Author Topic: bent dual cab on fraser  (Read 8331 times)

bent dual cab on fraser
« on: October 16, 2013, 09:04:26 AM »
stolen from a recent post on aulro

i cannot see these two...maybe you guys can

Re: bent dual cab on fraser
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2013, 09:06:07 AM »
Gee, thats never heard of a dual cab bending
no overhang there on the arse end
« Last Edit: October 16, 2013, 09:08:02 AM by Lost »

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2013, 09:12:51 AM »
i believe the 3rd and 4th pic show the chassis bend right behind the air bag

« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2013, 12:29:10 PM »
We went to Fraser over the school holidays and I would guess 90% of the washouts/freshwater streams were quit flattish and you were able to hit these at speed. But the other 10% gave varying degrees of a thump/bump/bounce/ouch.  Hard part is seeing there are hundreds of these washouts along 75mile beach, sometimes you just incorrectly judge the big ones and by then it’s too late to slow down.

So depending what was loaded in the back, one of these washouts may have contributed to the bent chassis.

« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2013, 12:58:20 PM »
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/wingfield/auto-body-parts/d40-navara-arb-bullbar-with-winch-side-steps-rear-bar-canopy/1029707168
Also on Fraser a couple of weeks ago I saw a Ford Ranger Twin cab on the flatbed recovery truck with the same malady.
Poor buggers! What a way to finish an holiday.
I just realised this thread has a doppelganger  ;D
« Last Edit: October 16, 2013, 01:00:50 PM by Steffo1 »

« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2013, 02:55:26 PM »
Just tie the Kayaks down a bit harder, she'll be right!

Offline GUEY

« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2013, 03:17:36 PM »
Not an expert by any means but I reckon the majority of the damage gets done on the exit from the barge.
Most people I've seen come off it pretty hard making sure they have plenty of momentum up the soft sand. For those with trailer in tow as they come off, the trailer really drives down hard onto the back off the car.  The washouts are the straw that breaks the back.
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

Offline Nick74

« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2013, 08:27:31 PM »
I saw that very DC on the island when I was there. First time I saw it, it wasn't that bad a but a few days later it got a lot worse.

We saw it at Rainbow (03/10/13) when we got off the island and it looked like it was being held together by ratchet straps....................I hope he is insured and they pay out for him
Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger
2011 GIC Offroad aka Katie
If I loved these tyres any more they would be beer - David Freiberger 2015

Offline Nick74

« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2013, 08:31:39 PM »
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/wingfield/auto-body-parts/d40-navara-arb-bullbar-with-winch-side-steps-rear-bar-canopy/1029707168
Also on Fraser a couple of weeks ago I saw a Ford Ranger Twin cab on the flatbed recovery truck with the same malady.
Poor buggers! What a way to finish an holiday.
I just realised this thread has a doppelganger  ;D

Was that the dark grey one?? I saw him getting picked up on the flatbed at Cathedrals. He said he hit one of the washouts too hard and ripped the bottom tank off his radiator.....poor bar steward!
Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger
2011 GIC Offroad aka Katie
If I loved these tyres any more they would be beer - David Freiberger 2015

« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2013, 09:32:16 PM »
Quote from: weeds
Sorry but theres something ****ed up in that design right there.. 2/3rds of th weight is well behind the axle just sittin there fulcrum-ing away like a bastard

« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2013, 08:23:17 AM »
The towing companies must love School Holidays as I would have seen between 1 & 3 cars per day on the back of a flatbed being towed back to Rainbow Beach. I did hear Eli creek claimed a diesel 4WD buy ingesting some water in its motor.

On top of the breakdowns, the Dept of Transport were also on the island doing tour bus and 4WD inspections.

« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2013, 09:21:18 AM »
Quote from: Beachman
The towing companies must love School Holidays as I would have seen between 1 & 3 cars per day on the back of a flatbed being towed back to Rainbow Beach. I did hear Eli creek claimed a diesel 4WD buy ingesting some water in its motor.
On top of the breakdowns, the Dept of Transport were also on the island doing tour bus and 4WD inspections.

Its the same every holiday... So is it people have NFI?? or is it more no care factor... Are they not prepared dont know what the conditions are really like on the island?

I do know one of Vic 4wd's most experienced driver trainers JT several years ago while walking around car yards got talking to a carsalesman about the 'new' Santa Fe or Garbocan..  Apparently it could go anywhere JT's well setup GQ could go the salesman told him...
JT Questioned the blokes sanity - so all proud the salesman strutted out a photo of it at the Werribee Driver training ground at a recent release day of the salesman going along a dirt track.. "See it goes offroad"

Maybe theres too much bullShit being spun by salesmen adn then people go out and all hell breaks loose ??? but its gotta be hurting a lot of people financially, insured or not...
EG the Navara bloke that time that had a fan apparently explode on fraser, cooked the engine and Nissan told him to go **** himself -
http://www.motorsm.com/complaints/update/display.asp?aid=3065

« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2013, 09:50:28 AM »
Sorry but theres something ****ed up in that design right there.. 2/3rds of th weight is well behind the axle just sittin there fulcrum-ing away like a bastard

Sorry, i must disagree with you.  More like 3/4!   ;D

Looks like an extra cab tray on a twin cab. Asking for trouble.

« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2013, 10:06:03 AM »
I was following a ute in traffic yesterday with an aluminium tray. The overhang on the tray was that much that you would seriously have issues hitching a trailer and half the draw bar on a standard 6x4 box trailer is under the tray.

« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2013, 10:10:29 AM »
Its the same every holiday... So is it people have NFI?? or is it more no care factor... Are they not prepared dont know what the conditions are really like on the island?

When I first started heading over there, all you saw on the beach was 45 series Toyotas, GQ Nissans, F100s and ning, ning, ning Suzukis. Vinyl seats, no air con and Arm-strong steering. The only TV shows with any footage of the Island were The Leyland Bros and Malcolm Dougless. Very rare to see a trailer as all that was required was a big tarp, BIG eskys, a shovel and swags.

Now days, all wheel drive is all you apparently need, a very heavy trailer is mandatory, especially with 185-14" tyres with 50+ psi in them. More gear than is neccessary for 9 families to camp with, shoes and socks, (who the f### wears shoes on the beach ??? ) golf clubs and a tennis bat. No need to ask your neighbour down the street for any advice, even though he ventures over twice a year and has done for the past 30 years, because between google, Better Homes and Gardens and whatever that other stupid show on ch7 is, you're more than up to speed and well prepared for what lays ahead.

If 95 % of the current visitors drove the 45, GQ or 2 stroke Suzy for an hour up the beach, I'm sure they would have much more respect for the conditions they're driving in.

Shane.

(Actually thinking about that now, 95% of the current visitors wouldn't even get into such a vehicle)

« Reply #15 on: October 17, 2013, 10:17:40 AM »
I do a lot of beach driving and when Fraser and dry and hot it takes sand driving to the whole new level, so in these conditions getting around the island really can test your 4WD and your driving ability. But so many people use Fraser as there first sand experience and when they get into trouble they looked shocked.

I’m not trying to top note myself but even getting into the barge at Inskip Point can be tricky. We know this from past experience and we treat that 100m of soft sand with the respect it deserves. So when our group all towing trailers pull up to see a line of bogged 4WD’s and everyone giving us advice not to proceed as it’s too soft.

So while the stauns are letting our tyres down to the appropriate pressure we take a walk to look at the beach so we can select the right line and once back in the car we select the appropriate gear as we know any gear change will result in loosing momentum and getting bogged. With that preparation we all made it to the barge without any drama’s.

In my opinion too many people just don’t think ahead.  - I'm not saying this poor guy did anything wrong to bend his ute as I personally believe this is a design fault, but I do feel sorry from him with it happening on a holiday.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2013, 11:19:26 AM by Beachman »

« Reply #16 on: October 17, 2013, 10:30:26 AM »
the other thread indicates its a company ute, he was with his wife and young kids. by all accounts he was driving responsibily and has never abuse the car.........

sooooo, i suppose he might not of had much say in how the ute has been set.........he probably couild have thought about how he loaded it the trip, but like a ot of us if there is spare space it gets filled with something....just incase we need it.

i would say how its loaded for his day to day work around town would have started the process for the failure......driving along the beach broke its back, wrong place wrong time

since building a camper trailer my wagon still seems to be full every trip, although i now rarely use the roof rack

« Reply #17 on: October 17, 2013, 10:42:06 AM »
from past experience and we treat that 100m of soft sand with the respect it deserves.

Same as the piece of beach that has had red weed cover it for two weeks holding the water in turning it into quick sand. You know the bit that sinks cars to the floor pan in 1/2 a second and sends passengers heads into windscreens............

Same as the bit with the 2' hole that a couple of kids have dug a few hours earlier. A lot of people don't realise it's a kids playground also. Know quite a few people with very sore necks from hitting sandcastles.

A lot of people think it's a Hwy. It's not, it's a beach. Hazardous to drive on and swim in.

Shane.

« Reply #18 on: October 17, 2013, 11:29:48 AM »
Quote from: Footy Shorts Shane
A lot of people think it's a Hwy. It's not, it's a beach. Hazardous to drive on and swim in.
specially when the first barges land on school holidays.. more like a raceway

Offline rossm

« Reply #19 on: October 17, 2013, 11:39:52 AM »
As a ute owner, albeit an extra cab rather than dual and stock standard rather than weighed down by a visit to the accessories shop, i read the bent chassis threads with interest.
has anybody even seen a bent ute that has not been pushed to its weight limits (or beyond)?

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #20 on: October 17, 2013, 04:11:14 PM »

has anybody even seen a bent ute that has not been pushed to its weight limits (or beyond)?

A few months ago I came across in Pemberton WA.... a latest model Triton ute with one of those Tavlor campers on its back and the chassis was bent and the camper was looking at the stars .
Ute stranded at the side of the road.
On closer looking at the tritons the chassis rails narrow down an awful lot behind the cab and seems to be the  weak point.. And also when I look at my old Rodeo dual cab chassis rails they are what they call double C channels for strength
Can't remember what the triton had

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

Offline rossm

« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2013, 04:59:39 PM »
Had to do a search to see what at talvor was ... I wonder what they weigh as there is no mention of weight on the spec sheet on the website.

I am a  novice but I believe weight is the killer. A ute may have a max load of a tonne, but I don't think that means all the time and probably never on rough roads and desert tracks.

Offline GROB

« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2013, 07:01:03 PM »
Saw a Mitsubishi triton D/Cab last Saturday leaving fraser with a nice bend in the middle was towing a trailer
2010 d22 navara & jimboomba explorer