Author Topic: portable chemical toilets  (Read 23606 times)

Offline rocket327s

portable chemical toilets
« on: March 23, 2013, 11:41:56 AM »
Info please on your thoughts/opinions of this item.
Even using chemicals does the smell linger when stored during travel.
The difference between 10L & 20L only being the storage capacity..... still has to be flushed & new chemicals added after,say, 10 days?
Am looking for the best option prior to purchase.
Thanks for any feedback
Jayco Starcraft Outback
Nissan Navara D40

Re: portable chemical toilets
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2013, 12:34:18 PM »
I just use an equivalent to "nappysan"., about 2 tablespoons a day into the holding tank seems to work well, with no smell and cheap as.
cheers Keith

Offline rocket327s

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2013, 01:06:29 PM »
thanks xcavator.... does "nappy san" break it down like the chemical?
Jayco Starcraft Outback
Nissan Navara D40

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2013, 01:09:39 PM »
thanks xcavator.... does "nappy san" break it down like the chemical?
Yep, just a brown liquid goes down the drain

Offline rocket327s

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2013, 01:14:10 PM »
thanks for your input, much appreciated
Jayco Starcraft Outback
Nissan Navara D40

Offline Basel

portable chemical toilets
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2013, 01:24:20 PM »
My Mrs won't go camping without the porta-potti. Its my job to empty it, but its a small price to pay for camping.  We limit it to number 1's though but sometimes the kids ignore that rule. So far have only used thetford chemicals and no smells, no issues. Its well designed so emptying it is easy, no mess, no splashes.

Offline Ropes

• Owner Operator of OFFTRAX WA
    • OFFTRAX WA
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2013, 01:42:46 PM »
20ltr vs 10ltr
Less emptying frequency
Higher seat height

I just use nappy san and give the bowl a spray of Mr Sheen to stop skid marks. 8)
05 Nissan Patrol GU IV ST 4.2 TDi - Followed by a Metalian Maxi with original Australian Tent

OFFTRAX WA

Western Patrol Club Member

Offline rocket327s

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2013, 02:12:37 PM »
thanks Basel & ropes .. all helpful
Jayco Starcraft Outback
Nissan Navara D40

nbd73

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2013, 02:29:58 PM »
Depending on the number of adults & kids using it I would think 10 days to be at the outer limit. It would require all users to be depositing 'phantom' dumps into the toilet that require minimal to zero paper, and very minor/limited flushing. I have found for 4 adults and 2 kids that 2 days is a reasonable allowance before emptying, that way its not chockers (ever used one when that's the case? One of life's top 10 most unpleasant experiences IMO) . Apparently there is now a single product available that can be used in both the flushing and holding tank, and it is suitable for use with salt water. 

Offline Sawed-Off

« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2013, 02:50:25 PM »
The Cairns 4WD Club requires members to take a portaloo on overnight trips. Checked out a few today. Rays has the Thetford 365 on special for ~$160. Think I'll grab that one, unless anyone says not to?
Matt.

Rootin', Tootin', & Shootin'. It's the Cowboy Way.

'97 HZJ80R Land Cruiser Dual Cab
'05 Tambo "The Cooper" : Nights used - 2015: 13  2014: 34  2013: 36  2012: 31

nbd73

« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2013, 03:10:45 PM »
http://www.colemanaustralia.com.au/gear/accessories/personal-care/large-flush-toilet.aspx
Have a look at these, it's what I have and is ideal.  Having used other brands before I have found this one to be the most comfortable.  Does not have the 'flash' appearance or finish of others, but it's a toilet FFS.  At least check them out in comparison, I had a look back to back with others and could not justify twice the price.  Highly recommended.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 03:35:23 PM by nbd73 »

Offline Ropes

• OFFTRAX WA
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2013, 03:16:37 PM »
$160 ????

I'm fairly sure I only paid $40 for our 20ltr delivered to our door off evilbay.
05 Nissan Patrol GU IV ST 4.2 TDi - Followed by a Metalian Maxi with original Australian Tent

OFFTRAX WA

Offline Sawed-Off

« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2013, 03:22:31 PM »
$160 ????

I'm fairly sure I only paid $40 for our 20ltr delivered to our door off evilbay.

$40?! You can hardly buy a decent dunny seat at Bunnings for that!  Good deal! :cheers:
Matt.

Rootin', Tootin', & Shootin'. It's the Cowboy Way.

'97 HZJ80R Land Cruiser Dual Cab
'05 Tambo "The Cooper" : Nights used - 2015: 13  2014: 34  2013: 36  2012: 31

nbd73

« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2013, 03:26:11 PM »
$40?! You can hardly buy a decent dunny seat at Bunnings for that!  Good deal! :cheers:
He was only "fairly sure" , and he did not say whether it was brand spanking new or used.  If new, then it was stolen at some point from someone, no question.

Offline 03hilux

« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2013, 03:41:31 PM »
The Thetford 365 is a good product. My old man had one on his boats for over 25years. Apart from cleaning it, there was no other maintainence.
We,(the wife and I) bought one for our camping trips. It gets used, but more so at night to save staggering to a toilet block in the middle of the night. It also ensures no one has to get out of bed in the middle of the night to escort the kids to a toilet block.

Remember, Happy Wife Happy Life. And having your own toilet close by when camping will contribute to it.

Offline rocket327s

« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2013, 04:31:23 PM »
thanks everyone ...........
have been surfing the net with regard to these,...... BCF has specials on at the moment, will look at the Thetford tomorrow. varying sizes & prices (obviously).
only two of us using it so no problem there with kids....
had a look at the Coleman & as you say,,,, a potty is a potty....& they are about $30 cheaper than the lowest priced Thetford
« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 04:54:41 PM by rocket327s »
Jayco Starcraft Outback
Nissan Navara D40

« Reply #16 on: March 23, 2013, 06:48:06 PM »
20ltr vs 10ltr
Less emptying frequency
Higher seat height

I just use nappy san and give the bowl a spray of Mr Sheen to stop skid marks. 8)

With the sides done in Mr.Sheen, a turd would take hours to come to a standstill. Little or big (as the case may be) buggers would be whizzing around like toy race cars.

« Reply #17 on: March 23, 2013, 07:15:40 PM »
Go for the 20l holding tank if for no other reason it makes the toilet about the same height as a domestic one.  We have the Thetford 365.

« Reply #18 on: March 23, 2013, 07:23:11 PM »
Yep, the Thetford 365 is a great unit, it's what we use and have never had any problems with it plus spare parts are readily available for them if reqd. $160 sounds like a pretty sharp price for it also.

Offline Ropes

• OFFTRAX WA
Re: Re: portable chemical toilets
« Reply #19 on: March 23, 2013, 07:24:10 PM »
He was only "fairly sure" , and he did not say whether it was brand spanking new or used.  If new, then it was stolen at some point from someone, no question.

It was brand new, here is a link to something similar.

20ltr Porta Loo

OFFTRAX WA

« Reply #20 on: March 23, 2013, 07:58:22 PM »
I also you Nappisan (Home Branded) in the Panda's toilet 2 cap fulls mixing it with a bit of hot water helps get it going. A couple squirts of dish liquid or Eculyptus oil in the flush tank.

though do find the Nappisan doesn't like breaking down 3ply dunny paper to well.

Also use the Nappisan to clean the tank after each trip, couple of caps full and hot water, let it sit for a day or to and rinse, comes up a treat.

Offline Chris-Vi

• Prado and Sportscruiser 1550
« Reply #21 on: March 23, 2013, 08:07:08 PM »
Another vote for home brand napisan. Works well and breaks everything down. Plenty of info online as to mixtures.  :cheers:
2008 Prado GX
2013 Sportscruiser 1550

nbd73

Re: Re: portable chemical toilets
« Reply #22 on: March 23, 2013, 08:15:38 PM »

20ltr Porta Loo

I stand corrected, at least on one front. I would still doubt the origins of these (&many other) products at that price point, but I take my hat off and say well done, good buying. Looks ok.

Offline rocket327s

« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2013, 08:13:44 AM »

20ltr Porta Loo

I actually saw those on ebay, only thing put me off slightly was...... the non splash emptying system on the Thetford, which kinda impressed me
Jayco Starcraft Outback
Nissan Navara D40

« Reply #24 on: March 24, 2013, 08:30:05 AM »
I havent read the entire thread so this has no doubt been mentioned but we like a high loo, not that we do number 2's in it unless the situation is desperate but the girls prefer the height.

Ours is a thetford 365, they are a quality loo. We also have one of those ebay 20ltr jobs here that we would sell cheap if anyone is interested but I am convinced it leaks when travelling, I also had a 10ltr ebay one that done the same thing........yep spent more on $hitters than most would but poor man pays twice and all that!