Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1960561 times)

Offline tedota

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5325 on: April 17, 2020, 04:13:25 PM »
https://www.htpaa.org.au/hand-tools/australian-tools-makers/australian-makers/19-australian-makers 

Saxon Engineering, Victoria

Offline Raym

« Reply #5326 on: April 17, 2020, 04:50:02 PM »
Not sure if it was a home brand but found this in a quick search on the Woodwork Forum. This was a discussion about sash clamps.

"The standard Dawn ones I have are pretty good but they bend under extreme pressure . They and Saxon ones are some of the best second hand ones to buy ."

« Reply #5327 on: April 17, 2020, 05:07:07 PM »
Might have to temper the " Why have two different brands "  due  to supply available at the time or had one and borrowed another ..Does'nt matter, its great you have them either way and can still use them after all these years ..   8) 8)

« Reply #5328 on: April 17, 2020, 05:18:34 PM »
Thanks all, some good information there.

Other than some new grease on the threads they still work well. Can't decide if I want to give them a clean up, I quite like the history in the current patina.

« Reply #5329 on: April 17, 2020, 07:30:45 PM »
Yep. We had to pay to have a surveyor prove where their asset was.
When the results were in, they then sent their own surveyor to verify the work of a licensed surveyor.

It's easy to see why people do dodgeys....

6 years ago we were going install an inground pool. Settled on a pool builder and when we were discussing the set out of the pool the sewer line came up and how if we were too close it would need to be encased in concrete. I pointed out where the sewer line was and the pool mob said sweet you are fine but need a survey to complete the application to council etc. Engaged whoever it was to do the survey and guess what, it was exactly where I said it was. Pool builder said we now had to encase in concrete which was the total opposite of their earlier claim and they wanted a $3k variation. We now have an Expanda in the driveway and no pool. If they wanted a $3k vary before a sod was turned what were they going to be like half way into the job.
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

« Reply #5330 on: April 17, 2020, 08:32:15 PM »
Found a dust covered box on a shelf buried along one wall,   Now have a hardly used free standing hammock sitting out in the shade, under the tree in the backyard  [ last used on Fraser Island about 17 yrs ago ]   ;D     Ohh missy bring me another beer ! Ohh and some of those nibbly things too  please   ;D ;D  Ohh Missy another beer     .....  This being on stand down might have just taken a turn for the better  might have to get a bell instead of calling out   .  ;D ;D

More colorful version of this one ..
« Last Edit: April 17, 2020, 08:40:18 PM by edz »

Offline MB TD42

• Retroform Carpentry and Joinery
« Reply #5331 on: April 17, 2020, 08:44:24 PM »
Who knows about old tools? My dad gave me these clamps, they were his dad's. The Dawn clamp is easy but I've never heard of and can't find anything on Saxon. Was it a 'home' brand or equivalent to Dawn? NFI why my grandfather had two different brand clamps, and he's not around to ask.

They generally got bought out by another brand etc...saxon still sell low grade tools in Bunnings...they are generally a budget knock off...
Brands like marples and record merged and forgive me if I'm wrong but they got swallowed up as well...I have 2 brands of chiseles made by the same factory.
I have 2 old clamps I acquired but the ends went missing...I now need to make some new ends.

We're all ere coz we ain't all there.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2020, 10:17:12 AM by MB TD42 »
We're all hear coz we ain't all there...

« Reply #5332 on: April 18, 2020, 08:18:14 AM »
Other than some new grease on the threads they still work well. Can't decide if I want to give them a clean up, I quite like the history in the current patina.

If they're working OK, than I'd leave 'em as they are

Isuzu: 2017 MU-X LST

« Reply #5333 on: April 18, 2020, 08:19:59 AM »
Ohh missy bring me another beer ! Ohh and some of those nibbly things too  please   ;D ;D  Ohh Missy another beer     .....  This being on stand down might have just taken a turn for the better  might have to get a bell instead of calling out   .  ;D

& I can tell just how long that's going to last! >:D

Isuzu: 2017 MU-X LST

« Reply #5334 on: April 18, 2020, 09:33:20 AM »
Well Fizz " she love me she loves me not "  exactly 1 beer and a packet of chips ....     :'( :D :D
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #5335 on: April 18, 2020, 11:33:12 AM »
gave our little 2008 CRV an oils and filter service...

had it since new and it's been a ripper little car... no problems whatsoever and over 200,000 k's now...

changed oil to penrite HPR 5W-40, rather than the standard 30, and already seems to be running a mite smoother...

also, resanded (mainly to fix dog chew marks and holes) and washed our old squatters chair to get ready for another coat and new canvas...

« Reply #5336 on: April 18, 2020, 03:45:04 PM »
Replaced two 1200x300 shelves with 2000x400 shelves, heaps more space and the shelves are now deep enough to store tools.

Offline MB TD42

« Reply #5337 on: April 18, 2020, 05:09:50 PM »
Replacing impeller on the old outboard...
All good till righty tightly turned into loosy.
Gotta make up a new stud now...looks like it's day were numbered by the corrosion in the break.

Also chucked the final coat on some part for a bunch of bar stools Im repairing.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5338 on: April 18, 2020, 06:04:27 PM »
Finished our laundry

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #5339 on: April 18, 2020, 06:41:11 PM »
Finished our laundry
Clever splashback :cup:

« Reply #5340 on: April 18, 2020, 06:42:48 PM »
Finished our laundry

Better call the sparky back.... ;D

Offline MB TD42

« Reply #5341 on: April 18, 2020, 06:54:24 PM »
Finished our laundry

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Geez...nice job...dont go posting this up...the wife will get wind of it...we have been eyeing up the flatpack from Bunnings...will be making up customers doors n bench top but the cabinets are cheap and simple to transport abd set up...

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5342 on: April 18, 2020, 07:32:04 PM »
Better call the sparky back.... ;D
Black one didn't make it in on Friday, so will change it on Monday

Sent from my SM-T835 using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #5343 on: April 18, 2020, 07:32:52 PM »
Walked in ti my shed,
Added more empties to the mounting pile that needs to be taken to the 'Return & Earn' machines.
They are closed, Covid19.
Maybe when this ends, It(10 cents a item) might pay for the Ferry ride to Tas for our next National Meet :)

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5344 on: April 18, 2020, 07:34:06 PM »
Clever splashback :cup:
Photo taken by a mate, printed by another mate who's a sign writer, bit of toughened glass, wet application of the artwork, and held in place with silicon.... That way if the missus decided she wants to change it in 5 years or so, then it's an easy change

2013 Amarok Highline

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5345 on: April 18, 2020, 07:40:32 PM »
Geez...nice job...dont go posting this up...the wife will get wind of it...we have been eyeing up the flatpack from Bunnings...will be making up customers doors n bench top but the cabinets are cheap and simple to transport abd set up...

Thanks mate... Next is the family room...

Jetmaster gas hearth, then I've got to make cabinets and somewhere to house the TV and associated electronics, and she wants Tassie Oak in the mix somehow

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #5346 on: April 18, 2020, 08:24:01 PM »
Replacing impeller on the old outboard...
All good till righty tightly turned into loosy.
Gotta make up a new stud now...looks like it's day were numbered by the corrosion in the break.

Also chucked the final coat on some part for a bunch of bar stools Im repairing.

What happened to the anti-cav plate?
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #5347 on: April 18, 2020, 08:39:16 PM »
Doing a "major" tidyup/ update under the house,
Racking - 2 m x 3.5 m c .6 + 2 m x 1.5 x .6
Thanks to Covid-19 saga
Coming along slowly, but I can see a lot of concrete I haven't seen for years and also started to see a long lost work bench.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Offline MB TD42

« Reply #5348 on: April 18, 2020, 09:13:59 PM »
What happened to the anti-cav plate?
Had it all apart...its on the bench...lucky it was just the fins on the impeller that had cooked...operator error...running the motor when using the flush attachment.

« Last Edit: April 19, 2020, 09:21:16 PM by MB TD42 »

« Reply #5349 on: April 22, 2020, 04:58:58 AM »
The ol grey motor is all but done now.

The lifters need to go away (forgot about 'em) and be reco'd later this week.
That'll fall under essential travel for the Fleetwood.
Speaking of which, its coming out for a bubble bath later today.

Hmm, back to the grey motor.
Things like the sump and numerous other bits, were sandblasted by the owner, who then forgot to spray 'em with WD40
I've been cleaning each piece, then painting individually so we have a nice finished product with no painted gaskets.

Bloody time consuming....

Got the head back from Footy Shorts Shane last Wednesday, so that's back on now.

He did some nice work on it too.
Mild porting on the runners, but the main bit was the tight 90 turn above the valves.

It now has a nicely radiused turn in there and the air and fuel should be able to hit the whole valve, not just part of it.
It's got red motor valves now, which is a nice upgrade from the ol standard ones.
Its had a heap of fat trimmed off the head face to bump the compression a tad.
He's fitted us up with some Comp Cams 350 Chev valve springs and retainers.
The intake manifold is now dowel pinned to the head.

We had out usual argument over his charges.
We tried to pay him $300 and 2 bottles of JD above and beyond his invoice.

After around 30 minutes, I still ended up with a get fukked and $50 back in my hand.

So, shed time has seen the grey become a long engine after all that.
Did a test fit of the pipes.... perfect.
Did a test fit of the twin carbs..... perfect.
Did a test fit of them together...... FAIL.
I need to trim a section out of tube #2.
I'll use some wire and couple of hose clamps to get the shape correct and let the exhaust shop slip a nice curve in there.

Monday morning saw the ol girls front bumper on the Statesman get a respray.
She tailgates everyone who is slow, so the bar cops a hiding from rocks and Shit.

Bit of a clean up needed later in the week for the shed I think.... its fairly tidy, but really clean would be better.

« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 05:11:09 AM by Jeepers Creepers »