Author Topic: Floods & MySwag Members  (Read 4443 times)

Floods & MySwag Members
« on: January 30, 2013, 07:12:08 AM »
I know that we have several forum Members in the flood affected areas of QLD and around the Clarence Valley in NSW, I hope you are all safe and well.  All of our thoughts are with you.

Offline wiggo

Re: Floods & MySwag Members
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2013, 07:24:00 AM »

Offline bushbandit

• Oh To Be On The Wallaby
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2013, 07:35:20 AM »
X3

Yes we have seen the pictures of the mighty Clarence River on TV highest its been,it would be interesting to see Rainbow Falls at The Gorge at the moment with all that water coming across it,i often wonder how the owners go in floods there.

Hope all are safe and well
2013 Mitsubishi Triton GLR 4x4
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2013, 08:03:43 AM »
Best wishes to all people in the flood affected areas of QLD and NSW, our thoughts are with you and keep safe.

« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2013, 08:10:46 AM »
Yes, I also hope all are safe.

Possessions can be replaced (mightn't feel like it at the time) but as long as you and your family are safe and well, the rest can be fixed.

We were lucky, just a bit of minor inconvenience, but some family members and mates have suffered damage and hardship.

Best wishes to all effected.  Hope everything is sorted quickly.

Offline ruskie

« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2013, 08:48:15 AM »
I know that we have several forum Members in the flood affected areas of QLD and around the Clarence Valley in NSW, I hope you are all safe and well.  All of our thoughts are with you.

X4

Offline Finners

• Sampling perfect tracks - racetrack or 4WD!
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2013, 08:52:38 AM »
Best wishes to all people in the flood affected areas of QLD and NSW, our thoughts are with you and keep safe.

Bullfrog/Bevan - How you doin' on the Clarence mate? Hope you and family all ok. Just as well that fourbie of yours isn't afraid of deep water ;)

My sister lives above Lismore. Here's the Wilson River valley normally:

And here 'tis yesterday:
2012 Complete Campsite Fraser hard floor | 2012 Ford Ranger dual cab XLT 3.2 manual + too many mods - including nut behind wheel ;p

« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2013, 10:04:20 AM »
Hope you guys and girls are all well and will recover.
Our prayers are with you.

« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2013, 10:05:59 AM »
I hope all are safe and well.

I know that Qld is in a money saving mode at moment, but I don't know why they don't build a pipeline to the dry areas of outback Qld or NSW and make use of the water. The Fed Gov Bogan bitch should step in and hand over 1/2 the money for the project.

The pipeline would stop some of the flooding but not all. You will never stop it all, but its a bastard watching people go through this....

Add to that the stupid insurance increases everyone in the country will now suffer.

« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2013, 05:40:29 PM »
bit of a video for you all......
this is the view from the rear verandah where we were staying / flooded in outside Gympie at my sister inlaws place, normally you can't see any water at all from here just the tree tops that are lining the river down below. that wasn't the peak height either, if you notice the gate down the bottom of the paddock (lefthand side)....it was covered completely when the river peaked, so about 1200mm higher then what is shown there.
Small | Large

a few pics from the weekend....

here's the road that cut us off from the Southside of Gympie, this was taken Sunday lunch time i think from memory. 9.00 a.m i drove across here and it was fast flowing storm water run off, 30 minutes later it was nearly guide post height storm water run off and flowing to fast to consider it safe to cross. this is flood water that has backed up from the Mary river, so not flowing fast anymore. normal flows left to right but is backing up from downstream at this stage.

note the sign behind my fourby where i took this first pic

same area the next day, Monday morning

the SIL went to check the letterbox as we walked to their friends property down the road and my daughter saw this just in time before SIL reached in.

these guys set down in a paddock up the street, they didn't evac anyone so not sure why. they shut the engine down and after 10 minutes started it up again and took off, i wondered if a warning light didn't come up on the chopper maybe?

« Last Edit: January 30, 2013, 05:42:01 PM by Rumpig »

« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2013, 06:07:36 PM »
We're fine up here on the hill in Sth Grafton, no way we'll get wet.
We some how managed to dodge a massive bullet again. The levee had started to overtop some 4-41/2 hrs before the peak, but luckily sand bagging works held on long enough to keep the water out of the town on the North side. I got a couple of pics, will try to get them up. Thanks for the thoughts, now it time to think of those downstream of Grafton & those in QLD. :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2013, 03:16:48 PM »
Hi Guys,
The water has dropped to a level our car ferry just started operating again.
We are high & dry up on the ridge in Lawrence, able to get to Grafton the long way round along the Summerland H/way if need be.
A couple of Swaggers that were effected by the flood on the Clarence around Lawrence were,
The Parkies, Peter & Giane with their three kids, water under their place for nearly 4 days
The The Goodwins, ben & Heidi and their 4 kids, the littlest is only a newie at a couple of months old.
They were house bound for nearly a week and without town water.
All have made it through, even if a little worse for wear dealing with board kids  ;D
Here is a Youtube clip I put together this arvo of what went on around us here in Lawrence.
The first few pics were from an article in the paper.
Small | Large