Author Topic: Hi from the UK - Planning a custom build  (Read 6269 times)

Offline Dan_2k_uk

Hi from the UK - Planning a custom build
« on: June 04, 2015, 09:14:14 PM »
Hi.

First off thanks to Julian for sorting out my registration for the forum as the anti spam didn't like my location.

I wanted to join as there is little info and interest in this kind of thing in the UK at the moment.

Here's the story.

I'm fed up with frequently putting a tent up and down and having no space left in my truck once loaded up so I'm looking at the feasibility of a small semi-offroad camper trailer.

I considered swapping my daily car for a converted van but my trips are split about 50/50 between travelling in the truck and travelling in the car so when I go in the truck I would end up having to take both vehicles.

My biggest problem is going to be weight and size as my truck is a Suzuki Samurai so the whole thing needs to be less than 1700mm wide to track behind the truck. Also from speaking to a few others who tow conventional trailer tents with their Samurais I've been advised a good target weight would be 500kg.

I don't really need to carry water as its not actually for expedition so to speak and if I did need water I will just carry it in the truck.

I would like some basic electricity. Battery, solar panel, led lights, maybe a small sound system.

I would plan to build it from scratch so I can use matching Suzuki components. So a rigid axle with Samurai stub axles and using Samurai leaf springs too.

What kind of construction should I look at to achieve this size and weight if its even possible? I was thinking 20-25mm box section steel with a 2-3mm wall thickness?

Obviously I will need some heavier steel for the the chassis bit so I was thinking that if I aim for the floor to be a bit more of a monocoque design rather than making a trailer and bolting the floor to it it will save some weight.

I'm thinking I will clad the outside with thin aluminium and thin ply on the inside with dense foam insulation between?

Do you guys think I will achieve this weight with this style of design or am I dreaming?

That's probably enough questions for now although I have many more.

This is the kind of shape I was thinking of.

Thanks in advance.

Dan.

Here's a photo of my truck too just for fun.

« Last Edit: June 04, 2015, 09:25:54 PM by Dan_2k_uk »

Re: Hi from the UK
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2015, 09:26:12 PM »
Love the truck Dan & welcome to a great forum

Re: Hi from the UK - Planning a custom build
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2015, 09:33:32 PM »
G'day and welcome Dan.
Great intro there too mate. :cup:
Check out the Camper Trailer Builds Thread for some great ideas to help you in your plans.

Offline Dan_2k_uk

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2015, 08:45:04 AM »
Cheers for the welcome guys.

I've had a look around and come across this build http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=22809.0 which is brilliant reference for me as its similar in size, simplicity, and construction to something I would be aiming for. Just I would be aiming more towards the shape in my original post.

Dan.

Offline dales133

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2015, 10:18:17 AM »
Hi again Dan.
Have you considered building out of foam?
Makes it super lite and strong if done properly.
As you saw mine is what they call the stick frame method with ply inner and outer skins or there is also the skelitonised ply construction.
That's basicly using 18mm ply and cutting away everything you can to lighten it the skinning it inside and out.

Offline Dan_2k_uk

« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2015, 08:08:58 PM »
Hi again Dan.
Have you considered building out of foam?
Makes it super lite and strong if done properly.
As you saw mine is what they call the stick frame method with ply inner and outer skins or there is also the skelitonised ply construction.
That's basicly using 18mm ply and cutting away everything you can to lighten it the skinning it inside and out.

The reason I've chosen box section steel and thin ply/aluminium sheet it its what I know I'm good with so will hopefully end up with the best result.

I know I can tack it together see what's what and change bits easily if need be.

Offline dales133

« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2015, 08:20:54 PM »
The reason I've chosen box section steel and thin ply/aluminium sheet it its what I know I'm good with so will hopefully end up with the best result.

I know I can tack it together see what's what and change bits easily if need be.
This is exactly what I was going to do but after a year or more of research I went with good advice , cost... to a degree and best construction technique regardless of my skill.
The problem with a steel frame are plenty and why I walked away from it.
Not to say you can't but it will be horrid to camp in if you have a steel frame and lining due to condensation and heat transfer issues

Offline dales133

« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2015, 08:21:43 PM »
Timber is a far more effective cheaper alternative

Offline Dan_2k_uk

« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2015, 05:26:15 PM »
Think I had better do some more research then.

Steel frame seems like the right choice for me as I have a decent set of metalworking tools at home and a fully kitted workshop at work.

It also seems like the best option for providing a nice solid roof for roof rack fitting and taking any light impacts it might take from trees as some of the lanes over here are very tight.

Out of interest when you talk about condensation and heat transfer through the frame what kind of temperatures are you guys camping in? I know it can get very cold in some deserts overnight.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2015, 08:15:49 PM by Dan_2k_uk »

Offline dales133

« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2015, 07:10:48 PM »
Just from breathing alone if the inside walls are t insulated from the outside you'll get condensation.
Only sure way to avoid it is complete insulation from the outside.

« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2015, 08:07:05 AM »
There's a budget build on here somewhere from someone who built their camper out of ply, from memory they tow it with a Suzuki similar to yours also...can't recall the users name to do a search for it though.
Expedition Portal forum has plenty of builds like you want to do also, so check out that forum for more info

« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2015, 09:03:55 AM »
G,Day Dan and welcome ..Heres the link to Christo's build for you http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33928.0
« Last Edit: June 07, 2015, 09:05:48 AM by edz »

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2015, 01:01:07 PM »
Not quite the same idea that you have but have seen an ex army land rover trailer behind a Zook. They're a sealed tub

http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/viewtopic.php?f=134&t=130094

Could be used as a base. Just add sides and a roof?  Or even just a roof top tent?

http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/viewtopic.php?f=134&t=130094
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline Dan_2k_uk

« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2015, 11:20:28 PM »
Cheers guys.

I had a quick skim over those but will have a better look when I have a little more time.

I actually registered on expedition portal before I joined here but after posting the same introduction as this and seeing it get 100 views in the 1st day and not a single reply I thought I would go find somewhere more friendly :)

Its now been up on there 4 days and has 160 views and still not a single reply!

Anyway I'm still swaying towards a lightweight steel frame despite what people are saying.

I did a bit of research and most opinions said that you will get condensation in either wood or metal framed campers if they aren't insulated or ventilated properly so I guess its just a case of doing it right.

I don't plan to use it in really cold weather anyway so all should be OK.

I'm currently researching axle sizes and looking at dimensions of Samurai springs to make sure I can keep it low enough on the tyre size I would like.

I think if I use a 30" tyre I can probably keep it the same height as my truck to the roof and have approx 1100mm headroom inside assuming the mattress is about 150mm.

What size tyres do most people run on smaller trailers?

Dan

Offline dales133

« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2015, 11:28:03 PM »
I've designed mine around the tugs wheels
285 75 16 s

Offline Dan_2k_uk

« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2015, 03:55:29 AM »
My tyres on the truck are 33x12.50x15.

Think that would be way overkill for the trailer and would also eat into cabin space an probably not too good for fuel efficiency either.

I think I might go for 235/85/16 which work out at 31" ish but are nice and narrow so less of the wheel arch will have to stick into the cabin.

« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2015, 08:44:40 AM »

I actually registered on expedition portal before I joined here but after posting the same introduction as this and seeing it get 100 views in the 1st day and not a single reply I thought I would go find somewhere more friendly :)

Its now been up on there 4 days and has 160 views and still not a single reply!

yeah sadly that's the way that forum is though, so don't take it to heart....i'm posting my Tasmanian trip report i'm currently writing on there as i post it up here also, it's had over 2000 views over there and only about a half dozen replies. I know there's people reading it as it keeps climbing in views each time i post a new day up, but it would be nicer if more people made comment on it though. The builds section over there has a heap of info on it, they love building those style of campers, so atleast you can browse the old threads for heaps of ideas  :cheers:
« Last Edit: June 08, 2015, 09:12:44 AM by Rumpig »