Author Topic: New to campers  (Read 9648 times)

Offline Chipncho

New to campers
« on: July 15, 2013, 02:31:19 PM »
Hi I'm after any info on PMX or market direct campers if anyone has dealt with these :) cheers

Offline Tjupurula

Re: New to campers
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2013, 02:34:25 PM »
Just thought I would say welcome to MySwag.

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2013, 02:38:09 PM »

If you go to the home page and use the search facility, you will be rewarded with heaps of info.

Offline berlitza

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2013, 03:24:27 PM »
Hi and velcome, just do a search for mdc or google mdc +myswag..

Offline Chipncho

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2013, 06:37:14 PM »
 :D Sweet that might get me started thanks guys hopefully find some info looking at ordering ASAP , first trip will be from home ( newman) to Darwin ... Cannot wait to book the leave and say good bye to the iron ore for a few weeks :cheers:

Offline happylife

• we like rugged on a budget
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2013, 10:31:02 PM »
:D Sweet that might get me started thanks guys hopefully find some info looking at ordering ASAP , first trip will be from home ( newman) to Darwin ... Cannot wait to book the leave and say good bye to the iron ore for a few weeks :cheers:
mate im getting a GIC off road rugged aust steel and built for the outback, i lived in Darwin a few years ago and know how hard it is to get down to a capital to buy a camper, but i reckon a second hand GIC would be heaps better than a chinese trailer and tent from MDC (market direct from china). It wont be much cheaper than new (I looked) but if local to you the cost of freight to Darwin is saved already.

I was shocked to learn that MDC are only assembling here and calling that manufacturing, Im glad I got my tradesman mate to look them over or I would have fallen for it too. Look on the website to read the misleading claim of being Australias biggest manufacturer. I dont trust shifty advertising like that
Mick & Helen; we own a GIC Australian manufactured Off Road Trailer with imported 25 m2 tent

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2013, 06:11:21 AM »
Welcome.

I can see this going bad real quick again. As soon as some body mentions the 3 letters starting with G and ends with C, it doesn't end well.

To the OP, mate do a search, ask lots of questions and go to as many shows as you can. The problem with the Internet, it is too hard to separate the BS from the truth, not that you won't have that problem here.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2013, 06:55:25 AM »
Pass the popcorn  ;D ;D ;D

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2013, 07:00:51 AM »
Hi Happylife
Firstly welcome to MySwag.
Now, I am not actually a city dweller, so can you please explain some of those abbreviations to me.

Offline meandclan

« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2013, 07:12:24 AM »
mate im getting a GIC off road rugged aust steel and built for the outback, i lived in Darwin a few years ago and know how hard it is to get down to a capital to buy a camper, but i reckon a second hand GIC would be heaps better than a chinese trailer and tent from MDC (market direct from china). It wont be much cheaper than new (I looked) but if local to you the cost of freight to Darwin is saved already.

I was shocked to learn that MDC are only assembling here and calling that manufacturing, Im glad I got my tradesman mate to look them over or I would have fallen for it too. Look on the website to read the misleading claim of being Australias biggest manufacturer. I dont trust shifty advertising like that
oh oh you probably dont know but plenty of owners of MDC are going to be getting into you so heres my friendly last post to halfgee:
Welcome to myswag buddy just an observation from my time here, that be careful talking about imported trailer products compared to your aussie GIC (yes I know its rugged and carrys the official Australia made logo on the GIC website!).

GIC must be doing something right because the majority of threads are closed after the different imported brands all jump in and beat up on GIC or slag off owners. The funniest was the GIC showroom guy who seems to be banned while defending his product. He wasnt as slick as the other guys who go round talkibng up their brand/ so that will learn him for being upfront haha.

Enjoy the forum its got lots of practical info but you got to realise many are defending their purchase, so dont take it personally. Onya for buying an Australian trailer, if i could i would! Kev and clan

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #10 on: July 26, 2013, 07:31:01 AM »
Hi Happylife
Firstly welcome to MySwag.
Now, I am not actually a city dweller, so can you please explain some of those abbreviations to me.

TJ,

Mate there three things we don't talk about,

Politics, religion and GIC campers.

It always ends in tears.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #11 on: July 26, 2013, 10:12:58 AM »

Hi Chipncho, welcome to MySwag.
If you are travelling to Darwin, give Tony a call from Brumby Outback Trailers as he is in Darwin.  His number is 0414 890 973, tell him Muz from Cairns gave you his number.
 He imports trailers that are the same as some models of PMX and MDC.  His prices are $1000's cheaper than the other big name companies. 
Here is a thread on my imported trailer, it is an honest reveiw, it talks about the good, the bad and the ugly and how to customize or improve the CT.  Muz

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30421.0
« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 10:35:38 PM by muzza01 »

Offline meandclan

« Reply #12 on: July 26, 2013, 01:24:43 PM »
Once again meandclan you have to take a thread off-track with GIC trailers as the OP asked about PMX and MDC trailers.

Hi Chipncho, welcome to MySwag.
If you are travelling to Darwin, give Tony a call from Brumby Outback Trailers as he is in Darwin.  His number is 0414 890 973, tell him Muz from Cairns gave you his number.
 He imports trailers that are the same as some models of PMX and MDC.  His prices are $1000's cheaper than the other big name companies. 
Here is a thread on my imported trailer, it is an honest reveiw, it talks about the good, the bad and the ugly and how to customize or improve the CT.  Muz

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30421.0
What is wrong with buying second hand if on a budget? Plenty recommend it because the average bloke wants Australian quality steel that is less prone to rust and doesn’t fatigue under stress the way cheaper steel does. Not everyone can afford a track about or custom line, so who else is there in the budget camper trailer that’s fair dinkum and affordable. I don’t care what people choose and I do not own a camper yet so no one has to take my word… I personally like the facts so suggest shoppers look hard and use common sense, then live with the decision.

{Brumbys Outback Trailers i would of thought were made here going by the name, so many thks for inside info about them and PMX - as a curious chappie Ive got 10mins of my lunch hour left so will look at both their websites}

Offline cloakle

« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2013, 04:31:57 PM »
hi I have a mdc step thru and could not be happier

« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2013, 05:29:50 PM »
hi I have a mdc step thru and could not be happier

I had a Honda step thru once, great little comuter bike.

Offline barneys

• vegetarian old indian word meaning bad hunter
« Reply #15 on: July 26, 2013, 06:03:00 PM »
have a look on (carvanandcampingsales.com)there is a real nice looking greet aus campers for 1500 .iy looks like it has all the bells a whistles .offer him less you can only ask .i have nothing to do with this trailer just did a sreach

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
New to campers
« Reply #16 on: July 26, 2013, 09:36:16 PM »
Welcome to the forum, a great bunch of guys and gals here, just don't bring up imported trailers or dc to dc chargers...oops

Just kidding, best way is actually get out and look over some rigs, most people are more than happy to have a yarn to some stranger in a park about their pride and joy and are pretty honest about the faults and what not.

I own a MDC and have no issues at all, however I am in south east Queensland and that is a different kettle of fish to what you are dealing with.

Nothing wrong with second hand either, there are heaps of hardly used Aussie and imported rigs out there to choose from if that suits you, again spend some time looking at as many as you can before purchasing.

Good luck and enjoy the forum.
How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

Offline neilsk

« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2013, 03:02:19 PM »
Did you end up buying the MDC?
2012 D40 Navara St and a MDC Tbox V3