Author Topic: Newbees Gathering  (Read 51360 times)

Re: Newbees Gathering
« Reply #175 on: February 17, 2011, 07:50:27 AM »
Were not going to make it ether  :'( hopefully everyone has a great time and a safe trip .

Offline Fivid

« Reply #176 on: February 17, 2011, 08:40:00 PM »
WE are all organised, hook the CT up tomorrow am and we will leave Albury as soon as I can get away from work late arvo.  Have to stop and find some wood or maybe go for  drive on Sat to find some outside the historic area.
http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

« Reply #177 on: February 17, 2011, 09:55:44 PM »
Will be pulling the house into camp middle of the day Friday, to run a temp check on Speewa's Engels!  :police:  :cheers:
Then bobtailed back to the smoke to move daughter back in to Uni - before back for the Sat night festivities.

Look forward to meeting you all!  :cheers:

« Reply #178 on: February 17, 2011, 10:18:33 PM »
Top stuff Lads :cheers: :cheers:

Will be leaving Melb around 12 noon tomorrow so should be there mid arvo. An hour or so to setup just in time to fire up the BBQ and beers. Look forward to meeting some fellow swaggers and talk ****e  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Offline wiseone

« Reply #179 on: February 17, 2011, 11:35:30 PM »
Sorry folks it's all turned pear shaped for us as the wife has hurt her back and we won't be able to make it :'(

Enjoy the weekend!

Offline jtraf

« Reply #180 on: February 18, 2011, 12:39:20 PM »
Slight change of plans for my group as the little one woke up this morning early being sick...........Due to this I won't make it up there tonight but will be up there tomorrow with a least two of the boys.....wife and little one may have to stay behind  >:(

James
« Last Edit: February 18, 2011, 02:04:56 PM by jtraf »
James - 1994 Patrol GQ TD42T Auto dragging around our 2007 Trackabout Safari Camper

« Reply #181 on: February 20, 2011, 05:17:21 PM »
ATTENTION SPEEWA

I heard from Mandrake it was wet on Friday night!

« Reply #182 on: February 20, 2011, 05:41:43 PM »
I heard from GU Rich that heard from Mandrake that it was wet on friday!
dno

Offline BT50_Cam

« Reply #183 on: February 20, 2011, 05:47:59 PM »
Big thanks to all the Swaggers that attended this event and made it such an enjoyable weekend.  :cheers:
Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. Can't wait for the next one. May even have to organise one myself.  ;D
I have created this new account and SWMBO is going to be using the Miniac account.
Gu-rich: Boy did it rain on Friday. We sat out in it for quite a while, though at a out 11:30 it started pelting down, so it was exit stage el pronto.
Weather was fine for Sat and Sun.
Loading photos to photobucket so should be up soon.

Cam
« Last Edit: February 20, 2011, 06:23:50 PM by BT50_Cam »

« Reply #184 on: February 20, 2011, 07:56:52 PM »
Hey Cam
Whats the link to pics on photo bucket for the Newbees Gathering

Offline Fivid

« Reply #185 on: February 20, 2011, 08:34:34 PM »
Yes it was wet Friday night.  You can sit in the rain to a certain stage but as BT50_Cam said, about 11:30 it all got too much.  It bucketed down at about 5am Sat morning and some lucky campers woke to find that they had the bonus of a lake view from all sides of their CT...  We even took pity on the pups and took them into the CT as it was just so wet they ended up with their bed in puddles of water.

Here are a few pics from the weekend

Saturday night

Group photos from Sunday morning

Did anyone notice the guy in the striped shirt who thought he wasn't getting enough attention in the group photos?  We also tried to take photos of each group / family with their camper...  The striped T shirt guy pops up in all of them.  Its a bit like "Where's Wally?" but you don't have to look for him, he just stands out in each one!
« Last Edit: February 20, 2011, 08:48:05 PM by Fivid »

Offline Fivid

« Reply #186 on: February 20, 2011, 08:46:09 PM »
Here are some pics of the attendees...  Fearless leader Speewa has the notes to go with the pics so after he breaks camp tomorrow I am sure he will share all his info and pics also.  Has the forum been quiet the last few days?

Looks like with all my pics I may have missed a couple of camp setups so apologies to those guys, I am sure Speewa has any I missed. 

Thanks to all that came along.  We didn't know anyone else attending prior to the weekend so it was great to meet everyone and share some stories and have a few  :cheers:  :cheers:  :cheers:.  Hopefully you all had a safe journey home and we can catch you all again at future camping events.

Offline BT50_Cam

« Reply #187 on: February 20, 2011, 08:47:08 PM »
Here's some of the pics i took on the weekend. I thought there was more, but really just spent to much time talking/drinking and not enough time taking photos.
Oh well, maybe next time.

Camp BT50_cam/Miniac (SWMBO)

And more Camp BT50_cam/Miniac

The Swamp/Lake/Pond thing (where the Mozzies lived) near our campsite. No confirmed bunyip sightings.

Maisy

Maclary with his poor little eye bite. Went away quickly thankfully

BT50_cam/Miniac and Jtraf

Camp Black Diamond

Camp RalphEward

Jack and Wife (Sorry i am bad with names  >:D) & Barry

Camp Fivid ???

???? (Stupid Brain)

Camp Speewa (As seen in CamperTrailer Australia Issue 37  ;D)

Getting ready for the Infamous "Group Photo"

Campfire fun

And more

Puppies

More social networking

Hope I got all the names and pics together correctly, if not let me know and I'll fix them up.
Looking forward to others pics

« Reply #188 on: February 20, 2011, 09:01:03 PM »
Looks like a good turnout! Any more planned?

« Reply #189 on: February 20, 2011, 09:03:45 PM »
Looks like a great turnout, pity we couldn't make the trip today.

Offline Fivid

« Reply #190 on: February 20, 2011, 09:10:38 PM »
For anyone interested keep an eye on the forum, I am planning a gathering somewhere close by Albury in probably 3 or 4 months time, possibly the June long weekend.  Was thinking it could be somewhere nearby a couple of the high country tracks and incorporate a 4WD day trip for those so inclined...

« Reply #191 on: February 20, 2011, 09:24:23 PM »
Hi guys great to see the photos up so soon  :cup:
Jack and I both had a great time  :cheers:
looking forward to the next trip will keep an eager eye for more details  :cheers:

« Reply #192 on: February 20, 2011, 09:30:47 PM »
Look's like a great time was had by all. good to see you got some better weather too,

Offline outback jack

« Reply #193 on: February 21, 2011, 04:51:01 PM »
me and the missus had a great time

looking forward to the next one  :cheers:

jack

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #194 on: February 21, 2011, 05:24:08 PM »
I'm sure I was there on Friday  ;D - Where's the photo of me brolly ?

Going back to basics - sort of ...

Offline Fivid

« Reply #195 on: February 21, 2011, 06:15:36 PM »
I'm sure I was there on Friday  ;D - Where's the photo of me brolly ?

I reckon when the fearless trip organiser gets online there will be pics...  How did you go at Wandin?

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #196 on: February 21, 2011, 06:29:53 PM »
Ever tried selling Solar Power stuff in the middle of a rain storm ??

Bit like Eskimos and Icy Poles .... Coal and Newcastle .... :cup:

Just and only just covered costs - but if the promises come good ... ;D ;D ;D

Going back to basics - sort of ...

« Reply #197 on: February 21, 2011, 07:34:53 PM »
What a weekend 30 or so strangers rolled up  to meet there new friends . we arrived early set to feel the serenity . As Swaggers rolled up we filled the area , faces were put to names . We sat , we yarned  we had a few  :cheers:  The weather did eventully break up out our little gathering on Friday night but it was so much fun . Sat started early as the tide seemed to have come in for some . The rest of the weekend went really well . We swoped stories , ideas & recipies. The Upside Down Pinapple cake from Out Back Jack , Jtrafs Apple Crumbel & SWMBOs Sticky Date Pudding with brandy sauce custared & cream . Trip report  & pics to follow . To those that went able to be there , you should have been there . Thanks for having so much fun & enjoying yourself so much &  :cheers: to all  . Till next trip  :cheers:

Offline outback jack

« Reply #198 on: February 21, 2011, 08:07:26 PM »
good onya speewa

you started the ball rolling mate  :cup:

may there be many more  :cheers:

jack

« Reply #199 on: February 21, 2011, 08:12:12 PM »
Thanks for organising the trip Jamie, was disappointed I wasn't there earlier on Saturday - but not that I wasn't there to open the camper on Fri night!  The last time I camped there was 30+ years ago.  Great to be back there with new friends.  :cheers: