Author Topic: wA Camping over Easter  (Read 13228 times)

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
Re: wA Camping over Easter
« Reply #25 on: April 27, 2014, 02:18:21 AM »
Was at Murchison House Station just outta Kalbarri................Whole section of river to ourselves and I mean the nearest campers that we saw were about 5km away..............
That kinda pisses me off. I tried to stay there for some bush camping, but apparently "booked out". Maybe that only let a certain number of people stay on the station at any one time? Seems like no shortage of space anyway

Offline Diver

« Reply #26 on: April 27, 2014, 12:39:07 PM »
That kinda pisses me off. I tried to stay there for some bush camping, but apparently "booked out". Maybe that only let a certain number of people stay on the station at any one time? Seems like no shortage of space anyway
Go further upstream near the old Geraldine lead mine for free bush camping.

Offline mrjhodges

« Reply #27 on: April 27, 2014, 01:16:47 PM »
We tried to book Dwelly for June long weekend a few weeks ago only to be told it's fully booked.

Jason.

Using Tapatalk

Offline Top.ender

• "I WONDER WHERE THIS TRACK GOES"
« Reply #28 on: April 27, 2014, 06:41:44 PM »
We tried to book Dwelly for June long weekend a few weeks ago only to be told it's fully booked.

Jason.

I phoned on the Tuesday before Easter and was assured by Dec that there was plenty of spaces.... ??? ???

100 Series Diesel with lots of stuff
2014 Jayco Swan Outback

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #29 on: April 27, 2014, 11:07:46 PM »
Go further upstream near the old Geraldine lead mine for free bush camping.
thanks for the tip, could have used that a week back ;D

« Reply #30 on: April 28, 2014, 09:31:48 AM »

They do limit numbers as they need to co-ordinate a disaster plan. If it were "free for all" in numbers, how would you ensure ALL people were evacuated. Food for thought..........

Seems that the ill prepared (I booked back in Feb) whinge the loudest............

Offline Top.ender

« Reply #31 on: April 28, 2014, 08:16:58 PM »
They do limit numbers as they need to co-ordinate a disaster plan. If it were "free for all" in numbers, how would you ensure ALL people were evacuated. Food for thought..........

Seems that the ill prepared (I booked back in Feb) whinge the loudest............
if your comment about whinging is directed at me I think its unjust...firstly I rang the Dec  and enquired as to availability and was assured there would be plenty...secondly the Dec in their wisdom didn't mention the closer of Nanga even though I specifically mentioned camping there in the conversation....thirdly perhaps you can explain why the Dec chose to extend the ban on open fires past the normal 31st March to after the Easter break because I,m yet to meet anyone who was happy with it....   

2014 Jayco Swan Outback

Offline Darren253

« Reply #32 on: April 28, 2014, 09:41:43 PM »
if your comment about whinging is directed at me
I don't think it was...

you can explain why the Dec chose to extend the ban on open fires past the normal 31st March to after the Easter break because I,m yet to meet anyone who was happy with it....
How can Doc explain that? At a guess I would say the fact Perth metro hasn't had bugger all rain in months, it was probably a very sensibly call given the bogans who come out of the woodwork at Easter. Happy or not, 1000's of campers and a bush fire and every man and there dog would be lining up to take a pop at the DEC!
« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 10:23:04 PM by Darren253 »
2013 LC200 Altitude
2014 CC Exodus 14

Offline elle.mac

« Reply #33 on: April 28, 2014, 10:13:08 PM »
Re fire ban - up at Shark Bay they had a fire ban on until May due to lack of rain and you could tell they certainly needed rain - unfortunately a few idiots ignored the Station's advice about a total fire ban and had one (and it wasn't a small one) anyone....on checkout they were going to be informed they were never allowed back.
2003 120 series Prado (aka the Beast)
2012 Customline Deluxe Offroad

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #34 on: April 29, 2014, 03:07:13 AM »
if your comment about whinging is directed at me I think its unjust...firstly I rang the Dec  and enquired as to availability and was assured there would be plenty...secondly the Dec in their wisdom didn't mention the closer of Nanga even though I specifically mentioned camping there in the conversation....thirdly perhaps you can explain why the Dec chose to extend the ban on open fires past the normal 31st March to after the Easter break because I,m yet to meet anyone who was happy with it....
Nah, more likely at me. My comment was more based on the point they have heaps of room, but the point about evacuation plans is a valid one. But in all fairness I didnt book as early as I should have. I work shift so public holidays mean squat to me, I really should have paid more attention that easter was during school holidays. **** happens I suppose, but thats why I prefer to camp in the bush where I dont have to worry about booking and crowds etc...
« Last Edit: April 29, 2014, 03:09:24 AM by shanegtr »

Offline Top.ender

« Reply #35 on: April 29, 2014, 08:34:16 PM »
Nah, more likely at me. My comment was more based on the point they have heaps of room, but the point about evacuation plans is a valid one. But in all fairness I didnt book as early as I should have. I work shift so public holidays mean squat to me, I really should have paid more attention that easter was during school holidays. **** happens I suppose, but thats why I prefer to camp in the bush where I dont have to worry about booking and crowds etc...
Yer..I see the point about evac plans and it does make sense...I just thought the Dec could have passed the info on when I rang.....on another note...I was probably being a little to sensitive  :-[ :-[

2014 Jayco Swan Outback

Offline Grayzo

• Navara D40 STX , Camprite Tx6
    • Bowen05
« Reply #36 on: April 29, 2014, 09:40:22 PM »
I know Easter is over but some options for next year...
We spent last year at Gnaraloo 3mile camp. Awesome spot. We'll go back www.bowen05gnaraloo.blogspot.com
This year we spent 5 days at WOOLEEN STATION'S Murchison river camp. Had a great time. Have not had time to post up photos yet.
Others we looked at for this Easter were Francois Peron national park shark bay & Tamala station near steep point. Both of which we will be planning on getting too in the future. ;D :cup:
Reg's
Grayzo

Offline elle.mac

« Reply #37 on: April 29, 2014, 09:56:20 PM »
Grayzo - you won't be disappointed with either the National Park or Tamala Station. I'm trying to find time to upload photos and do a trip report for our Easter Trip Adventure at Tamala Station and 2 x day trip to Francois Peron National Park.
2003 120 series Prado (aka the Beast)
2012 Customline Deluxe Offroad

Offline Grayzo

• Bowen05
« Reply #38 on: April 29, 2014, 10:17:21 PM »
Grayzo - you won't be disappointed with either the National Park or Tamala Station. I'm trying to find time to upload photos and do a trip report for our Easter Trip Adventure at Tamala Station and 2 x day trip to Francois Peron National Park.
Cool can't wait elle.mac thanks.
Reg's
Grayzo

Offline Diver

« Reply #39 on: April 30, 2014, 01:44:45 PM »
We are going to Tamala next week and in August 2012 we spent time up at Bottle Bay near the tip of Francois Peron.  Bottle bay and Gregories are both really good spots.  DEC have done a great job with BBQs and Toilets.  You only need your own power and water.  Track in can get chopped up and boggy up towards the tip as people ignore the advice to let tyres down.  I can't understand why people continue to run at 35psi on sand tracks.  At Bottle Bay you can drive along the beach a km or so - good fishing for yellow fin whiting.

Camp fires now permitted at Tamala as they have had rain in the last week.  I suspect both Peron and Tamala will have an influx of campers over the next month or so seeing as how Cape Range at Exmouth had so much rain and damage.

« Reply #40 on: April 30, 2014, 02:09:34 PM »
Well i was lazy and the apartment we booked at Augusta was very nice thank you ;D

Offline Heavensent

« Reply #41 on: April 30, 2014, 08:34:56 PM »
We camped at lake brockman for the Friday and Saturday night.
Didn't arrive till late Friday arvo. Heaps of people down there but by not staying near the water was able to find a decent size spot up the back.
Had one lot of campers in view of our camp, felt sorry for them cause my little girl didn't do too well sleeping in a tent, well getting to sleep wasn't too bad once asleep.

New tent set  up on trailer did well, but def want to lower it a bit, plus needs new frame instead of dodgy old cage, had to cross couple of straps across back to stiffen it up.
But swags rolled out perfectly behind ladder.

But back to the camp site, only one lot of idiots thankfully, old dual cab hilux and a green Toyota surf.
Hooned around abit without thought of damage to tracks or anyone around them.
But up side was they approved camp fires between 6pm and 10 am which was a nice surprise.
Weather held off to which was another win.
Wife and daughter was ready to go home Sunday morning, but my little boy just wanted go 4wding!!!

Great weekend with friends and family, and mother in law didn't end up coming due to work, epic win :D

Offline Grayzo

• Bowen05
« Reply #42 on: May 10, 2014, 09:00:34 PM »
Just updated our blog page with our Easter adventure..  http://www.bowen05.blogspot.com.au/

Reg's
Grayzo