Poll

OK, so do you have a pair, and if not, why not?

Yep, got 'em, love 'em
Yep, got 'em, not what I expected
No, too expensive
No, would if I could, maybe at a lower price
No, just don't need them at any price

Author Topic: Maxtrax - again. Please give me your opinion  (Read 26721 times)

Re: Maxtrax - again. Please give me your opinion
« Reply #50 on: April 27, 2012, 09:39:25 PM »
For those that have lugs ripped off the plastic orange peels, I was curious if mud tyres plated a part in this? I do not have a set but could always be swayed. I have always likes a set of these though.
the 2 sets of Maxtrax i have seen get damaged, had the lugs melted by 2wd sedan vehicles spinning their wheels on them after the drivers wouldn't listen to the "don't spin your wheels" advice they were given. i myself have not seen any lugs broken off on a set yet, just lugs melted due to wheel spin.

I've always wanted 2 sets to assist with recoveries whilst towing the camper but couldn't afford them at nearly $300 a set >:( >:(

one set of Maxtrax will get a vehicle towing a caravan unbogged, there's not necessarily a need for 2 sets....speaking from experience here. i bogged my fourby coming off the barge from Fraser at Inskip one time whilst towing our caravan, i simply dug some sand out from the tyres (there wasn't alot due to me stopping wheel spin early on), lowered the tyre pressures on the fourby some more, chucked the 2 Maxtrax under the rear wheels of the fourby, tooted the vehicles horn and waved for the nice man who was reversing back to snatch me out to get out of my way....lol, and then simply drove out of where i was bogged (much to the surprise of many onlookers).

Offline LUXUS

« Reply #51 on: April 27, 2012, 09:50:03 PM »
That's why I stick to driving in the High Country, the only thing that will get you there is a wombat with a bad case of crabs

:laugh: :cheers: very funny

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #52 on: April 28, 2012, 08:49:55 AM »
I have two set and the nice carry bag which they all fit into nicely. And all for the sum of $260, brand new ;D
Found a shop down here that was selling them out as they couldnt sell them(they were a batery reseller though) so me and a mate purchased their whole stock and flogged them off to our mates.
Have used them twice, both times in sand and worked perfectly for a QUICK recovery.
I know what I would prefer to have in a situation when the tide was coming in fast, your bogged below the high tide mark and you have the choice of Maxtrax or digging your spare tyre in to winch out................
Yes they are expensive but not as expensive as your 4WD.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

« Reply #53 on: April 28, 2012, 02:17:31 PM »
I bet that sobered you up hey Steve?
LJ

Yea, just a bit.. Here is after we dug out

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #54 on: April 28, 2012, 02:28:30 PM »
Steve, next time you're in sunny Melbourne, let me know, I've got some landscaping you can help with.   ;D
That looks like a mortar crater.  I bet you were a gun with sand castles as a kid.
LJ
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

« Reply #55 on: April 29, 2012, 04:59:23 PM »
Okay, how do you know if the maxtrax are MkI or Mk II? Bought a pair today at Rays for $219. I will tick the box that is not there which is
Yes, but never used them. :D
Wayne

« Reply #56 on: April 29, 2012, 05:03:56 PM »
Steve, next time you're in sunny Melbourne, let me know, I've got some landscaping you can help with.   ;D
That looks like a mortar crater.  I bet you were a gun with sand castles as a kid.
LJ

Funny bastard.... ;D

It's amazing when I look at that pic. I didn't sit there wheel spinning at all as I know the sand up there, it is very 'fluffy', ground up shells so when you fell your going to stop you stop ASAP. We were down to the sills in a moment and the result of that is all that digging, 5psi all round, locker on, low range selected and then out no worries. That's where the MAxTrax would have helped. It gets you going again. Needless to say I don;t drive up there late at night any more

Offline LJs GU

• The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #57 on: April 29, 2012, 05:56:30 PM »
Okay, how do you know if the maxtrax are MkI or Mk II? Bought a pair today at Rays for $219. I will tick the box that is not there which is
Wayne

Wayne,

Mk1:

Mk2:

LJ

« Reply #58 on: April 29, 2012, 06:28:43 PM »
LJ
Thank you muchly, I dragged them inside and compared with your photo and they are the MK II. Thanks once again.
Wayne

« Reply #59 on: April 30, 2012, 06:38:26 AM »
Personally, I think they are a fantastic idea on the beach for some vehicles. I don't own a set and have never needed a set. (In saying that, next time up the beach, guaranteed to get stuck big time.)

We do a lot of beach camping, and see a lot of people stuck. My vehicle is light, has plenty of torque, wide non aggressive tyres (no doubt that comment will cause debate, arguments and tantrums) and has ground clearance. My trailer is light, has wide tyres and also has ground clearance. Most vehicles now do not.

Most vehicles on the beach do not have any of these features. They're usually heavy vehicles, loaded to the hilt, heavy trailer in tow, with 185 R 14 tyres with 60psi in them "cause they looked flat" and a drawbar clearance of around 300mm, on a paved road. In this situation, they're great. A pair under the rear tyres gets the arse up out of the sand, which in turn lifts that sunken draw bar out of the sand, instead of it acting like a giant plough. A winch or strap wont lift the arse of the car like those orange things do.

Heavy vehicle, heavy trailer or low clearance, I reckon they're brilliant.

Shane.

Offline Eagle Outback

« Reply #60 on: April 30, 2012, 07:07:32 PM »
Yep,got em ,Awsome.
Navara Titanium, 2011 Jayco Eagle outback

Offline Crockett

« Reply #61 on: April 30, 2012, 07:37:07 PM »
Bought a pair today at Rays for $219. I will tick the box that is not there which is
Wayne

ME TO  :cheers:

Offline Wortho

« Reply #62 on: April 30, 2012, 08:51:16 PM »
Anyone used gratemates as an alternative to Maxtrax?
They look pretty strong and supposed to be a bit cheaper.
http://www.gratemates.com.au/

Offline Crockett

« Reply #63 on: April 30, 2012, 09:12:33 PM »
Anyone used gratemates as an alternative to Maxtrax?
They look pretty strong and supposed to be a bit cheaper.
http://www.gratemates.com.au/

I saw a set of these at a 4x4 and camping show a few years back, the guy left an 80 series ramped up on them all day, and they did this for 3 days, driving on and off whenever a crowd would gather,so if you want build a bridge then they look the goods. As for sand, there was no demo at that show.

Maxtrax - again. Please give me your opinion
« Reply #64 on: April 30, 2012, 09:57:38 PM »
Thanks everyone. Now, don't all go out and buy them soon, and watch this space.

Offline LJs GU

• The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #65 on: April 30, 2012, 10:16:36 PM »
Oooooooooh Bigfella you've got my interest

?? ?? ?? ??

LJ

« Reply #66 on: April 30, 2012, 10:19:49 PM »

Watching, watching  ;D

Offline markbos

« Reply #67 on: May 01, 2012, 09:23:39 AM »
Watching  >:D

Offline bigred

« Reply #68 on: May 01, 2012, 09:42:19 AM »
keen
120 prado KK Limited Ed

« Reply #69 on: May 01, 2012, 03:37:25 PM »

Just thought I'd mention that they do make good levellers for the CT if required or if you are parked somewhere a little slooshy they help keep things firm.

Offline LJs GU

• The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #70 on: May 01, 2012, 03:43:40 PM »

Just thought I'd mention that they do make good levellers for the CT if required or if you are parked somewhere a little slooshy they help keep things firm.

What a good idea. Saves tring to use those frustrating ramps and chocks...

Offline LUXUS

« Reply #71 on: May 02, 2012, 10:35:23 AM »
I've also used my Maxtrax's under the factory bottle jack, when i staked a tyre in some sand dunes.

I thought it might have broken them or permenatntly bent them, but it work really well and did damage them at all. I don't how I would of changed the tyre with out them.

« Reply #72 on: May 02, 2012, 12:47:51 PM »

Damn. I just bought a set with the Rays Outdoors 26.5% sale. I did pay $193.00 though.

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #73 on: May 02, 2012, 01:05:45 PM »
Watching with interest.

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

Offline LUXUS

« Reply #74 on: May 02, 2012, 01:19:51 PM »
Damn. I just bought a set with the Rays Outdoors 26.5% sale. I did pay $193.00 though.

Thats a bargin