Author Topic: Annex Floor/Flooring Do you use it ?  (Read 7904 times)

Annex Floor/Flooring Do you use it ?
« on: August 19, 2012, 12:18:08 PM »
Just wondering if you use an annex floor or not. If you do, is it for the whole annex or just in front of the door to your tent? For myself I think most times a piece about 1.5mx1.5m in front of the door with a mat to wipe your feet on would be ok. The floor I have is about 6mx2.1m heavy duty shade cloth so it takes up a lot of space, which I would like to cut down on.
cheers Keith

Re: Annex Floor/Flooring Do you use it ?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2012, 12:52:14 PM »
I have a C-Gear and it covers the whole of the annex - use it every time the camper goes up, even for an overnighter.

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2012, 01:02:25 PM »
C-Gear, don't leave home without it http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=5490

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2012, 01:11:16 PM »
C-Gear, don't leave home without it http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=5490

i thought yours never left home anyway ;)
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2012, 01:14:34 PM »
Oh that's harsh  :-[

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2012, 01:15:22 PM »
Oh that's harsh  :-[

sorry, couldn't resist :D

at least you've got a car on your drive, which is more than i've got at the minute....
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

Offline sablesoft

• Green Cub Supamatic Escape Off Road
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2012, 01:16:08 PM »

Great when camping on a sandy site, worked very well on Fraser Island

Ray
« Last Edit: August 20, 2012, 10:01:49 AM by sablesoft »
Green Cub Escape Off Road

« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2012, 06:22:58 AM »
We use shade cloth that coves the entire area under the awning.
Bill and Morag
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline flanders

« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2012, 08:42:27 AM »
We use the "rubber type" annex mat that you can get from most caravan parts shops.  It works very well, and easy to set up.  But i reckon I will upgrade to the c-gear mat as the type I currently have allows the dirt to come through, but it is very easy to give it a quick sweep.
Land Rover Disco MY12 HSE 3.0L & Waiting on Expanda 17.56-1

Offline Sixtys Guy

« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2012, 08:58:55 AM »
We use those foam interlocking squares, just in front of the door, where we stand at the kitchen and under the kids table and chairs. 
2009 Dual Cab Hilux
2009 Southern Cross Canvas Bush Mate

« Reply #10 on: August 20, 2012, 09:13:42 AM »
We use a small one for overnighters and big one for more than 1 night  :cheers:

Offline morcon

« Reply #11 on: August 20, 2012, 09:15:44 AM »
We use the rubber matting as mentioned before. Have also used C Gear - I reckon C Gear is best in sandy / dusty sites but prefer the rubber matting on grassy sites.

Offline Campa

« Reply #12 on: August 20, 2012, 09:41:45 AM »
I use a shade sail for our flooring. Has heavy duty reinforced eyelets and is very strong as you would expect from a shade sail to withstand high winds. 3.5m x 3.5m on sale at Bunnings $80.

Offline MarkVS

« Reply #13 on: August 20, 2012, 10:11:55 AM »
We also have 2....both of the rubber matting type...

A smaller one we use for overnight, and then a larger one that covers the whole annexe area for longer stays.
Mark.
2020 Patrol Series 5
2015 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

2013,2015,2017 National Meet
Survivor 2013 McGirr Across the Gulf trip
2014 McGirr Cape trip
2016 Duggie Savannah trip
2018 McGirr Kimberley

For every situation you have 3 choices. Live with it, change it, or leave it. But only pick one

« Reply #14 on: August 20, 2012, 10:12:53 AM »
We have a heavy duty tarp that fits our CT footprint so most of the time we dont bother with flooring. Although our annex has a nice floor but its not worth putting in unless we are staying for a lengthy stay. We also use a couple of old large mats in the annex!

Here are 3 pics with tarp.....nice proper annex floor and one of the rugs!

« Reply #15 on: August 20, 2012, 10:44:16 AM »
CGear is good if you recently won lotto.
I use normal shadecloth.. few $ a mtr.

I use this Oztent stuff under the tent, much cheaper, and works just as well http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=19247.0

I use the foam squares to make a false floor inside the tent, then throw them up on the bed when moving on in 3sq x 1 sq sheets.

It depends on the area your staying. its not always needed.

:)
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 03:06:30 PM by Lost »

« Reply #16 on: August 20, 2012, 05:58:06 PM »
I bought 4 metre length of 3.8 metre, 90% shade cloth today. Going to attempt pegging it out and seeing how it goes.

I figure, i can trim the edges when they get bit average and it should last a while. I like the look of the C Gear, but i didn't fancy a second mortgage to pay for it.

At least we have something now for the annex area. Wil throw a few of them rubber mats around as well.

« Reply #17 on: August 20, 2012, 07:19:20 PM »
Depending on the situation, if its nice and dry I'll use a similar product to C-gear. If its wet and I have the annex up I'll put the foam square mats down with the flooring over the top, seems to stop the water seeping up.

« Reply #18 on: August 20, 2012, 09:10:29 PM »

We mostly do overnighters or two night stays.  So far we've always used the green stuff that nature provides under the awning (it's very cheap) ;D and two bits of timber (laminated stuff) with a rubber mat (lots of holes to let stuff fall through) at the door to the hard floor.  When it's a bit wet, we use Gum Boots under the awning, but still have those bits of timber with rubber mat at the door to the hard floor. 

We've got dogs and they don't wipe their feet often before heading inside.  I tell them to, but like my bloke, they rarely listen.   :police:   ???   ::) :o

Offline Just some guy

« Reply #19 on: August 20, 2012, 10:05:13 PM »
We just use a door mat - no other ground cover at all.  We used to have it but found it time consuming to lay out and pack up, took up valuable space and made a mess when packed up wet.  Now we just leave our thongs at the door when we come inside.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2012, 09:11:35 AM by Just some guy »
Please keep in mind - I'm just some guy.  I don't know nothin about nothin!

« Reply #20 on: August 21, 2012, 08:51:42 AM »
CGear matting for us all the time. We just fold it up and lay it on top of the tent and then put the cover over it

Offline Captain

• My Cruiser & AORC Quantum
    • My online pics
« Reply #21 on: August 21, 2012, 09:13:44 AM »
Looks like I am going against the trend here  ???

While I have both a Cgear and a Camec flooring, I rarely use it. If we are staying put for a while and the ground is dusty or otherwise not ideal, I will get it out. But mostly it stays packed away.

Captain
My GXL TTD 200 Landcruiser and AORC Quantum loaded with Kayaks and bikes (my Camprite now sold )

« Reply #22 on: August 21, 2012, 10:21:39 AM »
Quote from: Captain

While I have both a Cgear and a Camec flooring, I rarely use it. If we are staying put for a while and the ground is dusty or otherwise not ideal, I will get it out. But mostly it stays packed away.
Nope, exactly my thoughts too ... thus why I said work out if you really need one.
As GG says, they take up no room on top of the folded trailer, but its just more shyte to setup, carry, packup etc.

« Reply #23 on: August 21, 2012, 11:48:25 AM »

Captain

Like I said before, we use Natures Green Surface and it's free. 

Take your shoes thongs off at the door and nothing gets inside the camper itself.  Then I mentioned our dogs lack of adherance to the rules.   >:(

Like Lost, we figured that it was something else to setup, clean, pack up and grass is nicer under foot.  If we get a not so grassy surface, then we opt for thongs, shoes, and when wet, gum boots.

Offline Campa

« Reply #24 on: August 21, 2012, 12:43:24 PM »
Like I said before, we use Natures Green Surface and it's free. 

Take your shoes thongs off at the door and nothing gets inside the camper itself.  Then I mentioned our dogs lack of adherance to the rules.   >:(

Like Lost, we figured that it was something else to setup, clean, pack up and grass is nicer under foot.  If we get a not so grassy surface, then we opt for thongs, shoes, and when wet, gum boots.

Yeah Yeah we get it Kit_e........We're all soft for using the ground covers!