Author Topic: Drag Racing  (Read 172934 times)

Re: Drag Racing
« Reply #375 on: April 09, 2016, 07:50:48 AM »
They do bicycle races at Willowbank... and lakeside

« Reply #376 on: April 11, 2016, 07:54:24 AM »
Few world records broken over the weekend by the radial boys in Sydney.

Aussies showing the world how it's done once again  :cup:

« Reply #377 on: April 11, 2016, 02:51:29 PM »
Few world records broken over the weekend by the radial boys in Sydney.

Aussies showing the world how it's done once again  :cup:

Well Shane, even the Americans need hero's to look up to.  ;D

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #378 on: May 12, 2016, 12:37:55 PM »
Not sure if this has been shown before but this popped up in my facebook feed.   This is the fuel pump of a top fuel dragster - first at idle, then full throttle.  A top fuel dragster's fuel pump  delivers 246 litres per minute, and under full throttle,  the engine consumes 5.6 litres of nitromethane per second, the same rate of fuel consumption as a fully loaded 747 but with 4 times the energy volume.   That's just nuts.

https://www.facebook.com/BlackSmokeMedia/videos/vb.268553619977254/436300559869225/?type=2&theater
« Last Edit: May 27, 2016, 10:19:19 AM by tk421 »
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway
The following users thanked this post: Footy Shorts Shane

« Reply #379 on: May 12, 2016, 01:58:15 PM »
Well Shane, even the Americans need hero's to look up to.  ;D

See Justin Simpson took a big hit in Gups Camaro on Saturday night at the lights out event.

BIG HIT !!

« Reply #380 on: May 12, 2016, 04:32:35 PM »
Yeah, I saw that last night.

That one won't polish out anytime soon.

Yeah TK, them big ol boys do chew some fuel.

« Reply #381 on: May 13, 2016, 06:14:46 AM »
  the engine consumes 5.6 litres of nitromethane per second

Fuel consumption works out at roughly 6500 litres per 100km... 

« Reply #382 on: May 13, 2016, 08:20:07 AM »
Fuel consumption works out at roughly 6500 litres per 100km...

Marginally higher than a 4.8l Patrol when towing.

« Reply #383 on: May 13, 2016, 08:18:36 PM »
Marginally higher than a 4.8l Patrol when towing.
Maybe nitro teams should start looking into LP Gas conversions...

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

« Reply #384 on: May 23, 2016, 02:09:05 PM »
Copy from another thread.....

"Jill and Brett are off drag racing in NQ at the moment.  Might have to wait until they get home Nay  :D

KB"

So,........ The results are ???

« Reply #385 on: May 27, 2016, 09:02:26 AM »
It's just driving in a straight line......

https://www.facebook.com/ken.lowe.519/posts/10153879625754550

« Reply #386 on: May 27, 2016, 01:06:22 PM »
Copy from another thread.....

"Jill and Brett are off drag racing in NQ at the moment.  Might have to wait until they get home Nay  :D

KB"

So,........ The results are ???

Mate, you will have to ask the Big Kahuna  ;D. He was the one riding it

« Reply #387 on: May 27, 2016, 01:08:11 PM »
Mate, you will have to ask the Big Kahuna  ;D. He was the one riding it

I'm sure one of them will be along soon to brag about how good he was, or wasn't  >:D

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
« Reply #388 on: May 27, 2016, 02:36:34 PM »
Heading to Willowbank tomorrow for test & tune day. With Winternats just two weeks away I reckon there may be a TF or three there tomorrow :) Track action from 1-2pm, through to 11pm I've been told - $20 entry, kids free.
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

« Reply #389 on: May 27, 2016, 04:18:42 PM »
The Winters Warm Up is a good day as well.

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
« Reply #390 on: May 31, 2016, 09:47:21 PM »
Well, no TFs fronted up on Saturday - the wildest car to attend was Wade Wagstaff's 57 Chev which ran a few low 8s. There was also a quick Calibra, and a nutcase dark blue HK Holden sedan that ran 8s and 9s all evening.

My personal favourite - a Mulberry XA GS Falcon sedan that pulled three foot wheelies on its way to consistent 9.5 second quarters, and looked like a street driven car. Loved it!
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

« Reply #391 on: June 01, 2016, 08:32:04 AM »
Scott Palmer's first shakedown run in Studezilla  ;D

Off it way early for a 3.343 @ only 117 for the 1/8  8)

This thing is way cool. Buying lotto ticket this weekend  :D

https://www.facebook.com/kennyjessica.nowling/posts/1132201956802416

« Reply #392 on: June 01, 2016, 08:47:45 AM »
I wish I'd looked harder at the heading.

When it was running, I was thinking, that's got a lot of crackle and pop for an alcohol car.  ???

Then he stepped on it....... ;D

Gotta love nitro header flames.

Then I read the heading properly...... geez I'm a dickhead some days.

« Reply #393 on: June 06, 2016, 05:47:12 PM »
With the Winter's warm-up running today and the Winternationals next week end, I thought I might share an amusing story.

We had the blown 34 Ford coupe (mate owned it, I drove it) entered (about 1998 or 99) and I had the grand idea, of entering our 63 Pontiac in Super Street and I'd drive both cars over the week-end.
The 34 ran mid 7's all day and was bullet proof.
So far, so good.

Now, the ol Pontiac had a fairly stout little 350 Chevy in it with a turbo 350 box, 3500 convertor and a simple 3.5 geared Pontiac diff.
So  far, so good.

Now, to qualify, I had to run a 12:99 or better and the ol Pontiac was a bit of a heavy weight old thing, but could boogie when required.
I had a gut feeling, a really high 12 was in the ol girl.
So, to make sure the heavy arse thing could run an easy 12, I slapped a 100HP shot of giggles on the 350 to liven it up.
Tried it on the street and it would blaze the tyres off it.
Looked cool though, as it was flat purple in colour, flames over the front, whitewall tyres and on its guts lowrider style.

The Winters Warm Up would be the test, we were entered for the main event, but I really wanted to run a 12 before taking it to such a big race meet.
I borrowed a set of slicks that would fit, even if I left the spats on. (Cooooooool)

So, lets put the ol girl down the track.
1. Rip off a billowing skid.
2. Place car in pre-stage.
3. Bring up revs against the convertor.
4. Arm the giggle gas.
5. Full stage.
6. Last amber on the tree, bury the right foot, get off the brake and away we go.
7. Listen to crown wheel as it tried to cut its way out of the diff housing.
8. Cringe as the tacho needle flew around and tried to bash up the speedo.

The poor ol girl moved all of about 3 inches from the start line.  :-[

We then spent hours, and i mean, hours trying get about 5.6 metres of busted up Pontiac onto a tilt tray.
Because of how low it was,  we ended up using a set of ramps a racer used to put a short wheel based race car into a pantec truck.

Getting it off at home was a whole different story.....

« Reply #394 on: June 06, 2016, 06:46:37 PM »

« Reply #395 on: June 07, 2016, 08:08:17 AM »
With the Winter's warm-up running today and the Winternationals next week end, I thought I might share an amusing story.

We had the blown 34 Ford coupe (mate owned it, I drove it) entered (about 1998 or 99) and I had the grand idea, of entering our 63 Pontiac in Super Street and I'd drive both cars over the week-end.
The 34 ran mid 7's all day and was bullet proof.
So far, so good.

Now, the ol Pontiac had a fairly stout little 350 Chevy in it with a turbo 350 box, 3500 convertor and a simple 3.5 geared Pontiac diff.
So  far, so good.

Now, to qualify, I had to run a 12:99 or better and the ol Pontiac was a bit of a heavy weight old thing, but could boogie when required.
I had a gut feeling, a really high 12 was in the ol girl.
So, to make sure the heavy arse thing could run an easy 12, I slapped a 100HP shot of giggles on the 350 to liven it up.
Tried it on the street and it would blaze the tyres off it.
Looked cool though, as it was flat purple in colour, flames over the front, whitewall tyres and on its guts lowrider style.

The Winters Warm Up would be the test, we were entered for the main event, but I really wanted to run a 12 before taking it to such a big race meet.
I borrowed a set of slicks that would fit, even if I left the spats on. (Cooooooool)

So, lets put the ol girl down the track.
1. Rip off a billowing skid.
2. Place car in pre-stage.
3. Bring up revs against the convertor.
4. Arm the giggle gas.
5. Full stage.
6. Last amber on the tree, bury the right foot, get off the brake and away we go.
7. Listen to crown wheel as it tried to cut its way out of the diff housing.
8. Cringe as the tacho needle flew around and tried to bash up the speedo.

The poor ol girl moved all of about 3 inches from the start line.  :-[

We then spent hours, and i mean, hours trying get about 5.6 metres of busted up Pontiac onto a tilt tray.
Because of how low it was,  we ended up using a set of ramps a racer used to put a short wheel based race car into a pantec truck.

Getting it off at home was a whole different story.....

I started laughing when I read 350/350 10 bolt, and was thinking what let go? Bottom end, box or axle?
Then I read gas and tyres ; D
All of the above at once then? And a convertor and hemisphere?

« Reply #396 on: June 07, 2016, 08:20:03 AM »
Brown undie moment...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ic34i8TbBI

Absolutely destroyed the blower. Rotors hanging out is never a good look.

Another brown indie moment the other week for Glasby. Of all the cars to rip a transmission out of, a funny car certainly isn't one of them, with it being between your legs and all  :D

http://www.400thunder.com.au/ihra-safety-second-to-none/

« Reply #397 on: June 07, 2016, 09:36:33 AM »
Just a random pic of the old funny car that I grew up around and Dad used to build the engines for. RIP Besty.

« Reply #398 on: June 07, 2016, 10:13:36 AM »
Just a random pic of the old funny car that I grew up around and Dad used to build the engines for. RIP Besty.

https://au.tv.yahoo.com/plus7/outlaw-nitro-funny-cars/-/watch/31764362/outlaw-nitro-funny-cars-sat-4-jun-season-1-episode-3/

« Reply #399 on: June 07, 2016, 10:37:56 AM »
Thanks Shane I cant watch it now. Does that episode have some old footage or just showing that round?