Author Topic: Midnight pack ups...  (Read 3596 times)

Offline Black-Pig

• Everything is Subject to change...
Midnight pack ups...
« on: September 26, 2013, 10:45:37 AM »
Last night we had to do a mid night pack up as the wind just south of Port Wakefield was BLOWING. It was not like we were overly exposed, it was just one of those nights.

Just wondering how many of you have had to do this?
05 SR5 Hilux  - With Fruit...
2012 Outback Sturt - with some modifications

Re: Midnight pack ups...
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2013, 10:49:22 AM »
If its anything like in Melbourne at moment, I cant blame u.

Offline ewwreckers

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2013, 11:10:13 AM »
Yep. Cecil Plains day 2 or 3 days after christmas. Found a beautiful free campsite and rather then camp with up near the toilet block where all the caravans were with their noisy gennies, we decided to go right down on the river bank. River was barely flowing and was beautiful. Hubby woke up a bit before 3am and could hear a rushing noise, went and checked the river and it had come up 4 foot in a few hours. First trip away in the CT, and our first night we had a 3am pack up, complete with thousands of mozzies, and 2 tired kids lol
Good thing we left though as since found out from a fellow myswagger that the whole park including the toilet block went under water!
The good thing was that we were in Hervey Bay set up at the CP and sitting on the beach by 11am lol
Vanessa

$150 Jackaroo + $1600 CT = One helluva happy family!

"Got my toes in the water,
ass in the sand,
not a worry in the world,
a cold beer in my hand,
Life is good today, life is good today"

« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2013, 11:29:28 AM »
Did a mid day pack up once at Coober Pedy.  Went underground for a tour and came back up to tornado strength wind. Made a run for Port Augusta in the afternoon.

Helped a young family pack up all their belongings at Rawnsley Park when last there.  the wind rolled up their 8 person family tent and all it's contents (probably about 200kg plus all up) and deposited it about 150 metres from their campsite.  They were out for the day, and returned just after nightfall. Took us and the group next door about two hours to untangle it all and pack it up. They had four kids under 6. Their Kia people mover was bursting at the seams when they headed off back to a unit the park had available.

Ah, happy days!

« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2013, 06:02:37 PM »
Almost had to do it at Dorigo 2 nights ago.
Even with the Tent pegged down at every spot, the wind was still getting underneath. Luckily, I was busy with the vomit bucket for kids as well, by the time I was ready to give in and pack up, the wind died down, just before sun rise..............

Offline Black-Pig

« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2013, 06:31:51 PM »
Geez Dave,
I might stop complaining now!

« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2013, 07:20:22 PM »
Nah, was too late.

« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2013, 07:47:53 PM »
Nah, was too late.

Nice set up Kangaron............ really like the way the spreader bars keep things nice and taught!!!! ;D

Seriously though mate, i reckon that pic is one of the most miserable CT pics i've ever seen. :cup:

Better luck next time.

Offline Black-Pig

« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2013, 10:50:18 PM »
Nah, was too late.
Damn, that sucks.
I looked up the wind speeds and we packed up inconstant 65kmh with 80kmh Gusts, and later nearly got to 100kmh so happy to get packed.

« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2013, 05:55:58 AM »
Had to take Morag to a local hospital at 11:00 pm one evening.
Sat there till 3:00am while they treated her for food poisoning.
She slept in Nav while I and friends packed up the camper trailer at 4:00am.
We just threw everything in anywhere it fit.
Took me a week to sort it all out once I got home.
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline terravista

« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2013, 09:01:05 AM »
We were travelling the Outback Way from Brissie to Perth when the cyclone went through the Uluru area three Christmases ago.
We woke up just after midnight with the canvas CT roof flapping all over the place.The guy ropes had pulled out and were flailing around like stock whips. The whole trailer felt like it was lifting off the ground.
We held the tent down on top of us for an hour or so too scared to get up and waited for the "eye" to hit us. We quickly dropped the canvas and packed up everything in 10 minutes, then spent the rest of the night sleeping in the front of the Monterey.
The morning light showed many flattened or blown away tents, damaged vans, destroyed vegetation and mud everywhere.
The rock viewing with water pouring off all around was spectacular from all the rain.
Yep, the arid outback certainly went on holidays for a week or so.