Author Topic: Smaller engine and less power new navara  (Read 11463 times)

Re: Smaller engine and less power new navara
« Reply #25 on: July 29, 2014, 04:24:22 PM »

Just like any stock 4wd, a simple 50mm lift and slightly larger tyres will give this thing enough clearance for 95% of people to get to the places they need to go. 
Shouldn't have to spending $40g+! It's like buying a boat & having to spend money to make it float.

Offline Homer_Jay

« Reply #26 on: July 29, 2014, 07:40:09 PM »
Kinda looks like 'birds' profile pic. Is there something you should tell us? Did you have a hand in designing it??  ;D ;D ;D

Landcruiser 76 wagon V8 T/D

Supreme Getaway pop top 12 ft

« Reply #27 on: July 29, 2014, 07:43:13 PM »
Kinda looks like 'birds' profile pic. Is there something you should tell us? Did you have a hand in designing it??  ;D ;D ;D
Shit.. it does too!

Offline kalex

« Reply #28 on: July 29, 2014, 07:55:35 PM »
Forget the engine news, did anyone else notice that it has coil suspension in the rear!

From Carsales review:
Also impressive was the new multi-link rear suspension’s ability to soak up the bumps and provide a relatively smooth, well-damped ride over some very rough and broken dirt roads in the northern Thai jungles around Chiang Mai.

Unladen utes with rear leaf springs usually bounce and skip over rough terrain, but the Navara’s more sophisticated rear-end remained well planted, dispatching most nasties in its path while delivering a commendably composed off-road experience.

The upside is that coil sprung Navara utes will still offer the full one-tonne payload, so there’s no need to sacrifice practicality for comfort.

Offline Elky

« Reply #29 on: July 29, 2014, 08:14:37 PM »
Good old Nissan.......seems like they gave up on Australia years ago.......no diesel pootrol, pathfinder gone fwd based soft roader. Hell they even use ads from Lhd overseas markets, shows how little Australia mean to them, we will take what we're given eh?

About the only thing they have done right is to continue to sell the d22 alongside the d40 and still offer the PROPER patrol in lieu of the new one

I will stick to my lazy big cube diesel bent 8 that is not choked with dpf's, adblue or whatever new tech they add to keep with euro6+, don't intend on buying another for a long time
2010 TTD Landcruiser, i have added stuff but can't remember what! Slowly gettin quicker at setting up the brumby but breaking camp is another matter....

« Reply #30 on: July 29, 2014, 08:22:39 PM »
I think the biggest selling Navara has been the 2.5L in the last 10 years
My 2006 has the 3.0
I bought mine February 2007 and had the dealer find me a leftover 3.0 because all they had on the lot were 2.5 ( they were standard from 2007) and I just was not impressed with them.
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline Coiled

« Reply #31 on: July 29, 2014, 08:43:10 PM »
Forget the engine news, did anyone else notice that it has coil suspension in the rear!

From Carsales review:
Also impressive was the new multi-link rear suspension’s ability to soak up the bumps and provide a relatively smooth, well-damped ride over some very rough and broken dirt roads in the northern Thai jungles around Chiang Mai.

Unladen utes with rear leaf springs usually bounce and skip over rough terrain, but the Navara’s more sophisticated rear-end remained well planted, dispatching most nasties in its path while delivering a commendably composed off-road experience.

The upside is that coil sprung Navara utes will still offer the full one-tonne payload, so there’s no need to sacrifice practicality for comfort.

I read that this morning too. I know my eyesight isn't brilliant buut look at the photos closely, I reckon it looks like leaf springs.
2013 Nissan Patrol Y61
2015 Kimberley Karavan Eco Suite

Offline Ian Wilkinson

« Reply #32 on: July 30, 2014, 01:19:39 PM »
Yeah had a laugh the other day when a mate was saying that he is getting 13 litres/100 kms out of his Amarok Auto with a load.
I get the same economy out of my 200 series under the same conditions, and being an ex D40 Navara owner, I'm not a big fan of the highly strung small capacity diesels anymore.
Angus

That's the worst fuel economy I've heard for those.

A couple of the fellas at school have them, pulling a camper trailer, the tray carrying enough stuff for a family of four, they get between 10 and 11, and that's at 110kph.

The other fella has said a few times how he gets between 7 and 8 litres per 100k's.

Offline Darren253

« Reply #33 on: July 30, 2014, 01:26:12 PM »
I pulled up at a next to a guy at a servo towing an 17ft (full hight) caravan with an Amarok, and he reckoned he was pulling 20ltr per 100km @ 100KPH.
2013 LC200 Altitude
2014 CC Exodus 14

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006

« Reply #35 on: July 30, 2014, 02:53:11 PM »
More on the coils in the back
http://www.motoring.com.au/news/large-4x4/nissan/navara/new-nissan-navara-to-target-horsey-set-45025
oh yea I can see horse owners arriving at their Nissan dealers in the bus load to snap one up.. LMAO!

« Reply #36 on: July 30, 2014, 03:43:24 PM »
Mate of mine has had a sh1t load of problems with his Navara. I think it's a 2012 but not 100% sure but he has had a real bad run with it.

He is on his third turbo, thankfully the first two were fixed under warranty. Has problems with elec windows, central locking, oil leaks, poor fuel economy and suspension. I am sure there are other things  I can't remember ATM.  I think this one is definitely a lemon but he can't afford to buy another new vehicle just yet.  He is adamant that he won't buy another Navara.