Author Topic: Looking Retirement in the Face  (Read 8289 times)

Looking Retirement in the Face
« on: March 08, 2013, 07:53:24 PM »
My question is for all the swaggers that have retired.  :cheers:
If you really enjoyed your work and the comradery that often goes with it, how did you handle the transition from working to no work, except what you wanted to do ? I don't think finances will be a problem within reason, but there is only so much fishing, golf and gardening you can do.
I guess the my biggest problem is that I do my job well and I enjoy doing it, but there is a bit of money tide up in plant and equipment that will have to be sold to keep the G'ment( centre link ), tax man and superannuation requirements happy  :'(
The date is set 31/12/2013, the decision has been made,the train is in motion, I should be happy buuttttt [/url

Re: Looking Retirement in the Face
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2013, 07:56:21 PM »
Nike

If I was in a position to retire (2 year old means I'll be working for the next 20 years) I would retire in an instant and work a few days a week at Rays, BCF, ARB etc selling stuff and talking crap :)

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2013, 08:36:18 PM »
Best thing I ever did was leave "work" and run Mandrake's as a hobby - I can play in the man cave , garden , go out , play lawn bowls , camp etc etc ..
Mandrake
Going back to basics - sort of ...

« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2013, 08:54:41 PM »
I have 14 years and 2 days to go to retire, i have to retire at 60, i do plan to retire and not work so hopefully my plan does work.... good super for me and my wife should see the plan work...

Offline Estelle

• New members of the leisure club
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2013, 09:06:41 PM »

Make sure you have enough interests to keep you going.
Try volunteer work in an area you feel comfortable. one or two days a week. You will probably find you are short of time to do 'other things' as you will take longer to do tasks, 'there is no rush to get that job done'.
Reading is good. since retiring over three years ago, I've read about three hundred novels (library, not purchased. Or on trips, buy from The Sallies and give them back at the next Sallies location).

Grandkids?

I'm sure your better half will find something around the house that needs doing :-)

I enjoyed my job but do not miss it in the least since retiring. A new life!
Chris & John

05 DiD Platinum Pajero, Cub Spacevan Drover Off Road

Offline Straitened Out

• Out in the straits.
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2013, 09:07:10 PM »
I found "retirement" a bit scary. I think there's a male/female thing here too. Males tend to be known for what they do but females are known for who they are. I liked the idea of a "change of pace" so am working "in patches" - work a few weeks, have a few weeks off. It seems to be working for me. If that's possible for you, that's what I would advise.
S.O.

I wonder what the poor people are doing?

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2013, 09:12:06 PM »
Retirement is big talk around our place at the moment. I gave up my job seven odd years ago ( charter boat skipper- boat builder) so that we could affoard to buy our first home together (both second time wed). We moved to the country where we could affoard to buy a house and have not looked back. On Thursday the 28th March Annie will retire after 44 years as a high school teacher, I know she is looking forward to our big trip away but still enjoys her work but is looking forward to her retirement.
But full time retirement is not on the cards Annie would like to do some contract teaching in the west next year. Plus looking to do some volunteer work where we can.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2013, 09:13:49 PM »
   I left early to miss out on a building relocation. It would have meant a  longer commute, and CBD traffic. Otherwise I would have stayed (perhaps?)

I now wonder how I ever found time to go to work. Heaps of stuff to do re landscaping, setting up camper, making stuff I now have time to make, learning stuff all the time re digital photos, GPS etc.

Never a dull moment!

Love it!

« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2013, 09:26:59 PM »
Do you really retire?  I finished work and retired last year, or so I thought and now seem busier than I ever was with fixing up the house, catching up with friends for lunches, checking up on 15 grandchildren and being the SWMBO,s kitchen bitch ;D  But I like cooking and doing things around the house and getting up when I want and never having to hear an alarm clock again. :-*  I do miss getting the day off occasionally with pay but I guess I can take any day off now, with the SWMBO,s permission >:D  One of the best aspects of retirement is we can take holidays whenever we like and are not locked into work times or school holidays, there is nothing better than being at a nice campsite and being almost the only one there. 8)  Well, after that I might go and pour myself another Bundy and contemplate if I should do anything tomorrow, or even if I will get out of bed,,,,,,,I LOVE RETIREMENT. :cheers:

Offline Pipeliner

• I'm too old to rough it!
Looking Retirement in the Face
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2013, 09:40:07 PM »
I suppose I will retire some time - after all I'm 67 this year - but I enjoy my work too much, having reached a position in my industry where I am known across the country.  I think of myself as transitioning into retirement as we usually take about 12 weeks as holiday each year: the next bit starts at Easter when we head off for a 6 week trip to Europe.

Besides my super took a big hit because of the GFC so I need to boost it up a bit!  Wish the government would let me put more than $25,000 in each year without taxing it to hell.
Camping is great as long as the mattress is inner spring!

« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2013, 10:04:11 PM »
I'm too busy to retire.

I'm flat out now, I don't have time to take on any more tasks......

Retirement would be just another commitment I have no time for.

One day.........
 But probably not soon.

Offline firecracker

« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2013, 10:51:32 PM »
When I retired 12 months ago after 50 years grafting in the building game, I carried ondoing jobs for mates that i'd worked with over the years(sparkies/plumbers) Sold the workshop/yard so now have a garage and shed full of gear i've accumulated, it's a shame not to use it now and again. :D
D3 HSE, Compomotive18"275x65 Cooper ATs, Sumpguard, GVNP.rods, Prospeed tree sliders, Brembo 4pot
Out laning/camping when i can.(ongoing trailer build)

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2013, 04:13:33 AM »
Retire..????
No way.. not going there,, I'd be bored Shitless and divorced within 2 weeks.   :cheers:

BHG

« Reply #13 on: March 09, 2013, 05:44:14 AM »
I thought I would be retiring soon with crook back and our wonderful police force trying to get rid of me straight out the door. However I have clearance from the doctors so back to work on Monday.  :police:

« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2013, 06:09:59 AM »
I suppose I will retire some time - after all I'm 67 this year - but I enjoy my work too much, having reached a position in my industry where I am known across the country.  I think of myself as transitioning into retirement as we usually take about 12 weeks as holiday each year: the next bit starts at Easter when we head off for a 6 week trip to Europe.

Besides my super took a big hit because of the GFC so I need to boost it up a bit!  Wish the government would let me put more than $25,000 in each year without taxing it to hell.

Change the odd detail, and that's pretty much my lot too.......

« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2013, 08:02:29 AM »
Retired 2 years ago just short of 56 and have not looked back.  Just love it and have never been busier! My wife has now resigned (still got 4 years until she can retire) and we are about to head off for 9 months. 
Wait until you have a medical scare and believe me, you will realise that life is way too short.
My wife being an emergency nurse and with my old occupation I could tell you so many stories of people being hit with tragedy and how their whole life changes.
A few years back a work colleague took early retirement at 54, bought a caravan, first trip he and his wife did was heading down south, they were setting up in a caravan park in NSW, putting up the van’s awning and he had a heart attack and that was it, all over!
I remember work mates telling me I would miss the interaction and conversations.  When travelling this is not a problem.  So many good people to talk to out there and almost all travellers are happy people.
They do say it can take up to 2 years to get use to retirement, so be prepared, but you will just love it.
Kevin

« Reply #16 on: March 09, 2013, 09:46:54 AM »
Quote from: xcvator
but there is only so much fishing, golf and gardening you can do.
Come and do mine :D

« Reply #17 on: March 09, 2013, 02:46:03 PM »
What about picking up one or two days a week on someone else's machine?  Maybe on a weekend when they are off?

« Reply #18 on: March 09, 2013, 03:23:02 PM »
Come and do mine :D
I did, remember  :-*

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #19 on: March 09, 2013, 06:04:39 PM »
I retired 4 years ago from a job that I liked, but I have not regretted it one bit.  I now find that I can do a lot more things that I was not able to while I was at work - i.e.  fishing, travelling, camping.  I go on at least 2 trips a year to the gulf fishing for barramundi and whatever other suicidal fish decides to hit my lures.  I go on monthly holidays to either Philippines, Thailand or Singapore.  My son has talked me into investing money into a little cattle breeding venture, and between us we now have 300 head of cows and 4 bulls.  I spend a weekend every now and then drafting them.

To fill in my days here in Mackay while the weather is so sh***y, I have mastered the art of making collapsible crab pots.  I make them out of 10mm galvenised steel rings, 900mm diameter, with 4 funnels and 4 poly 32mm posts.  I sell these to my friends.  The fun with these is getting the parts to Mackay.  You would think the steel is GOLD, but you just can't get anything here in Mackay.  I use prawn trawler mesh, and I went to the only ships chandlery shop here and asked for a meshing needle. The bloke behind the counter came back with, "That's that?"  Enough said.

I am planning another 3-4 months up in NT after I come back from a fishing trip and a holiday to (I think) Phuket.

There just aint enough hours in the day.

Graham
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #20 on: March 09, 2013, 06:05:26 PM »
I forgot to mention.  I am 68 this year.

Graham
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

Offline FZJ

« Reply #21 on: March 09, 2013, 07:52:47 PM »
Im a long way off retiring but if I could tomorrow ,i would.I just cant imagine laying on my death bed looking up and thinking....geez i wish i could have worked more.........
I dont mind going to work, its the 8 hours  i have to wait to go home again that annoys me.

Camel bushman....

« Reply #22 on: March 09, 2013, 08:58:25 PM »
Work to live, not live to work.

I've started planning my retirement...  I've only got 23 years and 6 months to get it sorted :'(

« Reply #23 on: March 09, 2013, 10:01:29 PM »
Keith, buddy,

Exiting times.

I reckon that you need to start looking at selling your business, not your gear,  There must be someone out there who would be looking for the contact list that you have, thats worth $$$$.

And once you've found that person (and I reckon you know who they  mite be), offer them a deal.  That deal mite include YOU coming back and doing a few hours/weeks/months  work for the next few years (cash $$$$$$) to help them out when they need time off/extra hands.  Think outside the square buddy. You have a business, not just equipment.

I wish I were you!

Offline Traveller

« Reply #24 on: March 10, 2013, 10:29:34 AM »
I retired a few years ago, and would not even consider going back to work. I think most people are worried by the thought of giving up work, losing that steady income that builds up the superannuation, and the thought of all the 'dead' time that needs to be filled.

First up, let me assure you that 'dead' time does not happen very often. I used to talk to old workmates that had retired while I was working, and they used to tell me that they didn't know how they found the time to work. Outside I would be all smiles, but inside I used to be thinking that this guy was cracked. But they were right. Time is now not the enemy. Slow down and enjoy all you are doing. We have found that we have to block in time on the calendar to allow us to get away on a trip otherwise things get arranged and it hard to get away.

Sounds like you have a good group of mates from work, and that shouldn't change that much. You will find new friends as you expand into other areas of your life as well.

As said before, if you haven't hobbies, look at trying a few things out to see what interests you. Obviously travel should be high on the agenda, and the beauty of doing it when retired is that you do it so much easier. We have found that with no deadline to get back for, we are much more relaxed about where we are going, and how long we want to stay at each place. We often travel with another couple who both work, and we used to travel exactly as they do. Now we find that they do not truly relax. Sitting around to enjoy a marvellous sunrise, sunset, view or whatever, never really occurs to them. There is always that ticking clock that tells them they only have so many days to do the trip in.

Embrace retirement as the reward it is for all the hard work you have done over the years. Remember, you live on one of Australia's jewels, enjoy it.