filming the flood go past our kitchen door.  Even managed a hand held lightning ... bit blurry though.  I've darkened it a little due to the flash being so close.

Offline Pog

• Insert personal text here...
« Reply #106 on: January 07, 2014, 09:36:58 PM »
Nice shot

I wish we could get even 6.5 mm a the moment... We haven't had rain for a long time.
2013 Toyota Prado Altitude & Challenge Outback Deluxe Offroad Camper Trailer.
MY PRADO BUILD

« Reply #107 on: January 07, 2014, 09:50:53 PM »
Great pic Kit_e.
 That's one hell of a Lightning bolt.

« Reply #108 on: January 07, 2014, 09:54:08 PM »

Even managed a hand held lightning ... bit blurry though.  I've darkened it a little due to the flash being so close.

i managed much the same as far as blurriness goes yesterday also Kit-e, was out the back of Beaudesert crouched down infront of my bullbar trying not to get hit by the lightning about the area...lol

« Last Edit: January 07, 2014, 09:55:45 PM by Rumpig »

« Reply #109 on: January 08, 2014, 05:25:21 AM »
Awesome pics Rumpig.
There must be some power in those lightning strikes.

« Reply #110 on: January 08, 2014, 07:40:45 AM »
Awesome pics Rumpig.
There must be some power in those lightning strikes.

cheers Sol...it was a cracka of a storm, but i'm sure you see plenty of them up your way aswell each year. the lightning about was amazing, i ended up stopping taking pics as i had both my kids in the vehicle with me, and the last thing i wanted was for them to see me get struck by lightning right infront of them. the wind was blowing a gale and rain falling a touch also in the first pic, so was hard to get the perfect shot that i was hoping for.

« Reply #111 on: January 08, 2014, 08:00:58 AM »
...crouched down infront of my bullbar trying not to get hit by the lightning about the area...lol

You do realise the irony of being crouched down in front of a big arse piece of metal in a lighting storm :laugh:

« Reply #112 on: January 08, 2014, 09:01:25 AM »
Does the tyres on a car, 4wd etc act as some sort of insulator ??? if vehicle is hit by lightning?

« Reply #113 on: January 08, 2014, 09:19:51 AM »

« Reply #114 on: January 08, 2014, 09:28:21 AM »
Thanks mate, very interesting 8)

« Reply #115 on: January 08, 2014, 10:54:18 AM »
Well its fine here at work.. but found out why our connection to the Datacenter in the US is dead

"Due to the extremely cold temperatures, water in section of our conduit has frozen, compressing the fiber cable and causing connectivity loss.  To correct the problem, fiber technicians will reroute your circuit to bypass the impacted fiber cable. 

The dangerous weather and road conditions are inhibiting our ability to quickly resolve the problem.  Snow removal is required in order to access 3 handholes and the fiber.  We are projecting completion of your circuit reroute on Friday, January 10, 2014.   
As the work progresses, we will keep you informed of the completion date and time."

« Reply #116 on: January 08, 2014, 11:01:54 AM »

Well its fine here at work.. but found out why our connection to the Datacenter in the US is dead

"Due to the extremely cold temperatures, water in section of our conduit has frozen, compressing the fiber cable and causing connectivity loss.  To correct the problem, fiber technicians will reroute your circuit to bypass the impacted fiber cable. 

The dangerous weather and road conditions are inhibiting our ability to quickly resolve the problem.  Snow removal is required in order to access 3 handholes and the fiber.  We are projecting completion of your circuit reroute on Friday, January 10, 2014.   
As the work progresses, we will keep you informed of the completion date and time."

So their computers are frozen?

« Reply #117 on: January 08, 2014, 11:02:44 AM »
We are projecting completion of your circuit reroute on Friday, January 10, 2014.   

Ouch, that is a bit of a wait.

« Reply #118 on: January 08, 2014, 12:02:47 PM »
You do realise the irony of being crouched down in front of a big arse piece of metal in a lighting storm :laugh:
there were heaps of large tall trees about the paddocks much bigger then my 4wd that i'm sure would have gotten hit before my 4wd attracked a lightning strike. i was mainly crouched down there to get out the rain, but it felt safer there then standing out in the middle of an open road away from the vehicle anyway...lol

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #119 on: January 08, 2014, 05:53:13 PM »
Rain here at Tallabuggera at the moment.

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

Offline Mobi

« Reply #120 on: January 08, 2014, 08:11:15 PM »
there were heaps of large tall trees about the paddocks much bigger then my 4wd that i'm sure would have gotten hit before my 4wd attracked a lightning strike. i was mainly crouched down there to get out the rain, but it felt safer there then standing out in the middle of an open road away from the vehicle anyway...lol
Rumpig the experts recommend that you stay in the vehicle but when it's raining makes it hard to take pictures  ;D . Nice photos from you and Kit-e  :cup:

Cat slave

Offline elle.mac

« Reply #121 on: January 08, 2014, 08:57:58 PM »
I think those of you getting rain need to send to WA, we had 48 today. 
2003 120 series Prado (aka the Beast)
2012 Customline Deluxe Offroad

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #122 on: January 09, 2014, 06:22:05 AM »
Rain here at Tallabuggera at the moment.

Still raining, and it looks it will continue to rain till we go home :-(

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #123 on: January 09, 2014, 06:27:08 AM »
Raining here in Parkes. Infact between Manildra and Parkes it was pi55ing down to the point that my nearside wiper blade decided it had had enough and would part company with the car.

Caught it in time and re-attached it, but got wet in the process :(-

Rain very much needed out here so sorry no deliveries to WA pending at the moment. :)

« Reply #124 on: January 09, 2014, 06:29:44 AM »
Yes we had a few mils of rain last night too. ;D
92% humidity now!!