Author Topic: New to Camping  (Read 3320 times)

Offline Mr Binks

New to Camping
« on: April 28, 2012, 07:36:46 AM »
HI All ,

Just wanted to say hi. My name is James and I am new to this and camping. I did go camping quite a it with my dad while growing up. I would love to get back into it , but do it with a little more style then what we use to. I thought I would join here to get some do's and don'tswhen buying a camper trailer. The wife and I will most likely buy something towards the end of the year once we have done some research. I am on the south side of Brissy and what brands do people reckon is a good starting place. We really have no idea.

Happy camping all
Cheers James

Re: New to Camping
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2012, 07:45:13 AM »
Welcome james, plenty of info here..... Have a look at lifestyle campers, they are on southside, plus I am sure there will be many suggestions...

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2012, 08:07:21 AM »
G'day Mr Binks,

There is plenty of great info here, ask away.
There are heaps of MySwaggers around your area as well.
Good luck with your camper search.

Offline Mehrts

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2012, 08:17:35 AM »
Welcome Mr Binks ,

Lots of Campers out there , have a look at Trackabout on your side of town . We bought one and are very happy with the camper and service.
Mehrts ;D

« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2012, 08:33:28 AM »
Welcome.  Start looking at used campers for sale and you will learn heaps. Our camper is a Modcon that was made at Capalaba. We were very lucky as it was the first one we looked at and the owners had set it up perfectly and keep it in immaculate condition.  We have done over 55,000 k's in it now and still love it. (King size innerspring mattress is a dream feature.) We have started to research off road caravans but we will still be keeping our camper as it is truly off road and we still want to go anywhere.   Kevin

« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2012, 10:48:13 AM »
G'day James and welcome.
You've come to the right place to find out what you want mate.
Happy chatting. :D

Offline Mr Binks

« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2012, 05:47:36 PM »
Thanks heaps guys great ideas and places to start.

Offline offroadfreq

• My First Patrol....... Long time ago.....
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2012, 05:51:20 PM »
Hi mate and welcome  ;D
Camper trailer search really comes down to what your budget is, plenty of info for all types on here.
Enjoy !!

« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2012, 08:43:57 AM »
Hi James and welcome to My Swag

Offline wrucky

« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2012, 08:59:42 AM »
hey james welcome

« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2012, 08:48:34 PM »
Hey James,

Welcome to the fourm.

Good luck with the researching - I find that is half the fun!

Looking forward to hearing what you eventually purchase and the reasons why.

John.

Offline blueblade900

« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2012, 08:43:31 AM »
Hi James,
From where you are I'd check out Castle Campers @ Redland Bay ( although their website is awful ! ). Don't be discouraged by this as I have a Castle soft floor and am very happy with it. Also consider Emu Campers on the Gold Coast. A mate of mine just bought a new off road soft floor from them and is very happy with his choice.
Anyway, good luck with the shopping and keep us updated with your decision.
Welcome to MySwag !
Jarrod.
Greed and fear of loss are the roots that lead to the tree of evil.

« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2012, 05:18:05 PM »

Hi James,

Good to hear you intend camping again.  It's a wonderful thing to do.

Can't believe that no one has mentioned (soft floors) Trackabout at Springwood or Jimboomba campers & (hard floor) Aussie Swag @ Brendale.  So many camper manufacturers in and around BrisVegas. 

Lots of SouthSiders here too.