Author Topic: is this for real????  (Read 5528 times)

is this for real????
« on: February 10, 2014, 08:56:10 PM »

Re: is this for real????
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 09:00:28 PM »
Mate. Nothing surprises me in this ***ked up country we live in at the moment.

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2014, 09:00:57 PM »
It's the ABC so it has to be true  ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2014, 09:06:08 PM »
It's the ABC so it has to be true  ;D ;D ;D ;D

You  beet me to it KB. ;D

Offline Clouty

« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2014, 09:08:07 PM »
Fair dinkum
Can't even help out a mate these days..

« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2014, 09:14:33 PM »
I hear you cant lend out your wife either any more - geez. ;D

« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2014, 09:15:36 PM »
I hear you cant lend out your wife either any more

What! :o

« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2014, 09:19:02 PM »
Read the article, a Family First beat-up.
The comment from the departmental spokesman clearly says that it isn't aimed at people lending cars to friends.
However, if cars were being hired  without the correct licensing, presumabley they wouldn't be covered by either 3rd party or comprehensive insurance if involved in a prang.  Just imagine the sh1t that would cause for the person hit / bridal party.
There can actually be valida reasons for regulation, perhaps this is a case in point. Not everything is about the 'nanny state'.

« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2014, 09:21:51 PM »
Probably is true coz the SA government is broke and needs some cash!

« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2014, 09:29:50 PM »
B&B is spot on here. This is a BS story. If a bloke lends his car out and charges $$ without accreditation then they will gun for him. Providing use of your buggy for nicks is all good as long as it is roadworthy, insured and registered.

No brainer really.

Offline HoMErMY12

« Reply #10 on: February 10, 2014, 09:39:10 PM »
Well it is SA, so anythings possible!!

I was in a wedding party a few years ago, and the groom got a guy from work to drive us in his GTHO falcon. And back then I remember him saying he doesn't do this any more (only did it because he promised it a year earlier) because other guys in his car club had received warnings from the government, as the article states. So this isn't a new issue, it would have been atleast 3 years ago I heard it.

Subaru Forester MY12
My trailer

« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2014, 09:40:07 PM »
Yep B&B and Snow are right.  Rather then blaming governments the journo should go back to school and learn his trade.  Very poorly written article with no investigation about the matter at all.   

« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2014, 02:45:51 AM »
Fair dinkum
Can't even help out a mate these days..

Hit the nail on the head . Some pencil pushing seat warmer has had a rush of blood to the head & gone with it . Unthinking , uncaring & as Snow said BS No Brainer  :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2014, 07:11:09 AM »
This bit baffles me...

"This is just really about ensuring public safety if some of these vehicles are going out, [ensuring] that some of these vehicles are roadworthy."

« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2014, 08:24:13 AM »
This bit baffles me...

"This is just really about ensuring public safety if some of these vehicles are going out, [ensuring] that some of these vehicles are roadworthy."

I think the whole thing revolves around special interest vehicles being used as hire cars.  Not the 'lending it for a mates wedding'.

We have friends who have three early Jags that are doing weddings every few weeks.  Its a cash in hand business in reality though they are only being 'lent', often with a driver LOL.

I couldn't care less but I imagine the hire car industry is putting pressure on the govt.

« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2014, 08:40:52 AM »
I think the whole thing revolves around special interest vehicles being used as hire cars.  Not the 'lending it for a mates wedding'.

We have friends who have three early Jags that are doing weddings every few weeks.  Its a cash in hand business in reality though they are only being 'lent', often with a driver LOL.

I couldn't care less but I imagine the hire car industry is putting pressure on the govt.

Its a cash in hand business.  That is the problem right there.  You either lend the vehicle or you hire the vehicle, any cash exchanged makes it a business and opens up a whole new can of worms

« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2014, 08:46:41 AM »
It's the same here in QLD. Has been for a lot of years. I believe originally, you had to have a taxi or limo licence or some crap to charge for your hire, now it's some other licence. Same happened in the towing industry years ago.

Here, you can use your vehicle for private functions etc, provided there's no fee and the vehicle is on full rego. No consessional or club rego allowed.

It's not just a liability issue, but it also protects industries.

Shane.

Offline Davepatrol

• 4.2 Patrol with a lot of extras
« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2014, 10:57:22 AM »
Its a cash in hand business.  That is the problem right there.  You either lend the vehicle or you hire the vehicle, any cash exchanged makes it a business and opens up a whole new can of worms

Is this the same as getting a lift to work and giving your mate petrol money?

Offline rotor138

« Reply #18 on: February 11, 2014, 11:33:58 AM »
Welcome to 2010, the date of the article.

Offline BBwilly

« Reply #19 on: February 11, 2014, 11:43:54 AM »
Welcome to 2010, the date of the article.

and it was Updated Wed 17 Nov 2010, 3:18pm AEDT lol.

Movers and shakers on this forum......  :laugh: