Author Topic: Feedback on Broadwater Fraser FF or Modcon FF1 camper trailer please  (Read 8707 times)

Offline stiffbreeze

Hey swaggers,

Sussing some options for a forward fold camper trailer to purchase sometime in the near future and nailed down to a couple - specifically modcon and broadwater campers. Whilst there are many more out there, most are above our budget of 15-20K or don't suit us in some way or another, ie lack of storage, lack of flexibility or overall package doesn't stand up to others. I know the modcon is above our budget so a 2nd hand one would work.

I was going to go to the vic camping show to check out both brands but exhibitors list says neither are showing so here's my question to those who own either of these to possibly give some feedback please?

Which do you own and why did you?
Did you get specific addons at the time of build....or wish you had after the fact?
How do you find the floor space and storage?

Lastly, is there a swagger in vic who own a broadwater fraser ff camper that we could possibly look at?

Offline Fathom

Re: Feedback on Broadwater Fraser FF or Modcon FF1 camper trailer please
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2016, 06:17:42 AM »
I have a Broadwater F/F.
Very happy with it.
It's done everything I have asked of it.
There are a few others on here too. Try a search in the my camper section.
There's also a F/F facewastebook page where owners are happy to give feedback on their models that might interest you.
Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...
The following users thanked this post: stiffbreeze, Robdog65

Offline stiffbreeze

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2016, 09:18:44 AM »
Hey Fathom,

Thanks for that, I've read your thread on your camper and got some ideas from it.

I did do a search but only found a couple Broadwater Fraser FF references. There was a few Supreme FF models so perhaps an earlier model?
So far looks positive.

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2016, 09:52:31 AM »
Hi Stiffbreeze, I have an Ecomate which was Modcon campers first roll out of imported trailers ( they are now Modcon International).

I cant fault it at the moment, I have done many trips so far and last year completed the old telegraph track on my way to the cape with nothing bad to report..

good Luck with your search..

Offline wedwards

« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2016, 12:28:34 PM »
We are a family of 5, kids 11, 9, and 3. Picking up our modcon FF1 sometime in the next few weeks as soon as I can get back to Albury.  Made some mods to lounge so spare bed would hold all 3 kids until they are older as we wanted to sleep us all in the camper for overnight stays. Added 240volt package so I can run heater and stuff if staying at caravan park. Also added D035 hitch and Ark xo jockey wheel. I didnt want to have to do this stuff later as I don't have much time at moment. For a family of 5 we felt the space and storage was the best we could get in that price range, however we didn't look at the other one you're looking at. Haven't picked it up yet, so take what I say in that context, but it was the clear winner in our mind for our requirements.

The following users thanked this post: stiffbreeze

Offline Fathom

« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2016, 01:03:17 PM »

Hey Fathom,

Thanks for that, I've read your thread on your camper and got some ideas from it.

I did do a search but only found a couple Broadwater Fraser FF references. There was a few Supreme FF models so perhaps an earlier model?
So far looks positive.

Hi Stiffbreeze

The changes in the two models are negligible. Minor upgrades..
Some wiring repositioning  and position of the internal switches. Etc
I should have been more specific sorry..
Most of your questions regarding storage etc will be answered in a few of the F/F threads regardless of brand.  And on that facewastebook page.
We're only a party of two so we don't struggle with space at all.
If i still had kids at home etc. Depending on their age would look at separate tents or even the new bigger F/F's with the extra bed at the other end?
I think Evolution on this forum sells them?
But not sure of your circumstances.

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2016, 01:32:37 PM »
Hi Stiffbreeze

The changes in the two models are negligible. Minor upgrades..
Some wiring repositioning  and position of the internal switches. Etc
I should have been more specific sorry..
Most of your questions regarding storage etc will be answered in a few of the F/F threads regardless of brand.  And on that facewastebook page.
We're only a party of two so we don't struggle with space at all.
If i still had kids at home etc. Depending on their age would look at separate tents or even the new bigger F/F's with the extra bed at the other end?
I think Evolution on this forum sells them?
But not sure of your circumstances.

As stated above, If I can help in anyway please don't hesitate to contact me.
I own Regional Campers in Albury/Wodonga, we are a Modcon Dealer and usually have one of each model in stock for viewing and demonstrations.

Nick
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline stiffbreeze

« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2016, 01:45:06 PM »
Hey Nick,
I pm'd you yesterday from memory...can't locate sent items in my messages unfortunately so if you could please have a look at that, that'd be great!

Thanks Fathom. Yeah I'm a non-facebooker so can't access that stuff but thanks all the same. Might get hubby to suss it.
Now that we have a newborn, simplicity to set up and storage is priority for us to continue camping. Currently it's just too much of a pain with our current soft floor to do short trips.

Looking at either modcon or broadwater, i think both will be fine with kids until they want to go into a tent down the track.

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2016, 01:46:48 PM »
Hey Nick,
I pm'd you yesterday from memory...can't locate sent items in my messages unfortunately so if you could please have a look at that, that'd be great!

Hmm, no pm as yet, I'll send you one now.

Nick
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline Fathom

« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2016, 05:39:06 PM »
I reckon you can't go wrong with either of your two listed choices.
Helpful hint... If you already have a fridge... Get the slide/ box measurements from each brand and make sure your fridge fits.. Or there's another $1k ish on top of purchase.
I know someone who made that mistake. 

Offline Cyclone71

« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2016, 06:42:09 PM »
Hi Stiffbreeze
We have a FF1 Modcon and really enjoy it, almost went for the Quattro but liked the extra storage of the FF1 although a bit heavier, we got ours basically standard except for the Hot water system which was easier to have brackets etc made by Manufacturer and added Hyland Hitch hope we dont have any problems as they have closed down now. We are adding an extra cushion to the bed area to make it bigger for 2 Kids and a Mattress topper to the main bed a few other mods already done and no doubt more to come (thread to our camper below) good luck in your search I am sure you will enjoy which ever one you buy and remember plenty of pictures

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44681.msg800164#msg800164

Cheers Cyclone71

Offline stiffbreeze

« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2016, 08:23:35 PM »
Always pictures cyclone71!

Thanks for the linkie too btw. Seems that the forward fold seems to be a good choice with kids and short trips.
We love our current soft floor but the time it takes to set up and move everything in/out of the camper takes time and makes a weekend 1 night trip not that appealing. Longer trips in the one place yes but we don't get that luxury nowadays.

Reading your thread, you updated the wiring etc? Is it standard for camper trailers to run average wiring or is that something you can tell them to upgrade? Likewise with the type of batteries (or if you can supply your own), 12v gear...not really sure how much negotiation you can have with them in terms of brand as they would have their suppliers and is costed into their overall price. If not, look out in the classifieds as we got a few things to sell then! Sighs.

Fathom - haha I read your thread about the fridge mishap. Yep, will be sure to check that one.  :D

Offline Cyclone71

Feedback on Broadwater Fraser FF or Modcon FF1 camper trailer please
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2016, 08:49:16 PM »
All good mate

Nothing wrong with the wiring in the camper. The folding solar panel I purchased had inferior wiring and regulator so added Ctek DC-DC charger and separate solar circuit. It comes with 2 x 100 AH AGM batteries. The wiring is far from basic Modcon seem to do a pretty good setup in the wiring but there is always room to improve / upgrade

Cyclone 71

« Last Edit: February 25, 2016, 08:51:29 PM by Cyclone71 »

« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2016, 09:00:11 PM »
I have a modcon ecomate and think they are great value.... heaps of storage you just need to work a stacking plan but i have been away with 2 adults and 3 teenagers (who slept in tents but at still had to pack them)... the ecomate is a bit cheaper than the ff1.  I have been stalking modcon for easily 5 yrs...they do make a good product