Author Topic: The 10 steps of Landcruiser 200 test drive  (Read 10351 times)

The 10 steps of Landcruiser 200 test drive
« on: March 18, 2013, 05:31:25 PM »
Me and the missus test drove a Landcruiser 200 diesel on the weekend and it was an interesting experience that you go through. So others know what to expect i have detailed the stages below

1. Nervousness - it is big really big you look across at each other and say "what you doin all the way over there"
2. Apprehension - you fire the thing up and realise that there is a great big V8 under the bonnet
3. Fear - You get it out of the car yard and see that it only has 400k on the clock and as you blip the throttle it behaves like a bull about to go monkey Shit
4. TERROR - You get a k or 2 down from the dealer and give it a bootfull, any notions you had of an understanding of space, time and the physics of the universe are literally plastered against the back window and this thing leaps foward like a scared rhino on acid
5. Relief - You back off the throttle and wave you hand in front of your eyes relieved that you can still see and also have not soiled yourself
6. Mistchievness - You both look at each other and at the same time say "lets do that again"
7. Supremecy - You both laugh like idiots when you leave a bogan commodore driver speechless at the lights
8. Sadness - As you return to the dealership and the realisation sets in that you cant afford it
9. Longing you get back in your prado with 96kw of indirect diesel power and it is just not the same
10. Wondering - Is there one vehicle purchase in a mans life that is done not because it should be but beacuse it has to be ;D

Re: The 10 steps of Landcruiser 200 test drive
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 05:35:01 PM »

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 06:01:30 PM »
Haha, great understanding.
We had something similar between the Surf and the LX470.

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 06:01:51 PM »
 >:D  Go on you know you want to!
 :angel:  You do know you have a $xxxK mortgage and two kids, one in yr12 & the other at uni and that is why you drive a 18 yo GQ
 >:D  Yes but it will be great fun.
 :angel:  Life is not about fun, it is about responsibilities.
 >:(  You win again. B!tch

« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 06:06:30 PM »

:angel:  You do know you have a $xxxK mortgage and two kids, one in yr12 & the other at uni and that is why you drive a 18 yo GQ

So four must make me, um, screwed!   ;D

« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2013, 06:06:37 PM »
Very funny, ours differed in a few ways, but that's a good summation. I was impressed with the power but thought it had a slight  hesitation getting away from the lights, after 15mins realized I had it switched so It takes off in 2nd! After that I was ear to ear grin, they just go so hard for a big car, yet don't feel big. We did some reverse parks and wife found it easier than the Pajero.

I was a bit luckier than you, as I got back into the Pajero which although no 200 it does go reasonably hard and the boss said "get one"!  :cup:

nbd73

« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2013, 06:07:15 PM »
Chester, I was driving an American vehicle, so point 9 did not apply. A salary sacrifice novated lease solved point 8, which left only item 10 to satisfy. If there is one thing a man must do in adult life (after the obvious kid generating activity) then buying a 200 is it.
Oh, and the Goldstream just looks like it was designed to sit behind one!!

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2013, 06:21:58 PM »
Chester, why do you think drivers of a 200 series TTD, with 195 kw & 650 nm of torque look like

;D ;D ;D :D :D :D ;D ;D ;D ;D 8)

as they fang down the highway, passing at leisure, even towing their big rigs?
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2013, 06:30:32 PM »
That TTDV8 is impressive and the interior is a nice place to spent some time.

Great write, I could visualise myself at each point. Except maybe the trepidation at the dealer. I told her to make sure her belt was on because I'd seen this thing in a cartoon and I reckoned I could do it in a 200 :D

« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2013, 06:33:34 PM »
Well said.  :cup:

We went through that 4 years ago.  We went looking at 100 series and made the big mistake of taking a 200 series for a test drive, just for fun, I mean how could any vehicle be worth that much.  >:D

Yep, 136,000 on the clock now and still drives like new and we still love it.  And people still ask, 'So how do you find the 200?'  Still the same answer,  'Walk out to our garage and there it is.'  ;D
Kevin

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2013, 06:54:22 PM »
JUST DO IT.

;D ;D I just can't stop smiling every time I drive the bloody thing.
Without a doubt the 200 series is in a class of its own.
Best tourer going around by a country mile.

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2013, 07:15:31 PM »
Brilliant, I'm still laughing!

Disco teddy.

« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2013, 08:17:51 PM »
Ten of the reasons I have never stopped to kick the tyres of one

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #13 on: March 19, 2013, 02:24:03 PM »
JUST DO IT.

;D ;D I just can't stop smiling every time I drive the bloody thing.
Without a doubt the 200 series is in a class of its own.

Loving just about every minute of it..........just need to finish paying for it now  >:D
Cheers, Craig

« Reply #14 on: March 19, 2013, 02:47:10 PM »

If you say so................... ::) :-X ;D

« Reply #15 on: March 19, 2013, 03:47:06 PM »
Quote from: GGPatrol
Ten of the reasons I have never stopped to kick the tyres of one
x2.
I don't know why people test drive things they have no chance of buying..

Offline TasJK

« Reply #16 on: March 19, 2013, 05:33:53 PM »
Awesome post but you forgot Step 11. Fill diesel V8 with oil.

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #17 on: March 19, 2013, 07:49:40 PM »
Awesome post but you forgot Step 11. Fill diesel V8 with oil.

Mate .... Have you had excessive oil usage in your 200. ???

nbd73

« Reply #18 on: March 19, 2013, 07:57:47 PM »
Yeah, I reckon this issue has been done to death.  And IMHO it's been over blown a bit. Certainly there have been vehicles with issues, but compared to the number made & sold it would be interesting to know the % that actually have proven issues. My father has had a 76 for 18 months, my father in law has a 200 also and between the 3 of us have seen no usage , albeit over 9 months only for the 200's. Havent read any one on here moaning, they're all over on LCOOL. Like anything, the few that whinge make a mountain out of a mole hill.

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #19 on: March 19, 2013, 08:09:55 PM »
Quote from: Swogjb

My VX Cruiser's done 115,500 km in 3.5 years.  In that time I've probably added about 3 litres of oil, total, between services.  This usually after heavy right foot, towing through the hills.

Interestingly, today Mrs T & I went for a drive to Millaa Millaa and back. As we passed a neighbour's place, she volunteered that she'd travelled a bit recently in their '08 Ti 'Trol, and found it very truck like, and no where as comfortable as the Cruiser.

Given that she's happy to wind me up at the drop of a hat, I don't think she volunteered the opinion just to be nice.   :cheers:
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #20 on: March 19, 2013, 08:10:31 PM »
Yeah, I reckon this issue has been done to death.

From what I can gather.. oil usage was a problem in the early days but has been rectified.

From my experience....... Most people still harping on about it are disgruntled Nissan drivers. >:D

:cheers: Glenn

Offline TasJK

« Reply #21 on: March 19, 2013, 08:31:24 PM »
Ha ha Just storing the pot. I work for a Fleet leasing company and definitely have seen numerous 200 series with oil consumption issues, but no more than issues with other makes/models.

nbd73

« Reply #22 on: March 19, 2013, 08:32:18 PM »
From what I can gather.. oil usage was a problem in the early days but has been rectified.

From my experience....... Most people still harping on about it are disgruntled Nissan drivers. >:D

:cheers: Glenn
And with that said, case closed. Now just have to figure out how to get Chester into one > hope he bought his lotto tickets tonight  :cup:

« Reply #23 on: March 19, 2013, 08:49:42 PM »
Yep the oil things been done to death, in all honesty there are other things that worry me about 200 ownership a lot more than oil consumption. The popularity and increasing numbers getting around are speaking volumes. They have been out 5 years now and are very refined IMO, even Mr " oh what a lemon" has purchased another one!

« Reply #24 on: March 20, 2013, 10:06:49 AM »
Thats the problem when you drive a new car.
You go home and think: I want it, I want it, I want it.
Then you do the sums and think: I can't, I can't, I can't.