Author Topic: Management Rights  (Read 3376 times)

Offline bluejay

Management Rights
« on: May 21, 2014, 08:54:35 PM »
Just wondering if any one has had experience in buying or owning management rights for units or rental properties?Wondering what the fors and against would be I know there is a lot of variables in this question eg how many units ,where are they etc etc etc.Just something we would like to have a go at .I reckon tassie would be good for a sea change  we like the coolness.
Bluejay

Re: Management Rights
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2014, 08:59:29 PM »
Just wondering if any one has had experience in buying or owning management rights for units or rental properties?Wondering what the fors and against would be I know there is a lot of variables in this question eg how many units ,where are they etc etc etc.Just something we would like to have a go at .I reckon tassie would be good for a sea change  we like the coolness.
Bluejay

Do you like camping and holidays?

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2014, 08:59:39 PM »
As in a 'registered letting agent'?

I have investigated a fair few of them on the goldcoast for predrawing commissions.  There is some big money to be made but the buy in's are pretty big as well.

Also heard some heart breaking stories of body corporates turning residents against the RLA's and using someone else to manage the property and there goes their income.

That is the GC of course so it may be different in other areas. 

Best wishes.

Offline bluejay

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2014, 09:34:57 PM »
Hi oldmate
Yep like camping and holidays thats why i asked found some which shut down for 8 weeks of the year no bookings at all places are empty  to allow maintenance ,owners to use them and a break for the managers and still pull in $115,000 net thought that was good??

« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2014, 09:52:32 PM »
Hi oldmate
Yep like camping and holidays thats why i asked found some which shut down for 8 weeks of the year no bookings at all places are empty  to allow maintenance ,owners to use them and a break for the managers and still pull in $115,000 net thought that was good??

Yep all good, just asking. Who has to look after and organise all that maintenance? I can tell you the owners won't want much to do with it, that's what they pay management for. Tenants, tradies, body corp committee all knocking on your door, ringing emailing day and night. You need to work out what your time is really worth, and are you a people person, as in dealing with problems also?

Effectively, you are self employed, and although the doors may close for 8 weeks a year, it won't mean your work will, if you get what I mean
« Last Edit: May 21, 2014, 10:20:57 PM by oldmate »

Offline bluejay

« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2014, 10:19:50 PM »
No body corp involved ,the office hrs are set 10 am to 5 pm any maintenance issues out of those hrs are sent to a outside firm

« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2014, 10:25:50 PM »
No body corp involved ,the office hrs are set 10 am to 5 pm any maintenance issues out of those hrs are sent to a outside firm

Yeah ok, I just edited/ added to the last part of my post above. In my line oh work I deal with these type of people, ( unit managers) and you couldn't pay me enough, but your deal sounds ok I guess if it is really what they make out.

Good luck with your choice. I have thought about it, but like my ability to just go away when I choose to. (To a degree)  :cheers:

Offline bluejay

« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2014, 10:33:14 PM »
"these type of people" what /how are they different to you or me?

« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2014, 10:38:33 PM »
"these type of people" what /how are they different to you or me?

No no sorry mate, just meant in general unit/complex managers as a whole, not a personality thing, wrong choice of words  :cheers:

The managers I deal with are great people, I just couldn't do what they do, that's all

Offline Apples69

« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2014, 08:23:59 PM »
Happy to have a chat off line if you want
2011Trackabout Safari and 2016 Prado

Offline bluejay

« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2014, 08:11:54 PM »