Author Topic: Kids of today  (Read 5819 times)

Offline shakey55

Kids of today
« on: February 11, 2014, 08:01:50 AM »
I don't know about 'Yes, I bought a Jeep'

but my 24 year old son just bought his dream car, a 2010 HSV R8 'Maloo' ute (series II), only 8,750 kms on the clock.  The owner said it was his weekend car.

A great car, and nearly brand new, but kids of today have to much money.

I asked him to put a tow bar on it to help tow around CC and or boat.

Tells me that if he needs to borrow CC or the boat, he can borrow my car.

You have got to love them and their thinking

« Last Edit: February 11, 2014, 08:04:52 AM by shakey55 »

Kids of today
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2014, 08:08:28 AM »
Agree, my son finished his building apprenticeship 3 years ago and needed to upgrade his unreliable ute as He was going out on his own. I said we'd help as much as we could, but He came back and said, no prob, Commbank lending me $40k for a new VE SS V8. Now He has managed to pay it off but still got me wondering.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2014, 09:55:42 AM by scarps »

Re: Kids of today
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2014, 08:52:20 AM »
Nothing like helping the economy along.  Classic example of why things in Australia cost so much.  While we struggled to be able to buy our first vehicles (mine was on old HJ Holden panel van second hand for a couple of grand), "kids" are already earning enough to go to the bank and get a loan to buy new.  So of course the market price goes up as everyone else wants a larger share of the pie

« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2014, 09:41:51 AM »
Cue violin concerto in e minor.

« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2014, 10:16:16 AM »
Cue violin concerto in e minor.

When I was a kid my first car was a VW fastback, I was 9 years old and had to mow lawns for 3 months to save up the $25 to go halves with my mate ;D We turned it into a buggy. Yes its a true story LOL

Offline shakey55

Kids of today
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2014, 10:35:59 AM »
How things change. My first car cost me $60, it was an Austin A40, I had a great time in that.

Yes it was a long time ago

« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2014, 10:54:03 AM »
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
But you know, we were happy in those days, though we were poor.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
Because we were poor. My old Dad used to say to me, "Money doesn't buy you happiness, son".
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
Aye, 'e was right.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
Aye, 'e was.
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
I was happier then and I had nothin'. We used to live in this tiny old house with great big holes in the roof.
SECOND YORKSHIREMAN:
House! You were lucky to live in a house! We used to live in one room, all twenty-six of us, no furniture, 'alf the floor was missing, and we were all 'uddled together in one corner for fear of falling.
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
Eh, you were lucky to have a room! We used to have to live in t' corridor!
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
Oh, we used to dream of livin' in a corridor! Would ha' been a palace to us. We used to live in an old water tank on a rubbish tip. We got woke up every morning by having a load of rotting fish dumped all over us! House? Huh.
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
Well, when I say 'house' it was only a hole in the ground covered by a sheet of tarpaulin, but it was a house to us.
SECOND YORKSHIREMAN:
We were evicted from our 'ole in the ground; we 'ad to go and live in a lake.
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
You were lucky to have a lake! There were a hundred and fifty of us living in t' shoebox in t' middle o' road.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
Cardboard box?
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
Aye.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
You were lucky. We lived for three months in a paper bag in a septic tank. We used to have to get up at six in the morning, clean the paper bag, eat a crust of stale bread, go to work down t' mill, fourteen hours a day, week-in week-out, for sixpence a week, and when we got home our Dad would thrash us to sleep wi' his belt.
SECOND YORKSHIREMAN:
Luxury. We used to have to get out of the lake at six o'clock in the morning, clean the lake, eat a handful of 'ot gravel, work twenty hour day at mill for tuppence a month, come home, and Dad would thrash us to sleep with a broken bottle, if we were lucky!
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
Well, of course, we had it tough. We used to 'ave to get up out of shoebox at twelve o'clock at night and lick road clean wit' tongue. We had two bits of cold gravel, worked twenty-four hours a day at mill for sixpence every four years, and when we got home our Dad would slice us in two wit' bread knife.
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
Right. I had to get up in the morning at ten o'clock at night half an hour before I went to bed, drink a cup of sulphuric acid, work twenty-nine hours a day down mill, and pay mill owner for permission to come to work, and when we got home, our Dad and our mother would kill us and dance about on our graves singing Hallelujah.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
And you try and tell the young people of today that ..... they won't believe you.
ALL:
They won't!

Just sayin'  ;D

« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2014, 03:00:00 PM »
What he said ,all ofMMMMM  :cheers: 
 This is where we start to remem,,,,,ber the Old Days & the older we get the better we were ......... :-* :-* :-* :cheers:
l feel a bit tired l might hae a nap now  :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2014, 04:40:17 PM »
How things change. My first car cost me $60, it was an Austin A40, I had a great time in that.

Yes it was a long time ago

Still the going rate too.

« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2014, 05:15:02 PM »
my first car cost me a carton of emu export wish i still had that xl falcon

Offline berlitza

« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2014, 05:26:35 PM »
personally I think it's more impressive when kids save then go out and pay cash for there first couple of cars, although I wonder if they saved  would they still be so eager to blow it on a car

« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2014, 05:34:12 PM »
but kids of today have to much money.
if he's still living at home, it sounds like a rent rise is in order...lol

Offline Beatle

• Devil's Advocate
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2014, 05:37:28 PM »
There's only one group to blame, and it's not our kids....

But really, do any of us go to fight wars and work hard, to make life more of a struggle for our kids?
***The words typed in my messages do not necessarily reflect the personally held views of the author***

Beatle
'97 80 series Landcruiser

« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2014, 08:14:03 PM »
You have got to love them and their thinking

Just following the example laid out by their elders.

« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2014, 09:00:02 PM »
At 24, if he was a tradie, that would mean roughly 1-2 years out of his time and on a full wage.  Back in the olden days you'd leave school around 15 to get an apprenticeship and be on a full wage before you were 20...

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2014, 09:56:26 PM »
My son is 16 and on learners permit , he is saving for his first car, he lives at home of course but i said if he ever goes and gets a car loan while under my roof he pays rent ....car loans are the single worst investment a young person can make ... Just my opinion.

They wonder why they cant afford to buy a house well take a look at the debt they are all in.

Certainly not casting comment towards the OP as ever situation is different but in general I find young people these days are a pack of lazy little sods generally ENABLED by their over loving parents IMHO.

I tell my son to buy something he can afford if not save longer or work harder. there are plenty of new cars parked out front of rental houses. So in 10 years those new car drivers will be paying off your houses I tell him and keeping our banks amongst the most profitable in the world. This is a sweeping generalization but just to show that spending big early on depreciating assets becomes hard to recover from. Older generations would never have dropped 1/6 of the value of a house as their first car.

He was mortified when I explained credit card debt and understood why we don't have any.

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline camper48

« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2014, 07:35:29 AM »
kids today are really the same as yesterday they are just having a go
I think sometimes u\we  forget or don't want to remember wat u\we  were like when u\we were young
give the kids a break.
just my thoughts
enjoy life

Offline shakey55

« Reply #17 on: February 12, 2014, 10:22:22 AM »
Not his first car, has worked his way up from a Nissan SSS

« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2014, 10:26:59 AM »
Not his first car, has worked his way up from a Nissan SSS

WTF my fist car was a Poo Brown Kingswood Belmont station wagon thats right came with the wind down rear window and the seats that would peel you down to your spinal cord if you wore no shirt in summer
But all in all we took this thing to places i would be nervous in the Prado
$300 from a decesaed estate 2years later sold for $350 with the only work being done was a new battery

« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2014, 02:56:23 PM »
At 24, if he was a tradie, that would mean roughly 1-2 years out of his time and on a full wage.  Back in the olden days you'd leave school around 15 to get an apprenticeship and be on a full wage before you were 20...

And back in those days that's all the education you needed.  Hell, you could have even dropped out of school in year 10 and still expected to earn a living.

Try doing that now.

« Reply #20 on: February 12, 2014, 03:09:24 PM »
My son is 16 and on learners permit , he is saving for his first car, he lives at home of course but i said if he ever goes and gets a car loan while under my roof he pays rent ....car loans are the single worst investment a young person can make ... Just my opinion.

They wonder why they cant afford to buy a house well take a look at the debt they are all in.

Certainly not casting comment towards the OP as ever situation is different but in general I find young people these days are a pack of lazy little sods generally ENABLED by their over loving parents IMHO.

I tell my son to buy something he can afford if not save longer or work harder. there are plenty of new cars parked out front of rental houses. So in 10 years those new car drivers will be paying off your houses I tell him and keeping our banks amongst the most profitable in the world. This is a sweeping generalization but just to show that spending big early on depreciating assets becomes hard to recover from. Older generations would never have dropped 1/6 of the value of a house as their first car.

He was mortified when I explained credit card debt and understood why we don't have any.

Jet ;D

There is an even biger sweeping Generalisation that property is the only way to get ahead

Would you rather
a) that he borrows money buys his dream car and in 4 year time gets it out of his system and then buys a house with the knowledge and experience of having to pay off a loan and maybe saving a bigger deposit going as well whilst also learning how to manage multiple financial requirements (as they will have to do through their lives) Or

b) does what a multitude of my friends did and that was get straight into property from thier first job, 5% or even less deposit never had a cent to their name cause it all went on the home, always wondered what that car, boat etc would be like and now 10 years later when they actually have some equity foolishly keep redrawing their morgatage for toys they should have got out of their system 10 years ago and will pay 8 times over on the life of their 30 year loan

I would advise anyone to at least get a car loan or similar before buying a house so they have the disiplin and experience in paying off 30k before they borrow 300k

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #21 on: February 12, 2014, 03:29:29 PM »
Discipline from borrowing 30k paying back 45k and selling item for 10k.

Then having 10k deposit 5 years later  ???

Not my version of discipline ..

But in all honesty every family is different and I guess making comment on others choices is pretty silly without all the facts. I will put my hand up there.

But kids these days hey ...  ;D

Jet :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #22 on: February 12, 2014, 03:37:24 PM »
Most banks won't even look at you if you have never had a loan. You need credit to get credit.

A bank won't lend you $350k for a house if you have never paid back a loan, of say 10k for a cheap reliable small car.

My daughter is only 7. But when time comes, and she needs to get a car, i would be happy for her to get a SENSIBLE car loan. I would prefer her to have a newish reliable car instead of a cheap sh!tbox stuck on the side of the road in the middle of the night.

I work with a lot of young blokes (Army) and it is not unusual to have a 50k car loan.

Kids can learn from a car loan. A sensible car loan is a cheap, reliable car of around 5-10k.

They learn to budget, make repayments, save for servicing, rego.......

Not much different from a house, rates, water, water..........

« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 03:41:15 PM by 02-SR5 »
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2014, 04:07:05 PM »
Discipline from borrowing 30k paying back 45k and selling item for 10k.

Then having 10k deposit 5 years later  ???

Not my version of discipline ..

But in all honesty every family is different and I guess making comment on others choices is pretty silly without all the facts. I will put my hand up there.

But kids these days hey ...  ;D

Yeah i agree with a Jet gotta love em

unfortunatly i grew up with friends on both extremes

The ones that bought every toy under the sun
And then the others that bought property at 20 and then woke up at 30 and went what am i doing, sold the house divorsed the partner

There has to be a middle ground somewhere

Jet :D