Author Topic: Poo Troll?  (Read 4821 times)

Offline Straitened Out

• Out in the straits.
Poo Troll?
« on: January 23, 2013, 07:20:48 PM »
Thinking of buying a 2008 Patrol auto diesel with pretty low k's. What should I look out for with this model?
S.O.

I wonder what the poor people are doing?

Re: Poo Troll?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2013, 07:31:13 PM »
They are tough as (insert cliche of choice).

You need to factor in an EGT probe and gauge and a number of other modifications to prevent the 3L overfuelling issue.  Add in $1500 on top of the purchase price to have this done professionally.  (google 3L patrol engine blowing)

4.8 petrol on sequential gas is the smarter choice IMO (reliability, purchase price, running costs and power power power)

Enjoy the 90's!

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2013, 08:06:18 PM »
G'day mate, if you check my thread in the 4wd section you can see how unlucky I have been with it though.

In defense none of the issues I have had have been "serious" in my mind, just niggly little S*&T items the dealer should have fixed prior to selling it.
THE BIGGEST down side though, is as soon as you increase tyre diameter you will loose what little towing ability you have.
A chip or in my case a tune by MPC (gets done end of march) and an exhaust should fix it.
Check for corrosion, rust, bolt holes from crush protection and also for any other damage or indication from it being an ex mines car.
All the ones that I looked at had low k's but cruddy service history and were very loose to drive.
With the mods that I have done so far it is INCREDIBLY capable off road and will go anywhere I point it with in reason.

The NADS (nissan anti detonation system) isn't as important on the CRD's as the computer controls the boost much more effectively than the prior 3L.
But the boost, egt and a quality temp gauge are very important so you know what your car is actually doing. There is a huge fudge factor in my standard temp gauge compared to the aftermarket one that I have fitted. A provent is also a tops idea to prevent the blowby.

Nick74 had massive dramas with his pre crd patrol, although he has it sorted now and is a weapon!
They are a great truck though and I would buy mine again in a heartbeat.
Just make sure you get your stat warranty and make sure the services are up too scratch.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline GUEY

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2013, 09:09:24 PM »
Quick hijack. Mine vehicles (wagons) with roll cages, what are these vehicles used for?

Also check for squeals around the front of the motor. The tensioner bearings don't like mud and water.
If your not a lazy driver get a manual as they have a better tow rating.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2013, 09:20:13 PM by GUEY »
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

Offline Trackabout Off Road Campers

• Trackabout Off Road Campers
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2013, 09:12:37 PM »
Exactly what "Evo" said!! Couldn't have said it better myself, I had the CRD and couldn't complain, it had every conceivable mod (except lockers) incl chip and exhaust, went like a cut snake and towed really well but deffinately recommend keeping some funds aside for boost, EGT gauge and even better... A chip, Dyno and an exhaust!!

www.trackabout.com.au

Offline Straitened Out

• Out in the straits.
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2013, 09:32:57 PM »
I currently have the 3.2 Pajero DID and I get 9L per 100km, not towing. The Patrol consumption figures on those forums are scary!
S.O.

Offline evolution

« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2013, 09:42:42 PM »
I currently have the 3.2 Pajero DID and I get 9L per 100km, not towing. The Patrol consumption figures on those forums are scary!
S.O.

Around town they are a little thirsty. But due to the amount of CARP that I have bolted onto mine and the tyre size I can't complain too much.
I do get down to around 15lph.
Before I got the lift back in, lights, winch, roofrack, 33" mud tyres, awning etc etc etc....... I was averaging around 12-13lph.
So all in all for the size and weight of the car with a small motor in it, its not too bad.

Evo

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2013, 09:51:38 PM »
S.O.
stick wit a paj

« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2013, 05:03:00 AM »
Quick hijack. Mine vehicles (wagons) with roll cages, what are these vehicles used for?

Also check for squeals around the front of the motor. The tensioner bearings don't like mud and water.
If your not a lazy driver get a manual as they have a better tow rating.

mostly used for transport from camp to mine sites allot of mine site vehicles are fitted with roll cages and water tanks or rops frames on trucks - I really would not be bothered if the vehicle is an ex mine vehicle as what ever is wrong with it will already be noticeable 

« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2013, 07:11:48 AM »
S.O.

Keep in mind they are two different use vehicles.  The Patrol is a brick with solid axles and dates back to late 80's.  But it will go places in stock form that paj and prado will only do with a lift and locker.  Lift and front lock a patrol and they are a weapon.

Horses for courses I reckon.  I would only ever get one if it were for off road play as the Noise vibration harshness is unacceptable to me for anything but.  If Nissan had the money to develop a decent diesel, or hell just buy one, they would have had a legend on their hands.

Offline Straitened Out

• Out in the straits.
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2013, 05:44:44 PM »
Took it for a drive. Noice! Big, very big! Thirsty! Staying with the Paj.
S.O.

« Reply #11 on: January 28, 2013, 05:59:32 PM »
Took it for a drive. Noice! Big, very big! Thirsty! Staying with the Paj.
S.O.

How did you test the fuel consumption?

Did you do the sums of the petrol on gas?

Offline evolution

« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2013, 07:18:16 PM »
As stated before though, they are completely different truck. I have seen some really well set up pajero's, in fact my neighbor has one. A 98 I believe.
I would hazard a guess in that a well set up Pajero will go most places that a patrol will with a competent driver. I have seen some very tough trucks get stuck because the driver didn't know low range from a sandwich.

I'm pretty biased though (clearly lol) and there is no way I would change to an independent front end 4wd from a patrol with the driving I do. I think I would break them....
It all really depends on what you are  going to use it for, there is no way my patrol could match a Pajero or Prado for comfort around town, or even for comfort in moderate off roading.
But Some of the places I tend to go I don't think they would keep up with out sustaining some damage....

With either one as long as it suits your need you can't go wrong I don't think.

Evo

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #13 on: January 28, 2013, 08:13:35 PM »
Open the rear barn doors, and check for cracks just above the level of the bottom of the windows.  A known issue on he larger barn door on the 'Trol, and I can tell you Nissan won't help.  That's why I drive a Cruiser now!   :angel:
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

« Reply #14 on: January 28, 2013, 10:37:42 PM »
I had a 99 GU Patrol, then switched to a 04 Pajero. Pajero creams it in every way except offroad.

I had 3" lift, 33s and front locker and that Patrol took a beating, went almost everywhere I pointed it and where it didn't I just backed out and tried a different way. It got smashed over rock climbs, got dents and scratches, sat on redline in 2nd gear on a very soft beach for 5 minutes trying to beat the tide and it always came back for more!

BUT, as an everyday car it sucked quite a lot. Was a bit loose on the corners on the highway, bump steer was annoying and the random steering wobbles that get fixed but rear their ugly heads again were a pain. As I don't do that kind of 4x4ing anymore the Pajero more than fits the bill.

Evo sums it up quite well.