I think these cards are directed at those who don't care to work.
... and theres 10s of thousands of them around with the welfare system down to a T... infact most have more idea on the rules than the centerlink staff.
Won't this card also promote further crime though?I mean if junkies can't get cash from centrelink to support their habit they will have to do a break and enter or something for their next fix. Granted most already do that now but they may have to do 2 or 3 times as many homes in the future with the introduction of this card. I reckon there will be a few negatives that will effect society in general whether your a bludger or not if this is implemented. It's ok to say your a tax payer etc but when your house gets robbed while your kids are home asleep by some filthy HIV infected junkie because he can't buy his drugs with a plastic "basics card", I'd have to say that would effect the hard working people too.Anyway I'd hate to be on the dole and run out of milk for breakfast. Stuffed if I'd want to line up in the "povo or bludgers" line and scan a Centrelink card for a mere 2 litre milk lol...
Hi BecbooNo, I wasn't offended, I just had no choice but to take a defensive stance for some of my family and relatives here. RegardsTjupurula
Ummm.....at the risk of sounding ignorant, or being accused of living under a rock, could someone please explain to me what a "Basics Card" is. From all your comments, I'm assuming it is a card issued to those on welfare to allow them to purchase basic living items eg. bread, milk etc. I have never heard of it and please correct me if I am wrong. Cheers Matt
This thread was purely intended at people who bludge off the system which is common in towns or cities. I was in no way having a go at your people Tjupurula as you have indicated. The aboriginals have enough troubles without having white peiple stick their noses in except for those who go to help. You Tjupurula are truly inspirational, to do what you have done. To help those in need and helping the young ones in trades. I wish I met you Thirty years ago. The people or oxygen thiefs are thenones who need the Basic card. Quote "Its our money," unquote. It's your money when you contribute to society not bludge off them.
Hi MattWhat you have said is correct. It allows for the basics in life to be purchased, so that welfare monies are not wasted on gorg, drugs and other unnecessary things.Tjupurula
Yep, that right. The use of them has just been extended into some so called "low socio economic status " areas, parts of Sydney, Shepparton, etc.Initially, via the choice of the user on welfare, not, like in NT, to all users in a specific area.
I can't see this as being anything but a good thing.I watched a woman in Coles one night, her kid wanted some oranges, she said "can't afford them", then went off to the smoke counter and bought a carton......I wanted to slap her.
I had a stand up argument whith a bloke I have known all my life he and his brother have never worked, acrook back,cant read cant do anything except work for furniture removolists on the sly.I told them they were nothing but bludgers and parasites and wernt entiteled to any tax payers dollars, I worked and payed taxes since I was 15 they thought it was a big joke and said I was stupid for doing it.Theres thousands of the free loading mongrels just like them who should at the most be given a basic card and if they abuse it give em stuffall.Have a nice day
Thank you!! That is who I was talking about !!
Please accept my apologies Becboo, I did not intend to have a go at you, I did come across a bit strong for which I am sorry.Tjupurula
Hi Tjupurula. Wouldn't we have some awesome conversations. That is what I have taken from this thread!! Cheers to you and yours mate. I have certainly enjoyed this thread with you. CheersBecboo
Group hug everyone!
This thread has become a bit too touchy, feely, goody for me I'm going back to the electrical section