Author Topic: Gold Coast Caravan, fishing and 4wd Show 2014  (Read 16024 times)

Offline broncos11

Re: Gold Coast Caravan, fishing and 4wd Show 2014
« Reply #50 on: March 28, 2014, 04:41:40 PM »
Will be driving up from Grafton,hopping the show will be on,I will check before I leave in the morning,is there any way I can find out if it is on? as I will be leaving about 7.00am Saturday morning,don't want to drive all the way there and it is not on......Pat

At this moment it's a beautiful, sunny late afternoon at Kingscliff. I think tomorrow will be okay
2003 IFS V8 100 series

« Reply #51 on: March 28, 2014, 04:54:16 PM »
At this moment it's a beautiful, sunny late afternoon at Kingscliff. I think tomorrow will be okay

Yep same here at paradise point. Just starting to get muggy as all hell now.

Offline patyv

« Reply #52 on: March 28, 2014, 05:00:17 PM »
Thanks guys as I am looking forward to going up there and having a look around the show

Offline mrsfirefox

« Reply #53 on: March 28, 2014, 05:21:55 PM »
Hi Patyv

Yes, the show is definitely going ahead.  There was a huge meeting today at 12:30.  They have taken into account any rainfall that may occur (not much expected per the BOM QLD as it's blown out to sea).  All the remaining exhibitors are really hoping that people aren't dissuaded from coming along.  They really need the support. 

The official Facebook link is :  https://www.facebook.com/RuralScenePromotions

The official website link is:    http://www.ruralscene.com.au/Events/Caravan-Camping-4WD-Fish-Boat-Show/Gold-Coast/

Check out these two sites if you want before coming up.  The show is definitely going ahead.  The organisers have now made entry FREE to all to encourage people to come.  Frantic efforts by the remaining exhibitors have been undertaken since 1pm to make sure that it will all go ahead smoothly as best they can.  They are still looking forward to a great weekend with some fantastic specials!!

I recommend bringing wellies or old shoes as the ground is pretty muddy.  Definitely, No heels or wedges for the ladies. The water has receded though.
Firefox's better half ;)

Offline patyv

« Reply #54 on: March 28, 2014, 06:05:09 PM »
Thanks for the info,will be there with the boots on

Offline Offroad 4x4 Accessories

« Reply #55 on: March 28, 2014, 07:14:39 PM »
Hi everyone. Yes It is all going ahead tomorrow and Sunday with free entry. Come on down a have a look around and hopefully support the people that have decided to stay. A lot of us have. Some of these people have lost a lot

Hope to see you there
Tim

« Reply #56 on: March 29, 2014, 11:58:29 AM »
Called in this morning just quickly.
Was there at 09:10, and the grounds were already dry enough for walking about on.
A certain Swaggers CT got a good .... umm.... Flood test I think you can call it, apparently the drinks in his fidge were still cold   :cup:

My fav bit is the guy who is selling flood damaged kit, so what you may say, well, he is selling Kayaks... Damaged by flood hey. Yep, Sure, I'll buy 1.
Go have a look folks, well worth it.

« Reply #57 on: March 29, 2014, 12:17:51 PM »
Might head down tomorrow morning. Were there many vans there? No point going if not.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2014, 12:35:21 PM by Jenko67 »

Offline rodsswag

• Always dreamed it, now living it!!!!!!!
« Reply #58 on: March 29, 2014, 12:57:23 PM »
Called in this morning just quickly.
Was there at 09:10, and the grounds were already dry enough for walking about on.
A certain Swaggers CT got a good .... umm.... Flood test I think you can call it, apparently the drinks in his fidge were still cold   :cup:

My fav bit is the guy who is selling flood damaged kit, so what you may say, well, he is selling Kayaks... Damaged by flood hey. Yep, Sure, I'll buy 1.
Go have a look folks, well worth it.

It is now well and truly seasoned.
This was it's first bit of rain it has seen.

Rod.......
Swag
Coramal Caravan

« Reply #59 on: March 29, 2014, 02:11:45 PM »
Not sure if your were there this morning Rod, I didn't loiter as there were real customers looking, so I kept out the way.

« Reply #60 on: March 29, 2014, 02:17:27 PM »
Did I hear correctly, Rod has cold beer in his fridge?.  What time does the show close  :D :D

« Reply #61 on: March 29, 2014, 02:18:58 PM »
You should make it with 20 mins to spare....

Offline rodsswag

• Always dreamed it, now living it!!!!!!!
« Reply #62 on: March 29, 2014, 06:43:56 PM »
I was in the office this morning.
I went down there this afternoon.

Rod.........
Swag
Coramal Caravan

Offline Malcolm Tugless

• Are we there yet ?
« Reply #63 on: March 30, 2014, 05:48:21 PM »
Went for a gander this morning. Looks like the site was hit by quite a deluge and subsequent flooding. The water must have been up to a metre deep in some places. A few water damaged vans, and a marquee designated for other exhibitors was apparently awash at one point. It was abandoned afterwards.

Its a shame, but in hindsight that location is not really adequate for this kind of event. Parklands was pretty good, but its no more. There has to be a more appropriate venue sought out in the future.

« Reply #64 on: March 30, 2014, 05:51:21 PM »
I got chatting to 1 of the staff, I mentioned how easy this place floods and I seen it happen many a time as I lived up the street from it for many years. The poor bloke had no idea, they lost a $80,000 van them selves, plus the kit in it.

Offline Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback

« Reply #65 on: March 30, 2014, 06:17:56 PM »
I got chatting to 1 of the staff, I mentioned how easy this place floods and I seen it happen many a time as I lived up the street from it for many years. The poor bloke had no idea, they lost a $80,000 van them selves, plus the kit in it.

I agree poor form from the show grounds and show organization. I remember reading a week prior to the rain hitting that it was going to be very wet with that system moving up from NSW. Why with all the weather information were they allowed to set up when there was a strong chance the grounds could go under again. That area is and always will be a massive flood plain with all the water running of Sprinbrook and surrounds.

I really feel for the those affected and hope they are supported to recover lost assets. I would like the show grounds to be given another chance to hold the event again as it is quite a suitable location.

« Reply #66 on: March 30, 2014, 06:57:07 PM »
Went for a gander this morning. Looks like the site was hit by quite a deluge and subsequent flooding. The water must have been up to a metre deep in some places.
texted a mate just before from TJM at the show, he said the same thing...a metre deep in some places and they had 2 foot of water through where he was located. he managed to get his Cruiser out, but their Hilux got flooded apparently (not sure how badly though).

« Reply #67 on: March 30, 2014, 08:30:01 PM »
Went for a gander this morning. Looks like the site was hit by quite a deluge and subsequent flooding. The water must have been up to a metre deep in some places. A few water damaged vans, and a marquee designated for other exhibitors was apparently awash at one point. It was abandoned afterwards.

Its a shame, but in hindsight that location is not really adequate for this kind of event. Parklands was pretty good, but its no more. There has to be a more appropriate venue sought out in the future.

Yep agreed. Carrara stadium I reckon.

« Reply #68 on: March 30, 2014, 09:34:40 PM »
Yep agreed. Carrara stadium I reckon.
Na mate
It nearly went under water also.
Try the footy field next to Mt Tamborine High School, should be safe there.

« Reply #69 on: March 30, 2014, 09:36:35 PM »
Na mate
It nearly went under water also.
Try the footy field next to Mt Tamborine High School, should be safe there.

Hahah yeah, except for the 20 trees that will come down and block the rd in and out.  ;D

Offline patyv

« Reply #70 on: March 31, 2014, 12:12:16 AM »
My wife and I drove up from Graftom on Saturday morning,had a good loom around and herd the stories from the different vendors some sites were worse than others depending where you were situated,parking there is a real problem as there are no disabled parking areas close to the entrance or any organised parking just park where you can,I think many more people would go if the parking was better.saying that I enjoyed what I seen and the wife seen what we want to get now,and it will be a walk through as it is easier to get into the bed area.

« Reply #71 on: March 31, 2014, 06:30:32 AM »
Hahah yeah, except for the 20 trees that will come down and block the rd in and out.  ;D
Then they will have to re-open the 4wd track up the hill then.

Offline Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback

« Reply #72 on: March 31, 2014, 07:53:14 AM »
My wife and I drove up from Graftom on Saturday morning,had a good loom around and herd the stories from the different vendors some sites were worse than others depending where you were situated,parking there is a real problem as there are no disabled parking areas close to the entrance or any organised parking just park where you can,I think many more people would go if the parking was better.saying that I enjoyed what I seen and the wife seen what we want to get now,and it will be a walk through as it is easier to get into the bed area.

There was heaps of free organised parking at the rear of the show grounds. Just drive through the gate and you were directed where to park and it was about a 50m walk to enter close to the TJM stand.   

Offline martyst

« Reply #73 on: March 31, 2014, 07:59:38 AM »
Where to hold the next show will defiantly be a hard one for the organisers in the future. There would be a few not willing to take the risk again, even though it may never happen again at the same time.