Author Topic: Rubbish Bag/Bin  (Read 17913 times)

Rubbish Bag/Bin
« on: March 26, 2012, 07:58:01 PM »
G'day MySwaggers
What do you guys use to put rubbish into when you're camping.
We use a 20 litre plastic bucket/drum with a plastic bag inside.

Re: Rubbish Bag/Bin
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2012, 08:03:00 PM »
Spare tyre bag-Michell Sacs with garbage bag liner. Works a treat with all rubbish kept outside the vehicle and wildlife can't get it.....

Offline corynmelnkids

« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2012, 08:04:55 PM »
We now use a croc bin as it takes up less storage room when packed up

www.crocbin.com.au/
2003 Toyota Prado Turbo dsl
Cub Supamatic Escape Offroad
Stacer 349 Cartopper with a Suzuki 5hp 4 stroke
All set now for a big trip just need the money
and time off work.

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2012, 08:05:39 PM »
Stolen from Kit e kats idea (which she modified from someone elses ... )

Cheers Chippy :D
« Last Edit: March 26, 2012, 08:10:11 PM by Chippy76 »
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline Campa

« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2012, 08:22:30 PM »
X2 for croc bin

Also use MSA spare tyre bag

I do like the fuel can bins thats a top idea  :cup:

Offline Northy

« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2012, 08:45:59 PM »
Like the idea of the MSA/Black Widow tyre bags but not the price tag for some vinyl.

The handbrake is going to have a bash making one from shadelcoth when she gets her sewing machine back from handbrake senior.  Could be a treat could be disaster - will let you know.
03 GU Patrol with Fruit and 2012 Jayco Eagle OB.

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2012, 08:46:54 PM »
 x 3 croc bin  (not cheap for what they are but they do work good)
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

Offline GregS

• I have a dream...to see all of this great country
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2012, 08:56:29 PM »
3rd time lucky...

http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/RIDGE-RYDER-SPARE-TYRE-STORAGE-BAG.aspx?pid=291163

We have one of these as well (goes onto the spare of the camper...265/75R16 MTZ), picked it up for $20 when supercheap were clearing them out and supposedly not getting anymore, maybe should have got a couple, and we also have a rucksacker that fits the patrol spare, expensive but good quality and has never given us any trouble but then again neither has the supercheap one.

« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2012, 09:27:33 PM »
Stolen from Kit e kats idea (which she modified from someone elses ... )

Cheers Chippy :D

Yep I stole DB's idea and it's a goodie! 

I used plastic jerries though and I'm very happy.  Good to see someone else has taken up the idea Chippy.  You are making me think I should have used the old metal jerries I've had for years.  Would have to clean them out well though before chopping them.  I thought plastic would be okay for us.  They travelled well last camp and also stored our wet and muddy ropes and pegs on the way home.

Being that he has a ute, that's usually littered with tool boxes and dog boxes, we've got nowhere to hang a tyre bag  :'(

Rubbish

Recycling

In Holder
« Last Edit: March 26, 2012, 09:52:03 PM by Kit_e_kat9 »

Offline Stormchaser

« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2012, 09:31:05 PM »
x 3 croc bin  (not cheap for what they are but they do work good)

x 4 for the croc bin well just bought one anyway.

Offline Black-Pig

• Everything is Subject to change...
« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2012, 10:01:29 PM »
Chippy... Is there any need to put a latch to stop them opening if they are say, full of beer bottles??? Make a couple one for bottles etc and one for others...
05 SR5 Hilux  - With Fruit...
2012 Outback Sturt - with some modifications

Offline griz066

Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2012, 10:18:57 PM »
Symon (electrical moderator) had the best garbage storage unit on his set up I have ever seen on last years trip to the cape. ;D
Mabey he can fill you in. >:D
cheers duggie

Offline Fridge Magnet

« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2012, 12:37:18 AM »
We use 2 chook feed bags with a metal eyelet put in the corner, 1 for rubbish, 1 for beercans recycling. We cable tie them to a handy annexe pole.
What would Barnaby do?

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2012, 03:40:17 AM »
We now use a croc bin as it takes up less storage room when packed up

www.crocbin.com.au/

X3 had it for years.

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #16 on: March 27, 2012, 09:33:07 AM »
my bins have spring loaded hinges. They keep it open, and shut. When travelling they are tied down anyway. Might have to make another one for recycling ... Lol
cheers chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 09:14:52 AM by D4D »

« Reply #18 on: May 25, 2012, 09:17:36 AM »
+1 for the Supercheap bad (in D4D speak - he's been taking lessons from speewa). Ours lives on the spare wheel on the camper's tailgate - that way it's right next to the kitchen for cooking scraps. One of the best things we've ever bough. As Teabag says, keeps everything messy out of the car, and away from the critters.

Mine is almost magical - it almost fell off the back of the camper last time we went away - arrived home to find it just hanging on my a thread. Would have been nice if it had dropped off - would have saved me having to empty it at home. The magical rubbish bag - rubbish goes in, and then it simply disappears...

Cheers!

« Reply #19 on: May 25, 2012, 09:18:57 AM »
Looks like they also took the orange stripe off for the photo shoot :)

« Reply #20 on: May 25, 2012, 09:24:12 AM »
Looks like they also took the orange stripe off for the photo shoot :)
And doesn't it look much better for it...  ;D

Cheers!
(Proudly flying the orange banner still)

« Reply #21 on: May 25, 2012, 04:03:09 PM »

I am a basic type of guy and just use heavy duty bags and hang them from a tent pole. I double bag them and then attach them to the draw bar of the Camper when in the bush. The croc bin looks too small for me. :cheers:

« Reply #22 on: May 26, 2012, 07:06:53 AM »
We use a 60L Willow plastic bin.

Maybe I should go and re-read that "Do we take too much stuff camping" thread again?

Shane.

« Reply #23 on: May 26, 2012, 08:52:14 AM »
Yep I stole DB's idea and it's a goodie! 

I used plastic jerries though and I'm very happy.  Good to see someone else has taken up the idea Chippy.  You are making me think I should have used the old metal jerries I've had for years.  Would have to clean them out well though before chopping them.  I thought plastic would be okay for us.  They travelled well last camp and also stored our wet and muddy ropes and pegs on the way home.

Being that he has a ute, that's usually littered with tool boxes and dog boxes, we've got nowhere to hang a tyre bag  :'(

Rubbish

Recycling

In Holder

That's such a neat idea Kitty and DB :cup:

Offline lilstookie

• Traveling Lab Rats
    • http://facebook.com/thewanderingjocks
Rubbish Bag/Bin
« Reply #24 on: May 26, 2012, 10:50:18 AM »
Plastic shopping bag hanging from a pole for rubbish. Recycle is either burned (paper) or put straight into the Supercheap spare tyre bag with the bagged rubbish. I sort stuff out when we get to a bin. I like the idea of the Jerry cans, but they take up space we can use another way.

Lil :)

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?aqgrdd
If the spelling and grammar are good, it's a post from Lil. If not, the mad Scot is on the keyboard ;)

Add us on facebook and keep up to date with our big lap .
www.facebook.com/TheWanderingJocks or follow our blog