Author Topic: mouse plague 2011  (Read 12128 times)

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
Re: mouse plague 2011
« Reply #25 on: May 09, 2011, 02:08:31 PM »
Parry, IGA at Lake Cargelligo NSW. I think they were home brand or something.

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
« Reply #26 on: May 09, 2011, 04:36:09 PM »
We were staying at Waratah Bay last year having a few days out of the tent  and into a cabin to clean up a bit. My wife said she could hear something during the night, i said its just possums. In the morning i noticed the pikelet bag stewn on the floor and no other signes of the pikelets, i then noticed a hole in the fly wire screen where the rats had eaten their way in and devoured my missus breakfast haha she was pretty peeved off with em. They also ate her chewys and some tea bags were cracked open.

I have the plastic rat trap here at home that i got from safeway, rats and mice love peanut butter so a bit on the trap and wait for the crack, probably the quickest and humane way of dealing with them.

« Reply #27 on: May 09, 2011, 05:04:22 PM »
Missus saw a mouse in the garage this arvo, off to Bunnings for the traps, now the wait begins...

« Reply #28 on: May 09, 2011, 05:36:46 PM »
Peanut butter on traps works a treat!
But I ran out the day... so I used a little dribble of strawberry jam... also worked like a charm! I guess there is so little food and so many mice out there, they are willing to give anything a go.

« Reply #29 on: May 09, 2011, 05:39:29 PM »
Peanut butter or bacon rind

Offline Fivid

« Reply #30 on: May 09, 2011, 07:03:55 PM »
Rat shot in the .22?  Not suited to all occasions but could help in some!

Sounds like we got home in time, we saw a couple of little mousy looking things at Coward Springs but I think they were native types.  They were the only mice we saw in the whole of our travels.

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

« Reply #31 on: May 09, 2011, 07:24:47 PM »

I like the humane types of control ... ye ole trap or peppermint oil. 

Alas, when one uses things like RATSACK, you tend to kill what ever eats them afterwards, like our fabulous birds of prey and dingos.

Offline cootha

« Reply #32 on: May 09, 2011, 07:28:13 PM »
csiro facts about mouse plagues:

http://www.cse.csiro.au/news/documents/Mouse_Plagues.pdf

says in there numbers usually crash mid to late winter, fingers crossed!

« Reply #33 on: May 09, 2011, 07:28:13 PM »
Rat shot in a .22.... ah the memories  :angel: many hours were spent as kids years ago with a torch & a .177 air rifle spot lighting mice /rats in the chook pen & the shed.The .410 made short work of rats  >:D For the more adventurous , try a 7 iron. :cheers:

« Reply #34 on: May 09, 2011, 08:13:19 PM »
I had a massive problem with them recently in the workshop. They kept on setting off the alarm everynight.
A trip to Bunnings and grabbed some Talon Blocks, that took care of them  ;D

« Reply #35 on: May 09, 2011, 08:25:48 PM »
I've got some rats in the back yard that use the Talon Blocks to clean their teeth  >:D  Can't believe the beggars are still around.

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #36 on: May 09, 2011, 08:56:35 PM »
Or maybe we could use and inverter and one of those plug in pest free gizmos... ;D
You can get battery operated gizmo's, relatives of ours use one in the motorhome when in storage it seems to work as they had a mice problem but not any more.
2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
« Reply #37 on: May 09, 2011, 09:58:40 PM »
I had a massive problem with them recently in the workshop. They kept on setting off the alarm everynight.
A trip to Bunnings and grabbed some Talon Blocks, that took care of them  ;D

Last time i tried that stunt one was caught behind the big cupboard in the shed and talk about stink it up for a month or so. At the moment i have a resident brushtail he just pees and craps everywhere and sleeps all day.

Offline Mav

• Centralian Images Profile
« Reply #38 on: May 10, 2011, 09:33:34 PM »
Well they are in seriously plague proportions here in the Red Centre. They made swiss cheese out of our tent weekend before last. Unbelievable amounts of mice as soon as the sun set.

I just drove down to Adelaide and back and there was no way I could avoid running over them on the road there was that many of them.

Offline camdyson

« Reply #39 on: September 21, 2011, 11:30:13 PM »
Any update on the mice in northern SA and the centre? We're heading out there soon and I'm a bit worried about the canvas....

Cam
Set your chickens free

« Reply #40 on: September 22, 2011, 11:05:34 AM »
  friends are back from the centre about a month ago and had problems with mice getting into food etc, They even chewed through the windscreen washer tubes to get at the water in there.
Sturdy plastic food boxes seems to be an effective barrier for them.
Their tent was only for sleeping, no food in there to attract mice.

« Reply #41 on: September 22, 2011, 12:56:47 PM »
Akaroola the mice were few and far between, at Merty Merty they came alive at night but didn't cause any damage.

« Reply #42 on: September 22, 2011, 02:27:56 PM »
On our trip in SA we had mice in William Creek till Marree.

Offline FZJ

« Reply #43 on: September 22, 2011, 05:34:31 PM »
the old man used Ketchall mousetraps in his aviary's when he was breeding birds.Used em for years and caught loads of mice.You just wind it up and when they go into the hole it flips them into a box,will catch 20 at a time.
http://www.thepestdepot.com/kemucamotr.html
P
I dont mind going to work, its the 8 hours  i have to wait to go home again that annoys me.

Camel bushman....

Offline camdyson

« Reply #44 on: September 22, 2011, 09:46:33 PM »
Thanks for updates. Have plenty of tips on how to foil the little suckers so we'll see. SWMBO isn't big on roughing it OR mice, so I'm really looking forward to her first night time visit to nature's mouse-riddled ladies' room..... ;D
Set your chickens free

Offline Malcur

« Reply #45 on: September 23, 2011, 08:48:06 PM »
We have just done the )Oodnadatta Track (2 weeks ago) up to Mt Dare and Alice Spriom gs. We saw a few miced (6t-10) at Coward Springs at nightg,  one at William Xreek (other than a few that had been sqauached prevc iosuly) 1

Offline camdyson

« Reply #46 on: September 23, 2011, 10:55:30 PM »
That's sounding more bearable - thanks.

Cam
Set your chickens free