Author Topic: Mens Health Promotion - Mens Shed Support  (Read 5310 times)

Offline Campfire

Mens Health Promotion - Mens Shed Support
« on: March 27, 2012, 07:35:24 PM »
Alot of forum threads can be either technical, funny or adventurous. Getting out and about in Camper Trailers is something we all enjoy and a temporary escape from the rat race.

Unfortunately for some even when we do get out, some may feel they can't leave the black clouds, stress, depression etc behind. Even more so in our society loneliness or having the courage to admit you may need help is a challenge for some.

I would like to encourage any males in the swaggers group who feels they have troubles or challenges with personal issues, anxiety, depression, loneliness, social problems etc to reach out to the Mens Shed Program.

This group is about blokes looking after blokes, you may just be lonely and find it hard to meet new
friends. The Mens Shed program offers social and personal support whilst allowing you to connect to a like minded network of fellow Shedders in your area.

www.theshedonline.org.au  is a great place to start, and allows you to connect with other like mind blokes in your area. Many local areas have sheds set up where you can meet up on regular basis a number of times each month. Shed groups allow you socialize and get your hands dirty with tools etc on whatever takes your interest e.g wood working etc.

The Mens Shed is a worthy group to belong to and definitely worth looking into.

Campfire

« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 07:41:20 PM by Campfire »

Re: Mens Health Promotion - Mens Shed Support
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 07:47:01 PM »
Well said , come on you blokes dont be bashful get out there . Really there is a whole new world out there waiting for you to fit into it .Never know you might enjoy yourself at the very least  ;D

Variflex

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 07:51:02 PM »
Mes sheds are great, my father who is recently retired has gotten involed, they also run programs to teach trade skills to kids at the local high school

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2012, 07:52:13 PM »
That is a very worthwhile , & interesting, thread Campfire. Thanks for the link & posting . :cheers:

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2012, 07:54:19 PM »
Its great to see some support for mens health and mental health. "The shed" is a great tool to help men in both rural and residential areas of Australia. Poor mental health can be a curse for some people, and often goes undiagnosed. Sadly medical support can be lacking, as what can not be seen often cant be understood (by the medical fraternity anyway.)

Well said Campfire!

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2012, 07:58:02 PM »
G'day Campfire ,
Yes a great group of blokes looking out for and helping others.
What we have to do as men, mates, brothers, brother in-laws and neighbours is keep an eye for each other.
We need to learn to take care of each other and watch out for the signs of someone that needs help.
Along with the RUOK group, Beyondblue and the mens shed program they are slowly breaking down the walls that blokes hide behind. There is someone that can help.
Cheer Campfire a very good post

Offline Campfire

« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2012, 07:59:49 PM »
Having worked in health care , before my current 180 Degree career change, I saw the stigma with mental health and societies expectations that men should toughen up or simply go and have a beer, this is just wrong and results in people who feel they can't ask for help.

Mens Shed is a great environment for those blokes who want to talk about Mens issues with other genuine blokes with no BS involved,  end of story.

Campfire.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 08:01:31 PM by Campfire »

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2012, 08:16:51 PM »
Great Idea ... because someone has to do something ...certainly no help anywhere else ....

I lost my job , went to Centrelink , then got shuffled off to an employment agency , and occasionally they call you back for a meeting , only to prove they have forgotten who you are or what you are looking for ....

And all the while they know that this is the first time in 30 years that I have been unemployed , and finding work is near impossible , oh , and you have 2 kids to fund as well as all the other bills .....

But guess what ... Never was there any mention of possible mental breakdown , and any assistance in helping .

These are the first stupid people that are in shock when someone loses it on the News .

I heard only last week a bloke I knew from car racing days , had hung himself .... mid 40's ... very sad , and a guy who was always the larrikan and joker .

Apart from Mens Shed there is always My Swag ... It has kept my sanity intact .
But I guess no one will make a post called  " I need help " , so how are we to help other Swaggers ?

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline Campfire

« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2012, 08:24:16 PM »
Great Idea ... because someone has to do something ...certainly no help anywhere else ....

I lost my job , went to Centrelink , then got shuffled off to an employment agency , and occasionally they call you back for a meeting , only to prove they have forgotten who you are or what you are looking for ....

And all the while they know that this is the first time in 30 years that I have been unemployed , and finding work is near impossible , oh , and you have 2 kids to fund as well as all the other bills .....

But guess what ... Never was there any mention of possible mental breakdown , and any assistance in helping .

These are the first stupid people that are in shock when someone loses it on the News .

I heard only last week a bloke I knew from car racing days , had hung himself .... mid 40's ... very sad , and a guy who was always the larrikan and joker .

But I guess no one will make a post called  " I need help " , so how are we to help other Swaggers ?

Ute,

This is exactly the kind of stuff you can freely talk about on Mens Shed, and you will find so does everyone else. Mens Shed also have counselling support mechanisms or you may simply want to bounce ideas or issues off other blokes who have already been in your situation. Empathy and similar experiences can be a good grounding for support.

Campfire

« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2012, 08:33:43 PM »
Great Thread Campfire, thanks for the link. Looks like a very comprehensive site that covers many issues and topics.

Robbo  :cheers:

Offline DX grunt

« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2012, 08:53:53 PM »
Great Thread Campfire, thanks for the link. Looks like a very comprehensive site that covers many issues and topics.

Robbo  :cheers:

X2   Great website and thanks for the link.

Rossco
Nissan Patrol ute - ex Telstra - pod has heaps of 'glamping equipment', but not enough to be overloaded.

Offline Davepatrol

• 4.2 Patrol with a lot of extras
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2012, 10:57:08 PM »

Other 4wd forums (outer limits)have put this subject into miscellaneous, a lot of these guys are fairly young but have a moltitude of problems but can talk about it on the forum http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/viewforum.php?f=67
The link is just to give people an idea how it works.
Cheers Dave

« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2014, 02:25:39 PM »
I'm giving this thread a bump as it is such a great cause.

How many of us on here have signed up?

Offline V8100

« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2014, 10:56:34 PM »
Very worthwhile thread.  Most blokes wont admit having mental health issues and deny it even to themselves. I know this because I was one of those blokes up until around a year ago when I got help.
It has changed my life in so many ways just by using some pretty simple techniques to deal with anxiety and depression. Up until I wrote this only the closest people to me had known about it however it is not something to be embarrassed about or to hide from the world. With the right help you can change the way you think and lead a much happier life and enjoy the things around you instead of just existing. If you think you need help see your doctor and if you aren't happy with the result see another one..
Eddy :cheers:
2010 Navara d22(gone)
2004 jayco swan
2003 V8 cruiser

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2014, 07:17:11 PM »
Campfire,

Thank you so very much for posting that up ! :D

This week for me has been a very difficult week, and dealing with depression daily can be tough. There are always people to talk to though and places you can go.

Admitting that you aren't coping though is the hardest part.

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline Draggin

« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2014, 01:40:29 PM »
Yeah agree with everything mentioned so far and just adding my support to the idea of asking for help.

Been through the mongrel "black dog" and it was no fun and it's next to impossible to throw the mongrel too.

Myswag is a big help with my sanity but the Mens Shed program is a real winner too.

If you are not sure about any aspect of depression, the best thing you can do is talk it over with someone you trust, PLEASE !

I have lost 2 good mates to suicide, both caught me by surprise as I believed they had a lot to live for. I feel partially negligent (just shy of guilty) about both blokes and only wish they had been open to help and that I had known how they were feeling. Both blokes had a lot to contribute to society and are sadly missed by many people who really wish they had a chance to help them.

Seek help, it can get better.

Good on ya Campfire
"Beneath the radiant Southern Cross"

Offline topcat

« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2014, 08:57:17 PM »
Campfire, as others have said, thanks for posting.

About 45% of people suffer from clinical depression during their life. Myswag just clocked over 15,000 members so unless we're significantly different, then over 6,000 of us will suffer badly during our lives.

Friendship, talking, exercise and professional help is so important. The RUOK check on mates and work colleagues is important. None of us knows what goes on in people's lives so cutting slack goes a long way.

Take care, and thanks again.
TC
Prado 150 GXL 6M + 2016 TVAN Murranji

2008 Trackabout 4x4 Deluxe Tourer - Sold (first love xox)

"If all ya got's a hammer, every problem is a nail"