Author Topic: Change of Plans  (Read 5338 times)

UIZ733

Change of Plans
« on: May 14, 2017, 11:51:13 AM »
We have decided to try something different. The TuffTrax has been sold. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the setup, in fact we loved it. It ticked most boxes, was reasonable value for money and it exceeded our expectations.
The reality though was that towing it into some locations that are of interest was not viable without a serious upgrade to our towing setup. Spending a lot of money just for a towing vehicle did not sit well our priorities. Even with this upgrade, towing just becomes a ‘bit easier’ in my opinion. I have seen so many setups groaning under the weight of the modern hybrid. Extricating one vehicle from a ‘bog’ is about as much as I’m interested in. I would not tow any hybrid on any of the Islands also. Too stressful for me. Yes I know ‘A Girl’. I had already spectacularly destroyed one transmission (through absolutely no fault of my own) due to towing and don’t want to go there again.
We had done a lot of research (thinking of requirements for friends) of slide-ons and initially were poorly disposed to the idea. A genuine off-road camper van or expedition vehicle ticked many of the boxes, however the cost penalty is very high. Not something we would get value for at this time. We are by nature ‘compact’ campers and if we can do it with sensible comforts we are happy. Only time will tell if it is a wise move. It’s time to try rather than ‘wonder if’ as far as we are concerned.
A list of requirements was drawn up and some were;
1.   It had to be light enough to be legal (A GVM upgrade was acceptable) on an ‘extra-cab’.
2.   Bed and seating had to be permanently setup.
3.   Inside fridge and cooking.
4.   Be well built.
5.   Fixed cassette toilet (shower combo preferable)
6.   Be suitable for Australian weather conditions.
7.   Be relatively simple to unload and load if and when required.
8.   Have adequate 12v power with provision for solar.
9.   Water storage up to 100L.
One setup stood out. Active Campers in Woolgoolga. We had met many Active campers folk on our travels, with the older Optima Model, and all were very ‘happy campers’. We visited the factory about six months ago and spent some time there. They were very accomodating, hid nothing and were forthright with answers (to some difficult questions).
An additional visit recently confirmed the first experience and it was pleasing once again to have questions answered by the boss (Lars) in a manner that indicated knowledge and understanding of his product and slide-on campers in general. No salesman waffle.
Signed up for a new Vantage with extras to be finalised closer to delivery. Delivery is April/May2018 yes almost a year.  Vehicle will be an ‘extra cab’ Ranger, BT50 or Colarado with GVM upgrade. An important criterion will be who offers the best value for money as they are all capable of doing the job. No brand loyalty here I’m afraid.
Ps. I would love to build one, however the time commitment is too much right now.

Re: Change of Plans
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2017, 02:47:40 PM »
Congratulations on placing your order!    That sounds like an insane wait, (12 months); but hopefully it will have seemed worth it......

Something I didn't notice in your post was what you were planning to use the slide on for??  ....   "your camping style"??

Eg:  will you be doing a lot of touring where you will be driving most of each day; and then setting up simple camps in a different location every evening?    (Like say a trip to the cape etc....).   

I am thinking perhaps not -- because you mentioned "you would rule out taking a hybrid to the islands"...   meaning that you would like to go onto an island with something else?  a Slide on?...   

Will you be wanting to camp normally; were you have a base camp set up; and then take your truck out to POI on day trips?.

Well I had a Travelander Slide on; which I did take to the dunes of Fraser Island etc; but had to get rid of it -- as it was a mistake purchase for me ....

The problems with slide ons; apart from their tonnage and gross weight restrictions, (even after having spent a gazillion on vehicle upgrades - which I also did); was this following central and crucial issue...

(1)  Ease or lack there of; of getting the thing off, and BACK ON the ute tray....

re: Your point 7 above. ...   did you undertake on at least 6 seperate occasions in different off road terrains, (beach dunes; uneven grassy/stoney fields in NPs; etc; etc);   the task of taking the thing off and particularly the challange of maneuvering it back under the tray; (maybe on your own) - with no wifey or sales staff involvement?   

If the answer is "no"  .... then I strongly recommend you do this exact thing....

Otherwise you may find that your experience camping on the islands with it; or anywhere else;  is staying put in the camp for the eg: 5 days you are on an island etc;  ...because your rig is effectively stuck in camp (with) your accommodation choice....    (This was my experience anyway)....   Even a drive to the local pub; or iga; or rubbish bin in some nearby town could not be done....

(2)
As mentioned - the weight??   Now I don't know about your expensive GVM upgrade -- but looking at a (single cab ute's payload);  ... it's a ton,  right?....  so:

Driver & Passanger = 160kg?
Fuel = 60kg?
Bullbar & recovery gear; spare parts = 120kg?
Food; clothes & camping gear, chairs etc = 120kg
Beer etc = 30kg?   :)
Water = 100kg
Gas bottles & Battery(s) = 60kg
"and much much more"
= 650kgs....

= in this example the slide on can only weigh about 350kgs to be legal and safe....   But even at that weight in this example - you are on the brink....   Everything is groaning and is under strain....   a slide on weight of 250kg to 300kg would be much better....

So what is yours weighing in at?  (dry weight??)   ....

(Hope the above is of help).....

BaseCamp

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2017, 03:34:29 PM »
I'm a bit confused with this as in your opening statements you mention that spending money on a towing vehicle did not sit well with your priorities. Yet at the end of the post you finish with the need for a new load carrying vehicle with a GVM upgrade.

A mate had a similar yet older camper on a Nissan patrol tray back for reasons that he could tow a boat. We travelled a bit with them and the road handling ability of vehicle was terrible to the point that they now have a six wheeler axle under an extended dmax in an attempt to correct things.

Like Basecamp suggested watching them load and unload was a turn off for me.Happy to keep towing.
I sure it will suit your needs and hope you enjoy.

UIZ733

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2017, 04:45:30 PM »
It's intended as a touring setup which is what we mostly do. We have a couple of places only that I would envisage dismounting the thing and I would be willing to go the effort if decided. Taking the ferry to Tassie would be a better proposition also.
I know many or perhaps most wont agree, but my belief is that to use a hybrid well for the purpose intended, it needs to be towed by Toyota Landcruiser or Landrover Discovery. Jeep Grand Cherokee also. Even those probably need 'suspension upgrades' to perform the task. When I mentioned an expensive towing vehicle upgrade, vehicles of that nature is what I was referring to.
I guess that life would be boring if we all did the same and agreed all of the time.
On the chosen product, I agree the wait is insane. There may be good reasons for this.

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2017, 06:52:45 PM »
Congrats mate, they look a very well designed unit. :cup:

UIZ733

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2017, 07:15:49 PM »
Congrats mate, they look a very well designed unit. :cup:

Might need air-con for the Tropics though! ;D

« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2017, 08:59:23 PM »
I have always liked the idea of a tray back camper and while there are a couple that we have really liked the set out of, there isn't one that has stood out as the camper for us.  While I have taken the features we like of the different campers and have a layout in my mind for what would be the unit for us. 

Of course like any camper, soft floor, hard floor, hybrid or slide on, there is always going to be pros and cons for them and we learn to make do the best we can.  I do like the idea of the no tow when needed. 

I remember ages ago now meeting a couple that parked next to us at the beach in a Landcruiser  tray back with a Trayon Camper on the back.  Talking to them they tow a caravan for a max of 2 hours pull up stumps and explore the area, leaving the van in the park and if need be camp in the Trayon as they like.  Best of both worlds.  One we would like to pursue further. 

« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2017, 09:47:28 PM »
   We don't even take the legs with us. They weigh 10kg each.
At home it is about 15 minutes to load/unload, I have chains embedded in concrete for stability. It is wobbly without them.

Our 130 Defender is rated to carry 1.5 tonnes and unladen is 1.5 tonne  so with tray, bullbar/winch etc, at 600kg  it weighs 2.3 tonne on the scales at the local tip. We are well under the maximum load, but are cautious anywhere soft surfaces like bogs or beach sand below the highest tides.  We have sunk in where vehicles towing caravans have rolled over with ease by spreading the load over another axel or two.

We like the ability to poke around on back roads and tracks without the worry of reversing a trailer or van.

Also, any where flat, quiet, and safe can be used for an overnighter.

Enjoy it when it arrives.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: May 15, 2017, 11:52:27 AM by austastar »

« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2017, 10:45:34 PM »

UIZ733

« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2017, 11:25:39 PM »
Have a watch of these guys https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qkv3348fdYw and Sandy Cape Fraser https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QbDf6IGC8gw
Looks like a horrible tough life. I guess somebody has to do it though! ;D

« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2017, 09:37:39 AM »
Loved those vids....   gives a realistic idea of what traveling through the top end of FI is like. .

BaseCamp

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2017, 06:46:59 PM »
UIZ733, after reading your post and seeing you choice is the Active Camper, and being local slipped up to Woopi today and had a look at their campers.  Boy have they changed a bit from last time we looked at them.  The larger Vantage is definitely the better choice.  Even the Bride was impressed.  Basic but has everything you need and nothing you don't.  North south bed already made up, tidy kitchen with ample storage area.  The door/screen for toilet/shower can be a bit fiddly or tight but when open has large enough area.  Proper steps, not just rungs on a ladder. 

UIZ733

« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2017, 09:34:44 PM »
UIZ733, after reading your post and seeing you choice is the Active Camper, and being local slipped up to Woopi today and had a look at their campers.  Boy have they changed a bit from last time we looked at them.  The larger Vantage is definitely the better choice.  Even the Bride was impressed.  Basic but has everything you need and nothing you don't.  North south bed already made up, tidy kitchen with ample storage area.  The door/screen for toilet/shower can be a bit fiddly or tight but when open has large enough area.  Proper steps, not just rungs on a ladder.
Your delivery date will be late May/June 2018 then?  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2017, 10:58:55 AM »
LOL nah, there good but not that good, at least for us.  While it ticks a lot of boxes, still can not find the penultimate one that ticks all the boxes for us.  Pretty sure it does not exist. ???

« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2017, 11:30:40 AM »
Quote from: alnjan
still can not find the penultimate one that ticks all the boxes for us.  Pretty sure it does not exist. ???

I think some people waste years looking for the non existent perfect car/camper/item etc when they could have been enjoying the 90% perfect one for all that time.

« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2017, 12:06:08 PM »
I agree, use what you have and enjoy it