Author Topic: Air conditioner for camper  (Read 17110 times)

nbd73

Re: Air conditioner for camper
« Reply #25 on: January 22, 2013, 04:38:51 AM »
In the latest CTA magazine UEV are offering a 12v AC system that can be fitted to the 490 at the bargain price of $7500.  :-[
Page 17
That is so far beyond a rip off - I suppose that, just like a Lamborghini, a product will exist for the multi gazillionaires out there. Justifying such an obscene price is rather different. How much battery power would it chew?  Could get the Heron, Honda gen & almost a lifetime of camping's fuel for that figure. Hmmm, not a tough decision. Pass on both.

Offline Sixtys Guy

« Reply #26 on: January 22, 2013, 06:47:30 AM »
We have installed air conditioning units that run off LPG, not electricity (although they need electricity to operate). If they could use that technology and put it into a smaller unit (smallest that we install is 14kw), it would be great for caravans and campers. Cost would need to come down significantly too though!
2009 Dual Cab Hilux
2009 Southern Cross Canvas Bush Mate

« Reply #27 on: January 22, 2013, 07:07:26 AM »
You blokes would be fun to camp near, a geeny going flat out and an aircon going, I reckon we would hear you in the eastern states ::)

Unbelievable ???

« Reply #28 on: January 22, 2013, 11:13:53 AM »
You blokes would be fun to camp near, a geeny going flat out and an aircon going, I reckon we would hear you in the eastern states ::)

Unbelievable ???

Got to agree.  Just spent a week at a CP which was really great, except for the two vans parked either side of us which had their rooftop aircons running 24/7.  The aircon noise blocked out the sound of the ocean at night which was really disappointing.  One of them was a pop top so no thermal efficiency whatsoever.

« Last Edit: January 22, 2013, 11:15:54 AM by KingBilly »

« Reply #29 on: January 22, 2013, 02:39:31 PM »
How can you put "airconditioner" and "camper" in the same sentence like that  ???  ;D

Yeah, I'm struggling to get my head around this also.
Camper + Aircon

Same as Camper + Heater.
Whats wrong with having a fire, then a swag warmer and then some horizontal hokey pokey 

Offline 2010banditsa

• Cheers- It's 12 O'clock somewhere
« Reply #30 on: January 22, 2013, 08:38:13 PM »
If we were all as tough as you last few guys... who would you have to laugh at??? There's a certain etiquette that can be followed with their use and i'll be following my own good judgement. Seriously though, who camps in a CP and then complains about air con units..... 
Isuzu MUX
2013 Goldstream 16' poptop with bunk
Van- http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31445

« Reply #31 on: January 22, 2013, 10:36:24 PM »
and i'll be following my own good judgement.

Does that mean "I'll do what I like, stuff the rest of you" ?  Hope not.

Seriously though, who camps in a CP and then complains about air con units..... 

The complaint was that they had to be the loudest aircon units I've come across.  And we had one each side of us  >:(  Both were huge.  The one on the pop top nearly took up half the roof space (well almost).  Wouldn't have been so bad if they had been turned off whilst they were away fishing all day and half the night but they had them on 24/7.  The one on the pop top worked its arse off day and night trying to keep the heat out of the vinyl top.  Obviously they were not paying the electricity bill.

« Last Edit: January 23, 2013, 09:28:12 AM by KingBilly »

« Reply #32 on: January 23, 2013, 06:48:25 AM »
If we were all as tough as you last few guys... who would you have to laugh at??? There's a certain etiquette that can be followed with their use and i'll be following my own good judgement. Seriously though, who camps in a CP and then complains about air con units.....

I do, if I have no other choice >:(

I wasn't talking about a Van Park, if you read my post again you'll see that.

Most van parks now are cracking down on aircons being used all night, I think they realise that people don't want to hear a noisy aircon all night and the fact that power usage for the park is a concern as well.

I have nothing against people using these noisy contraptions, just not near other who don't use these things, camping is about getting away from the noises of the city, NOT bringing them with you 8)

Offline rockygu4.8

« Reply #33 on: January 23, 2013, 07:14:34 AM »
As some would know our goldstream storm has a lot of extras including the split heron 2.2 AC. Now firstly my wife gets huge migraines and the AC is normally only used through the day if this happens while bush camping plus coming off several major oPs in the last four months from the big C. Having  said that after just having a mth on fraser we never used it once was normally a sea breeze at night plus we have a fan also which we used most nights. One thing I will say again is if I wish to use a genny in the bush I will we don't camp near anyone else so no one can get annoyed as we are well aware of the generator etiquette. Our AC runs easily off the Honda eu20i. The last thing I have to say is when we have run our AC and heater overnight in van parks you would hardly know these units are running there is virtually only air noise coming from the outside vent so very neighbor friendly. For some reason a lot of people think because you have AC and a genny you don't give a **** about anyone else. My experience is people using gennys 24/7 for running fridges or freezers in a camp ground has been the biggest drama I have seen and these folk are normally using the old 850 watt clunker from Bunnings . In capping off the heron is a great unit the heater is excellent and the AC works well considering the loss with all the canvas the van has but pulling the curtains on both Bed ends and laying on the lounge helps a lot for day time usage. With these units being built in and not roof mounted obviously helps greatly to the noise reduction that is obviously noticeable with the roof top units
« Last Edit: January 23, 2013, 07:21:13 AM by rockygu4.8 »

4.8 litre Gu Patrol
2006 Goldstream Storm
2010 Armadilo Arma X

« Reply #34 on: January 23, 2013, 08:38:55 AM »
Lot of hate in this thread :( .

Can we all take a deep breath, and realise for a moment that some people's needs, wants and desires might be slightly different to our own? It might not make sense to you, but that doesn't mean it's wrong/bad/they deserve to burn in hell for all eternity.

As Rocky has shown sometimes there can be a legit need for these things. But even still, I feel bad that he feels he has to justify his choices, on myswag of all places??? What's wrong with "I have an AC because I want an AC"? After all, as people keep saying to me, "If we were all the same, the world would be a boring place".

Matto

« Reply #35 on: January 23, 2013, 09:43:19 AM »
Lot of hate in this thread :( .

Can we all take a deep breath

Matto I have no idea where you are coming from with a reply like that.  Nowhere was there any "hate", either implied or intended, in any of my replies.  Nor could I see any "hate" in any of the other replies.  Yes, some robust thoughts but certainly no "hate".

Now comparing a Heron with the huge noisy roof top aircons I was complaining about is like comparing chalk and cheese.  And as Rocky pointed out, he responsibly uses his.  Wish others had the same consideration as Rocky does.

I don't have a problem with aircons in general.  I do have a problem with them running 24/7 for no reason other than they can because they are not paying for the electricity.  Increased use, and may I suggest irresponsible use, of electricity at CPs is one reason why CP rates are always going up.  How many times have I seen aircons running 24/7.  Come on folks, you wouldn't do it at home.  Why do it at a CP.  That's my point.

« Reply #36 on: January 23, 2013, 09:54:37 AM »

Interesting points. Yes air conditioners , generators, screamimg kids all have their place when camping just like everyone likes to camp differently from each other. Personal opinions will always be aired.

I agree with KB, using a air conditioner 24/7 camping or at a caravan park seems a little over the top unless health reasons dictate. Then again I suppose how often do we stay in units on holidays and leave the air con running.

Offline 2010banditsa

• Cheers- It's 12 O'clock somewhere
« Reply #37 on: January 23, 2013, 11:31:17 AM »
Does that mean "I'll do what I like, stuff the rest of you" ?  Hope not.

I said good judgement, not arrogance..... it means if i have to camp near anyone i wont use it, also means i buy either the honda or the yammy 2 gennies to keep the noise down for my own peice of mind as much as anything else and only use it in extremes for the mrs and my baby. Ive got battery packs at the minute charged from the car and will be upgrading to solar when my new van arrives. I dont ever stay at van parks, the mrs wont let me, i just bum water around the place in my jerries and use it carefully.

The complaint was that they had to be the loudest aircon units I've come across.  And we had one each side of us  >:(  Both were huge.  The one on the pop top nearly took up half the roof space (well almost).  Wouldn't have been so bad if they had been turned off whilst they were away fishing all day and half the night but they had them on 24/7.  The one on the pop top worked its arse off day and night trying to keep the heat out of the vinyl top.  Obviously they were not paying the electricity bill.

i agree.

Isuzu MUX
2013 Goldstream 16' poptop with bunk
Van- http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31445

« Reply #38 on: January 23, 2013, 01:56:29 PM »
I said good judgement, not arrogance..... it means if i have to camp near anyone i wont use it, also means i buy either the honda or the yammy 2 gennies to keep the noise down for my own peice of mind as much as anything else and only use it in extremes for the mrs and my baby. Ive got battery packs at the minute charged from the car and will be upgrading to solar when my new van arrives. I dont ever stay at van parks, the mrs wont let me, i just bum water around the place in my jerries and use it carefully.

Excellent, thanks for the clarification.  And my question was a bit tongue in cheek  :cheers:.

« Reply #39 on: February 04, 2013, 10:55:33 AM »
Captain is probably away as he has a a/c in his caravan.

« Reply #40 on: February 04, 2013, 02:43:23 PM »
Does anyone have an evaporative cooler?  They would use a heap less power and they work OK in dry heat areas.