Author Topic: Newbies first CT  (Read 3870 times)

Offline novaoz

Newbies first CT
« on: July 31, 2013, 08:23:49 AM »
Hey Guys
New to this forum, I thought this place might be the place to learn about camper trailers and which one to go for and what ones to avoid...!
It will be my first camper, have done a lot of camping whilst hunting & fishing, but now with kids under my feet I have to do the more family thing and thought a Camper Trailer would be the way to go.  When I started looking... all I can say is wow! where to start? Can anyone steer me in the right direction and suggest some to look at for $5k - $10k in a soft floor, it would need to be large enough for a family of five.  Thanks for any assistance you can provide.

Offline 02-SR5

Re: Newbies first CT
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2013, 08:52:08 AM »
Look in the classifieds.

Look for Australian made in the 5-10k and this will get you an excellent product.

Or, that sort of money will buy you a brand new imported camper, which isn't a bad thing if you do your home work as there are some great products out there.

What state do you live in? As we may be able to steer you somewhere.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2013, 08:54:23 AM »
Welcome Novaoz,

Certainly come to the right place to learn, and in a friendly environment as well.

You could pick up a quality second hand camper with a lot of extras for that amount, all the work done for you and ready to go. There is a trailer classified section on this forum with some great trailers.

If you are after new then you just need to be aware of what you are getting for your money. Some of the lower end of your budget are great value for money as long as you are aware that there will be additional money required to bring them up to a standard suitable for going bush.

A couple of questions for you to consider:
1. What sort of terrain do you imagine yourself taking it? (Cape York, semi offroad, tourist parks)
2. Do you need electrics included?
3. If you do need electrical are you capable/willing to do this yourself?

I am sure someone will psot a much better list than this, but it is a starting point.

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2013, 08:56:51 AM »
Have a search on Gumtree. As Bunyip said, sometimes you can get a good 2nd hand one that the original owner has completed a number of good mods for you.  Good luck.

Offline Malcolm Tugless

• Are we there yet ?
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2013, 09:39:55 AM »
Howdy ... What's your location? Each state and territory has different manufacture's / suppliers. I prefer to buy locally for a number of reasons, warranty being a biggie, as is being able to deal with someone face to face.

« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2013, 01:35:33 PM »
Welcome to the tribe.  Lots of choices out there.  For your budget, a second hand CT or a new imported one is possible.  Doesn't really matter what you end up with, as long as you are happy with your choice and it gets you and your family out into the great outdoors.  If you go to the myswag homepage and use the search feature, you will find info on just about any CT available in Oz.  Good luck

Offline novaoz

« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2013, 02:31:40 PM »
Thanks for the replies... currently I am on Norfolk Island, but the trailer isn't for here, I will be in Rockhampton for work for a couple of years so will get a trailer and drag the kids around to see a bit of Oz, expecting to maybe do the rock and Fraser Island trips as well as weekends fishing on rivers etc.
I had a look at your customline Kingbilly and something like that looks the go, something strong and sturdy to start with and I will add bits and pieces as I go, I can turn my hand to most things as long as it doesn't have to be something to pretty. I don't really know what brands are Oz made or imported, just lots of reading I guess, One thing I really liked on Kingbillys was the bed layout rather than what I have seen on most so far... is that a custom tent to do that?

« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2013, 02:51:00 PM »
Welcome to MySwag, heaps of information available just ask away. As others have said keep your eyes on the classifieds and other sales sites as there are some bargains to be had

Offline nick_4x4

• Xiam Design and Hosting
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2013, 04:25:40 PM »
$5k-$10k as others have said a brand new import is possible, or a second hand aus made is possible.

Theres alot of second hand on http://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/ we done a bit of research on there before picking a second hand eztrail most of the work to rectify any issues was done for us and the tent was used only a couple of times.

Dont jump out and buy the first one you look at take a look around at a few second hand ones and some brand new ones, most importers have a workshop or somewhere you can go look at it, but being in norfolk might be a bit harder for you.

A good start would to look at this thread http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=1231.0 and check out the poll at the top of the page, gives you a bit of an idea on how many manufactures are around.

Good luck on your search.

Nick
2004 GU Patrol 3.0TD - 2010 Ezytrail

« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2013, 04:43:56 PM »
Welcome first and may I suggest Aussie Jays ;D not affliated

« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2013, 04:56:19 PM »
G'day Novaoz and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline happylife

• we like rugged on a budget
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2013, 05:02:48 PM »
G'day Novaoz and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:
Good luck, take your time ask plenty of questions and the right one for your needs will appear.

I also  agree with malcolm that if going the imported CT route you need to be able to get hold of the local retailer and also read the fine print first especially with regard to rust voiding any warranty ??? cos whether its gal, powder coating or steel it will as soon as chipped.
Mick & Helen; we own a GIC Australian manufactured Off Road Trailer with imported 25 m2 tent

« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2013, 05:08:22 PM »
I had a look at your customline Kingbilly and something like that looks the go, something strong and sturdy to start with and I will add bits and pieces as I go, I can turn my hand to most things as long as it doesn't have to be something to pretty. I don't really know what brands are Oz made or imported, just lots of reading I guess, One thing I really liked on Kingbillys was the bed layout rather than what I have seen on most so far... is that a custom tent to do that?

Thanks mate.  The mattress packs and travels like any other soft floor but when setting up you insert an extension into the side of the trailer and then swing the mattress around.  Gives you a full length side table down each side and no canvas against the sides of the bed.  Also means wife and I can get into and out of bed without crawling over each other.  When packing up, slip the extension out and it packs under the mattress.  Think Trackabout do something similar.  Maybe others.  It's called an east west bed.  No need for any mods to the tent and can be added to any size tent.

I found most imported tents use a rip stop canvas around the 12oz or 14 oz weight whereas most Oz made tents use a Wax Converters canvas either 12oz or 15oz for roof and 10oz, 12oz or 15 oz for walls.  Customline is all 15oz.

Good luck
« Last Edit: July 31, 2013, 05:30:15 PM by KingBilly »

Marschy

« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2013, 05:21:15 PM »
Also means wife and I can into and out of bed without crawling over each other.

Where's the fun in that?

« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2013, 06:08:04 PM »
Where's the fun in that?

Thats what i was thinking.....  ;D

I pretend to roll over, blocking her attempt at escape and....... well, from there, its all down hill for the wife.  >:D

OK, back to the topic at hand please, nothing to see here.

Offline novaoz

« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2013, 06:29:15 PM »
Thanks mate.  The mattress packs and travels like any other soft floor but when setting up you insert an extension into the side of the trailer and then swing the mattress around.  Gives you a full length side table down each side and no canvas against the sides of the bed.  Also means wife and I can get into and out of bed without crawling over each other.  When packing up, slip the extension out and it packs under the mattress.  Think Trackabout do something similar.  Maybe others.  It's called an east west bed.  No need for any mods to the tent and can be added to any size tent.

I found most imported tents use a rip stop canvas around the 12oz or 14 oz weight whereas most Oz made tents use a Wax Converters canvas either 12oz or 15oz for roof and 10oz, 12oz or 15 oz for walls.  Customline is all 15oz.

Good luck
Thanks for that, I will check out Trackabout as well.... so many choices arrrrhhh