Author Topic: Welcome your input on used campers  (Read 4451 times)

Offline Blackheart

Welcome your input on used campers
« on: April 06, 2014, 08:30:39 AM »
I'm looking around for a secondhand aussie made ct. Attended the recent show in Melbourne and will probably head to the Brisbane show in June. Being in Tas often means a limited range to look at but thought I might get out and have a look anyway and see what was being offered for the price.
 Have a budget in mind (ten to twelve grand I thought) but not sure yet about soft or hard floor as can see the pros and cons for both. Hard floor obviously cost more as well.
At the moment there are three ct's in the local area to have a look at. All similar price and with similar specs. Each camper is in offroad configuration .
Wondering what your thoughts were on the following makes of campers and whether there were any specific things I should be looking for when I go and have a look :
Cameron Camper (unsure of year)
Desert Edge Oasis (2008 model)
Aussie Jays Crusher (2013 model)
All have water, 12 v systems, couple have 240v,  brakes, annexes, kitchens with stoves etc. They are all around the ten grand mark but negotiable. While I'm not specifically looking to buy one of these thought it would be an opportunity to see what is out there and who knows I might find something.
Still considering driving north (over the ditch)on a holiday with the prospect of bringing a ct back .
What have other people done about purchasing a ct when confronted by the tyranny of distance ?  :D
Look forward to your thoughts.

Cheers Dave

2012 BT-50
CT - still looking!

Re: Welcome your input on used campers
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2014, 09:00:44 AM »
Heres my thoughts;

Kings trailers build quality and mod to what you need.

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2014, 10:21:25 AM »
The crusher are a good unit, but that ones not far under new price if asking around $10k.

A good buy if you could pick it up for $9 (or below).

What size tents are they, you said in an earlier post you has taken early retirement. If you go for a soft floor, I'd go for a 9ft tent if only the two of you. No use putting up more canvas than you have to.

Mace.

Offline DropBearRacing

The Bear made me do it!!

« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2014, 11:03:58 AM »
Have a chat to Evolution

Offline Blackheart

« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2014, 11:21:11 AM »
Thanks to all who replied and some really good advice Dazzler. Great check list to take around.
Of the trailers listed two had 12 foot tents and one 9 foot. Yep have taken early retirement and can see the sense in limiting canvas as you say Mace.
Dogsta you are right there is so much put there and I have had a look at those as well. Really taken with the Extenda. Guess that comes back to my second point. How do you go about checking out a CT when it is thousands of km's  away lol ? Looks like I may have to jump on the ferry with vehicle and have a holiday checking out ct's. Could be worse ways to take a break ;D
2012 BT-50
CT - still looking!

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2014, 11:46:33 AM »
Have a chat to Evolution

If I can help mate, feel free to get in touch and I'll be happy to do what ever I can.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline DropBearRacing

« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2014, 12:22:01 PM »
Thanks to all who replied and some really good advice Dazzler. Great check list to take around.
Of the trailers listed two had 12 foot tents and one 9 foot. Yep have taken early retirement and can see the sense in limiting canvas as you say Mace.
Dogsta you are right there is so much put there and I have had a look at those as well. Really taken with the Extenda. Guess that comes back to my second point. How do you go about checking out a CT when it is thousands of km's  away lol ? Looks like I may have to jump on the ferry with vehicle and have a holiday checking out ct's. Could be worse ways to take a break ;D

There is quite a few swaggers in Tassie who have different style of campers who I'm sure would be willing to answer some questions and may even show you around their campers.  Get in contact with evo, he is a top bloke, very easy to deal with and will give you some no-nonsense, bull-Shite free advice and info about his campers.  Unfortunately the tyranny of distance is against you.  Ask as many questions on this site as there are plenty of people who are willing to share their knowledge and experience.  Maybe someone would be willing to check out a trailer or two for you.  Good luck. :cheers:
The Bear made me do it!!

« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2014, 12:31:01 PM »
There is quite a few swaggers in Tassie who have different style of campers who I'm sure would be willing to answer some questions and may even show you around their campers.   
But be careful as some are into man cuddles and will lure you into there camper just for a quick cuddle

« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2014, 01:05:10 PM »
I'm in Tas and have an Aussie Jay's which I have been quite impressed with for the $. It's the now Crusher model with 9' tent, so if you're anywhere near Lonnie at some stage, feel free to come for a sticky beak. Mine was purchased from the big island with the help of a fellow swagger. If you do find one that you'd like checked out before travelling to look don't be shy, they're a pretty helpful bunch around here.
After just having a look at the campers on Gumtree, I'd probably add the Tambo to your list as I've heard good reports about them as well.

Marcus

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy
« Last Edit: April 06, 2014, 01:37:34 PM by Marcus73 »

Offline Blackheart

« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2014, 08:11:25 PM »
Thanks again for the replies. This is a great site with so many prepared to help out. Will get in touch Evo and have a chat. Will send a pm.
Marcus73 this is the crusher. It's up your way at Low Head. Has dual deep cycle batteries and is wired for 12 volts with numerous outlets. The price is close to new but wondering what is extra on this one that's not on new. Only last years model. Might give them a ring.

http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/low-head/camper-trailers/aussie-jays-crusher-camper-trailer/1043349904
2012 BT-50
CT - still looking!

Offline evolution

« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2014, 08:37:16 PM »
Thanks again for the replies. This is a great site with so many prepared to help out. Will get in touch Evo and have a chat. Will send a pm.
Marcus73 this is the crusher. It's up your way at Low Head. Has dual deep cycle batteries and is wired for 12 volts with numerous outlets. The price is close to new but wondering what is extra on this one that's not on new. Only last years model. Might give them a ring.

http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/low-head/camper-trailers/aussie-jays-crusher-camper-trailer/1043349904

No worries mate, whenever your ready.

Evo

« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2014, 09:44:11 PM »
I'm pretty sure I met the owner of the AJ's on his first outing with it. If it is the one he has added all of the electrical stuff himself as it didn't have any when I saw it. He did make an introduction on here, but that was about all I saw of him. I'd say that there'd be a bit more negotiating that could be done with the price. It's a shame he's not a bit closer as I could have had a sticky beak for you.
Good luck with your hunt

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy

Offline smartyingreen

« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2014, 12:25:16 AM »
Hi Blackheart, I used a evaluation company to have a look and send some independent photos - turns out the first company we used in your neck of the woods had no #$÷%×/( idea but it did help in proving the existence of the camper and the general condition before I jumped on the boat to get it.
I chose a Cameron Camper with a Concept top and off road. After 9 months I wouldn't change a thing,  love it. Great canvas, great workmanship on the trailer and know it will last well into the future. You may struggle to find a Concept top off roadin your budget but the classic top is still great quality and you should find the inside your budget.
Good luck.

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Smartyingreen - HZJ105 Land Cruiser + Cameron HD Off Road Unlimited Concept Camper.

Offline Blackheart

« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2014, 08:48:57 AM »
Cheers for heads up on the Concept top. Just had a look and very impressive. Might have to rethink. Certainly what we need as a couple is something that goes up quickly and easily. Concept seems to do that.  What are the possibilities of a refit down the track if another trailer comes up that isn't a Concept. Guess that shouldn't be a problem only a matter of $$$$$  >:(
2012 BT-50
CT - still looking!

Offline evolution

« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2014, 11:05:07 AM »
The concept tops by Cameron are a pretty good bit of kit. I really don't think you would go wrong with one of those.  ;D

Evo