Author Topic: Our new DRIFTA fridge slide combo kitchen/storage box  (Read 19954 times)

Offline NatGav

Our new DRIFTA fridge slide combo kitchen/storage box
« on: April 25, 2012, 10:56:07 AM »
Hey guys, so looking around and found DRIFTA now make a new fridge kitchen slide box. It is very cool and has the same idea as the orginal DRIFTA kitchens but a section for you to store your fridge.
We have a 60litre arb fridge which fits perfectly in the section. It is really exciting and everything I've been looking for.
Luke has been great. Should have it in around 2 weeks. Just need to remove our tail at kitchen which is just tacked oin and slide iujn the DRIFTA.
We are also getting the matching storage box which has two draws which acts as your dry food pantry. Here are some photos

Thought I'd share this with everyone as it looks like a great setup and everyone here always talks so highly of DRIFTA kitchens stuff.
I'll take some photos when we finally get it.

Sent from my Slider SL101 using Tapatalk 2

Re: Our new DRIFTA fridge slide combo kitchen/storage box
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2012, 11:01:22 AM »
Wow that is an impressive kitchen setup

Offline Just some guy

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2012, 11:03:40 AM »
Wow - that looks like a really functional kitchen and easy to set up with everything at hand.  How many $ does it cost?
Please keep in mind - I'm just some guy.  I don't know nothin about nothin!

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 11:08:54 AM »
They do good work at Drifta  :cup:

Offline NatGav

« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 11:14:35 AM »
Looks good yeah?
Really functional which is what we wanted for our 12 month trip around Australia.
The kitchen and box was $2,400 delivered to Melbourne. That is with the black finish. You can get the standard DRIFTA wood finish and that is cheaper.

Offline Ozki

« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2012, 11:27:08 AM »
Luke and his team do a great job. This is the style of kitchen I would love when I do my new trailer

« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2012, 11:53:58 AM »
NatGav,

You have made a great choice in buying the Drifta combo....... you'll love it, and wonder how you ever got along without it...... :cup:

Offline Murray

« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2012, 12:01:49 PM »
"A nice piece of kit"  and good photos as well.
We have Drifta gear and recently added the storage box with the drawers at the end. Best decision ever! (excluding things like marrying my wife).
Well built and helps organise everything.
Enjoy your purchase.

Offline NatGav

« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2012, 12:11:42 PM »
thanks paul, of course marrying your wife is also one of your best decisions..hehehe:))
i'm sure we will love our kitchen..

Offline Fun Police

Our new DRIFTA fridge slide combo kitchen/storage box
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2012, 01:08:36 PM »
I like the silver of the kitchen. My wife didn't. I lost.
You can't spell 'funeral' without 'fun', nor 'manslaughter' without 'laughter'

Offline gurules

• GU 4.2TD AND TRACK TRAILER EAGLE
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2012, 08:19:36 PM »
WOW THATS AWSOM WE HAVE ONE BUT ITS NOT AS FLASH TOP STUFF
Never Ever Give up

« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2012, 08:44:18 PM »
Not only great looking but highly functional. Love it.

Offline NatGav

« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2012, 08:44:50 AM »
Thanks BigJules and gurules.
I also bought some snow peak products from luke which i heard heaps about on myswag.
Can't wait to have a functional kitchen for our 12 month trip and have heaps of storage area which is easy to get to.

I'll take some photos of the removal of our tailgate kitchen (Has anyone ever done this?) as far as i understand its just silicone and a couple of 1 inch stitches. shouldn't be too hard, my partner is a fabricator. and then photos of our new drifta.
any advice for the installation? sounds pretty easy.

Offline NatGav

« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2012, 08:12:39 PM »
Removed the tailgat kitchen today, getting ready for my drifta....now need to sell it. Was really easy to remove...
Easy...
Sent from my HTC Velocity 4G using Tapatalk 2

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2012, 08:49:09 PM »
Thats very very nice guys, :cup:

I am currently working on new kitchen set up as well and I can tell you that I just cried a little when I saw that, after all my time and effort not to mention $$$ spent i trully think that at $2500 and 1 hr to install .I would have gone down this path had I not started. When you start to add up materials and time it starts to show the true cost.

It's a very nice kitchen. I think what has become a newish trend in soft floor campers is to have the fridge in the back of the tub, many years ago it was the norm NOT to have a fridge but nowdays it more common place for camper trailer owners to have fridges so incorperating a fridge into the kitchen set up , shows that Luke and his team are right on the pluse with camping trends. And as has been said thier products are first rate only beaten by the service they offer. ;D ;D ;D

Very jelous JET ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline wartim

« Reply #15 on: April 30, 2012, 09:20:25 PM »
Very Nice,

You must have higher sides on your tub to allow the fridge to sit on top of the slides and still clear the bar at the back of the trailer?

Wartim

« Reply #16 on: April 30, 2012, 09:24:56 PM »
Looks good Guys betcha cant wait to get out there
Are you doing the work Gavs Dads
Brett B

Offline NatGav

« Reply #17 on: April 30, 2012, 09:43:07 PM »
Brett, tel we are up at kinglake...let you know when we head up again. Just trying to do so many different things....

The fridge is the arb 60 litre which is wider then taller....only 430 high with transit bag....fitsprefectly

« Reply #18 on: May 01, 2012, 10:27:07 AM »
Very nice guys - very impressive. Looks a lot like the system that Luke built for the high-end Trackabouts last year. They had the integrated fridge section, and were top-notch (as you'd expect).

I really like the storage box with the drawers in the end. I was going to build one in that exact configuration, but I'm thinking (especially after reading Jet's reply above) that maybe I should invest in a Drifta drawer instead. Might have to get in touch with Luke, find out what they cost.

I'll be watching this closely to see how good it all looks once you get it all installed.

Cheers!

Offline NatGav

« Reply #19 on: May 01, 2012, 11:02:26 AM »
Hey Matto,
Thanks mate, we are really happy with the kitchen and can't wait to get it.
Hopefully we should have it by next week.
TO be honest, luke and his team have been amazing, we had a couple of options we were talking about and he was so honest, helpful and just a great guy.
Give luke a call cause i'm sure he can help you out...they also do lockable draws which also looks like a good idea.

@ Jet, we did discuss making it ourselves, but i agree with you the time and effort + all the $$$ for the materials just wasn't worth it for us...we are heading off on a 12 month adventure around Australia and have so much other S*#t to do so it was so nice to speak to luke and get all our kitchen stuff sorted.

Offline Pirate_Pete

« Reply #20 on: May 01, 2012, 07:55:48 PM »
How does the fridge go when it's shut up inside the camper trailer in the sun all day as you travel, is there enough air to circulate around inside a dust & water tight trailer??

Offline NatGav

« Reply #21 on: June 18, 2012, 10:34:39 PM »
Hey guys, finally had the chance to set up the drifta it was our fault, Luke and his team were amazing getting it to us within 10 days.. We had other problems happen with the car we are taking on our trip.
It is a beautiful thing to be honest.. We are totally impressed.. Fits the ARB fridge perfectly without the transit bag lid. Need to do little bit of work on it just cause we can but we love it and can't wait to give it a proper run.
Excuse the photos as this was in a garage up in Kinglake, to cold to be outside.

Offline schmik

« Reply #22 on: June 19, 2012, 10:03:27 AM »
NatGav, Love it!  Looks great.

Can you tell me where you have the battery for the fridge and how the 'lead' works when sliding the kitchen in and out?

cheers!

mike

Offline wartim

« Reply #23 on: August 18, 2012, 07:00:55 PM »
Gday Natgav,

Have you had a chance to give the new kitchen setup a run yet?

do you have any comments and photos?

Wartim

Offline NatGav

« Reply #24 on: September 07, 2012, 10:15:14 AM »
Sorry for the delay guys. It's been really hectic at the moment. I Was just in hospital for 5 days and we are trying to get the car ready...
Drifta is great here are some photos
First step was 6 pack and a mate

Spray some stuff after putting in the divider

First box

Second box

Arb fridge fits perfectly.. Without the transit lid. Still need to get power sorted out with a longer cable but we are so happy with it..
Check out our blog it will have more info...
Www. Wherethebloodyhellarewe.com
Also old tailgate is still for sale.... Cheers nat