Author Topic: Snow 12.10.12?  (Read 4058 times)

Snow 12.10.12?
« on: October 12, 2012, 04:11:57 PM »

I'm in sunny, but cool & extremely windy SE Queensland and I'm hearing reports that the southern states are getting snow.  Is that true?

Photo confirmations required please!  Show us your Snow!

Re: Snow 12.10.12?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2012, 04:14:13 PM »
Gday Kit E
not real far South either mate. 20-30cms have been reported around Guyra /Ebor & some falls to the East of Glen Innes. :cheers:

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2012, 04:15:08 PM »
Bloody windy alright...

One of my chooks had her bum pointing into the wind. she ended up laying the same egg four times, the poor thing.

It gets worse too, all the other chooks were laughing at her as well. Whats the world coming to?

Snow pics or it didn't happen.

« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2012, 04:18:51 PM »
Plenty windy here too JC. I went to work early this morning & I thought I had some clown driving at me on the wrong side of the street, but it was my head lights being blown back at me !!! :cheers:

« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2012, 04:27:48 PM »
Quote "Buses are also about to begin replacing ferries between Parramatta and Rydalmere because Parramatta Weir is overflowing."

If ya can't use a ferry, ya can't use a bus, it would sink...... geeeeez.

Offline chillipepperz

« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2012, 04:31:41 PM »
Snow in various parts of SA earlier this week. Last time it snowed in the Adelaide Hills I missed seeing it due to sleeping in with a hangover! http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/national/snow-at-mt-lofty-more-wild-weather-coming/story-fndo2izk-1226493307107
Alumina Hardtop Camper Build: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=22809.0

« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2012, 05:02:17 PM »
12cm reported where tehre were lost kids last night... :o

we had snow on Mt Skene in December 3 years ago...

« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2012, 05:28:16 PM »
We have a family farm just out of Braidwood, this was taken early this morning, its cold enough in Melbourne today

Offline gv 2003

« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2012, 05:37:42 PM »
Whenworth fall 12/10/12 about 930 am was on way to Lithglow for work . turn around and found different jobs to  :cup:

Offline gv 2003

« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2012, 05:42:20 PM »
the hill before Wentworth falls

« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2012, 06:19:42 PM »
We have a family farm just out of Braidwood, this was taken early this morning, its cold enough in Melbourne today

Was warnings on the local ABC this morning to be careful driving on the Clyde Mtn because of snow near the top & on to Braidwood.

« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2012, 06:32:21 PM »
We visited Phillip Island today, Prado said 10 degrees, it felt like 0 degress outside due to the southerly.

« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2012, 06:51:57 PM »
We had snow at Mt. Lofty here in Adelaide in the morning - first time in over 100 years for this time of year.

Hang on........ didn't we get a carbon tax due to global warming  ???

nbd73

« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2012, 06:54:20 PM »
Reminds me of a November weekend several years ago when sleetish snow fell at Girraween - others may recall also. Watched the digital temp gauge drop as we drove up the range past Aratula > 18,16,14,12,9... Bottomed out around there, and that was at 9am in the morning. But today is close, whatever happened to October heat waves?

Offline WaituiRob

• "Oldies still doing it.....Camping that is!
« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2012, 08:55:05 PM »
Hi Kit e,

Frank and I are tripping around Vic, yesterday we visited Mount Buffalo and it was snowing steadily at 1100 metres and where we were camping last night at Nug Nug Reserve it was 0 this morning  :D  It`s a huge camping area in the middle of nowhere and has powered sites 8)

Today we`re in Mount Beauty where it was about 20 degrees but 35 klms away at Falls Creek we saw plenty of snow and there will probably be more tonight. There are still roads closed past Falls Creek and Mount Hotham. We`re heading towards Hotham tomorrow for a look around but don`t know how far we`ll be able to go.

Cheers, Robyn.