Author Topic: camping clothesline type?  (Read 18396 times)

Offline gutters

• "When logic fails, force prevails"
    • Overland Australia
Re: camping clothesline type?
« Reply #25 on: May 15, 2013, 01:14:54 PM »
We have one like this

http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Wanderer-Folding-Campsite-Clothesline.aspx?pid=167287#Cross

We used to use it heaps when our kids were toddlers, now we just use some rope between the nearest trees.

The clothesline is sitting in my shed and is free to a good home if anyone wants it...
Blog - https://overlandaustralia.blogspot.com.au/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/OverlandAustralia/
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVhF6CXHhJEquGz55gtsXWQ
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/australiaoverland/

Offline Sledge

« Reply #26 on: May 15, 2013, 01:33:19 PM »
http://www.anaconda.com.au/Product/Camp-and-Hike/Outdoor-Furniture/Clothes-Line#90025393

Been using one of these at home for the past 5 months since my hills hoist got destroyed in a storm. one day I will get around to fixing it.

Offline gowalkabout

• Walkabout 4WD & Camping Accessories
« Reply #27 on: May 15, 2013, 02:28:22 PM »
Another vote for the rope here  ;D
This was us out at coober pedy 2 x kids 2 x adults after 2 weeks  :cup:
2007 Camprite TL8s
2012 Nissan Patrol GU8
Formally known as Tas130
www.gowalkabout.com.au
https://www.facebook.com/gowalkabout?ref=hl

Offline jagfromaus

« Reply #28 on: May 15, 2013, 03:58:46 PM »
Lol gowalkabout lucky not to many whites on the line or theyd all be red

Offline GS

• The hand the turns the doorknob, opens the door...
camping clothesline type?
« Reply #29 on: May 15, 2013, 04:59:59 PM »
I'd forget it was tied to the car and drive off.....

Offline Andreweasty90

« Reply #30 on: June 11, 2014, 11:53:31 AM »
I have 10m of para cord(strong thin rope it's ment to be able to hold 250kgs got it off a mate in the army but eBay sells it) with a loop about a metre back from he end an a cheap carrbeiner clip on the end. Loop around a tree clip on and then walk out to the next tree and tie it to that one also works as a good thing to take ourself out on as I have many times but the beers may have made forgot it was there

Offline mrsedz

« Reply #31 on: July 26, 2014, 04:49:42 PM »
We always use a rope tied along the side of the camper but not sure if this will be possible with the new camper. I was wondering what the mini hills hoist style clothes lines are like to use on sand, especially when it is windy. I know they are a little bulky to carry. We always stay on the eastern beach on Fraser Island so there is usually a bit of wind to contend with.
Hubby doesn't like the idea of carrying it due to size and weight but I thought the mini hills hoist style clothes line would be more suitable for me to use.
Trying to live the dream!

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #32 on: July 26, 2014, 05:46:21 PM »
We always use a rope tied along the side of the camper but not sure if this will be possible with the new camper. I was wondering what the mini hills hoist style clothes lines are like to use on sand, especially when it is windy. I know they are a little bulky to carry. We always stay on the eastern beach on Fraser Island so there is usually a bit of wind to contend with.
Hubby doesn't like the idea of carrying it due to size and weight but I thought the mini hills hoist style clothes line would be more suitable for me to use.

Guess it depends on your camper we find the flat white one from bunnings packs easily enough on top of everything in the trailer part. We just take some pegs to keep the clothes on, not sure if it would blow away but since on sand could put a bag of sand tied on bottom.

Offline Landyline

« Reply #33 on: July 26, 2014, 05:59:43 PM »
We use either paracord strung up on whatever is available or if just a few small things that twisted elastic stuff. Don't need pegs. You can do the same with rope as someone already mentioned.

The paracord you can tighten til you can play a tune on it.
Customline camper trailer

Offline lyn4680

« Reply #34 on: July 26, 2014, 06:05:53 PM »
We have the same as Nay-DMAX.  Don't take it on the weekend trips tho, seems like everything in the trailer gets caught up in it.  We also have one of these from ikea  http://m.ikea.com/au/en/catalog/products/art/60189664/   Cheap as chips (was on sale for about$2) and great for 'unmentionables'.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: July 26, 2014, 06:20:44 PM by lyn4680 »

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #35 on: July 26, 2014, 06:31:54 PM »
We have the same as Nay-DMAX.  Don't take it on the weekend trips tho, seems like everything in the trailer gets caught up in it.  We also have one of these from ikea  http://m.ikea.com/au/en/catalog/products/art/60189664/   Cheap as chips (was on sale for about$2) and great for 'unmentionables'.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

We have a couple of those ones too just from cheap shop and just hang them under awning we use bigger clothes horse one on longer trips

Offline 4runnernomore

« Reply #36 on: July 26, 2014, 08:08:48 PM »
For towels etc, we drape them over the bullbar / UHF aerial (ours is the solid fibreglass type). Smaller items get pegged to the cargo barrier. If we really need to, we string up some rope, which we always keep in the 4WD along with some clothes pegs.

We also have one of those collapsable "Hills Hoist" things but we've only taken it away once. It works well enough, however we find it a bit bulky and it needs pegging down or the wind tips it over, so it stays at home where it actually gets used all the time.

We use one these as well.  Use it the time at home out in the weather here in Darwin.  Folded up doesn't take up that much room

« Reply #37 on: July 26, 2014, 09:43:42 PM »
We, I mean swmbo, uses one of those flat folding ones from bgs, has heaps of room, folds flat on the bed, in good weather it can be used outside, or inside overnight when it's cold or wet. The diesel heater makes a great dryer/airer for us oap's   :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Offline steppenwolf

« Reply #38 on: July 27, 2014, 10:53:13 PM »
The best clothesline is called the Old Small Mazda Sedan type. You know - the 323.

« Reply #39 on: July 27, 2014, 11:07:31 PM »
But ya got to say it with an Irish accent Steppen..... Tree too tree....

« Reply #40 on: July 28, 2014, 07:40:53 AM »
We use the mini hills hoist type which you can get from Aldi on occasion on special. Co-incidentally they are on special at Rays Outdoors this month, I think around $29.00 save $20.00.

Offline grafy82

« Reply #41 on: July 28, 2014, 08:01:36 AM »
I just bought one of these from BCF as they were on sale for $25. Haven't had the chance to use it yet but it folds nice and flat and appears to have heaps of line space.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

Offline scrubber

« Reply #42 on: July 28, 2014, 08:22:17 AM »
I just use Telstra rope between 2 or more solid trees.  Takes up no space, versatile and I find that if it has blown over, I have have bigger issues to worry about - i.e. campsite has had the Shit blown out of it and everything else is on the ground.
I take enough crap with me as it is - certainly don't need any more junk.
“Some national parks have long waiting lists for camping reservations. When you have to wait a year to sleep next to a tree, something is wrong.” George Carlin

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #43 on: July 28, 2014, 11:54:50 AM »
i just use cotton rope. Was given a big roll from a farmer i loaded from a few years ago.  where i was on the road Id do my washing by wacking my clothes in a 20L bucket with my clothes water nd soap in it tied to the dolley pull.  Wash them good then when I pulled up Id just string up the rope betweeb the trailers.

Works the same camping, tstring it up between trees.
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #44 on: July 28, 2014, 12:00:13 PM »
We have used rope before but don't always have the trees to tie too, I found the clothes horse good when we did 2 weeks and were mostly in CP that time and good to put towels over after shower or swim, if we only going a couple of days usually just take enough clothes and wash them when we get home.  We use one of the hanging ones with clips to hang tea towel dish cloth etc up or peg things on the guy ropes.

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #45 on: July 28, 2014, 01:51:50 PM »
Last trip we done I had a tent pole at one end of the rope and the other end of the rope tied to a tent pole for the annex.

Sent from my Ring-a-ding-a-ling
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0