Author Topic: Need a favour near Frankston Vic  (Read 3181 times)

Offline Xfigio

Need a favour near Frankston Vic
« on: December 16, 2011, 08:18:33 AM »
Hi Swaggers,

We're in a pickle, and hoping someone can help out.  I need to arrange a couple of techniice eskis.  My dilemma, being based in Tassie, is that when I spoke to them a couple of weeks ago, they couldn't vouch for them arriving prior to our camping departure to the mainland.  I'll be coming through Melbourne on the 31st Dec, but they're closed, so can't pick them up directly.

What I'm hoping for is someone who can pick them up on my behalf on the 29/30th (I'll already have paid over the phone), and I can then pick them up from you on the 31st.

Any help, or other ideas would be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2011, 08:25:43 AM by Xfigio »
Loving life with my family

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
Re: Need a favour near Frankston Vic
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2011, 11:07:16 AM »
Any chance you can get them delivered to me - I don't get over to Frankston very much .

But I'll hold them if they can delivery to Mandrakes..

Going back to basics - sort of ...

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2011, 11:17:29 AM »
Gee I cant see any issue with them being couriered over to you in a week....

Im close to there, but wont be around on 31st.

Maybe Speewa has some time free..

Offline Xfigio

« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2011, 11:20:48 AM »
Thanks for the offer Mandrake,
I already tried that route, but again, they said post has been very slow, and it may take several weeks for a Melbourne delivery.  He said they take up to a week to process the order before it's sent out.  It's just not worth the risk, and is safer to make the trek out there and make sure I'm not going to miss it. 
It's my own fault for leaving it this late.  We were checking all the gear, when we suddenly remembered we no longer have an esky, as it was stolen at the last place we camped, last seen floating out to sea in the Nambucca river :'(.  Last laugh was ours though, as there was no alcohol in it, just lots of health fruit and veg.

Any chance you can get them delivered to me - I don't get over to Frankston very much .

But I'll hold them if they can delivery to Mandrakes..

Offline biggles1024

« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2011, 06:29:02 PM »
Would a pickup from Cranbourne, most days, or Lysterfield on selected days be of any use to you?

I've been thinking of buying one of their eskys to replace my old one (received circa Xmas '78). I was going to wait until the New Year but there's no reason why I couldn't buy mine this year and could possibly collect yours while I'm down there and hold them for you until you come across to the big island. :D

Let me know.

b

Offline graham

• I used to cruise, now i just PATROL
  • nrnr62
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2011, 09:31:29 AM »
G,day matey im going into frankston tomorrow(mon). i can pick them up for you and leave them in the carport ( behind the gates) you can then pick them up anytime cheers Graham  0419 575 175
nrnr62

Offline heath74

« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2011, 09:39:51 AM »
Looks like you have it sorted, but if it falls through send a PM, I can help you out too. I'm not far from Frankton, and am around on the 31st.

« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2011, 05:45:36 PM »
Ditto.
Am not far from Frankston and could pick them up this Tuesday 20th.
PM if required mate.
Ron
« Last Edit: December 18, 2011, 08:36:44 PM by Kangaron »

Offline ozbogwam

Need a favour near Frankston Vic
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2011, 07:07:30 PM »
On a side note they are having a sale on swags there, 50% off. Saw the sign in their front yard this morning

Offline Xfigio

« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2011, 08:35:24 AM »
Thanks a lot everyone, the response has been overwhelming.  What a great community.  I think I've got it sorted, but if it doesn't work out, I'll contact those who indicated they may be able to help out.

« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2011, 06:49:42 PM »
lm off to the classified to watch for a pre owned esky going cheap  :cheers:

Offline GLC

• Give Life Center
« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2011, 10:23:47 PM »
got to pick up a bike on the peninsular Saturday if all else falls through:)  missed this thread, always looking to help another Tassie:)
First aid training and supplies.
First aid is NOT a bandaid solution.