Author Topic: Introduction from galloping gumboot  (Read 3650 times)

Offline galloping gumboot

Introduction from galloping gumboot
« on: April 11, 2012, 02:35:35 PM »
Hello folks, by way of an intro I have been camping since I was three y.o. Now retired.  Years ago I bought a 6x4 trailer to carry stuff to the tip and I was thinking there must be some way to put a tent on it. I started by building a crate and throwing a tarp over when we stopped for the night but I read about camper trailers which were just coming into being so I visited a guy named Bernie Clarke in laverton (near albury) and he built a tent which folds out etc. etc..  Well I still have it and I have just renovated the same trailer with tougher frame and electric brakes and long drawbar to accomodate fuel pods and tool box. The tent is still A1 so my wife and I will be attacking FNQ next month. This kit in its original form has already been around the big lap and most bits in between so has served well.
After 34 years of use I think i will keep it for another few laps of this wonderful country. Incidently my wife is Thai and loves camping although cant handle thieving kangaroos in the tent!!  On return from Qld we will go to Thai for 3 months to visit family and hopefully get in some fishing.
Cheers to all. Love the forum.   The Gumboot

Re: Introduction from galloping gumboot
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 02:55:36 PM »
Welcome to MySwag, sounds as though your camper has some heritage, you will need to get some pics up to keep the locals happy  ;D

Offline Fridge Magnet

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2012, 03:08:18 PM »
G'day Gumboot,

Welcome :cup:. Goes to show the old adage 'buy quality, buy once' is true. Would love to see some pics of the old girl!!
What would Barnaby do?

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2012, 03:13:36 PM »
Welcome gumboot.  I sure you will find some new area's to tread as you explore this great site.

« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2012, 07:51:22 PM »
welcome to myswag gumboots & family

« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2012, 08:18:45 PM »
Welcome aboard Gumboots.

« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2012, 08:22:26 PM »
G'day Gumboot and welcome to the forum.
Can't wait to see the pics. When you're up in Nth Qld call in and say g'day.

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2012, 03:31:38 AM »
I have to say hi, and welcome, as I love the name you have, "Galloping Gumboot".  Plenty of great people on this site always willing to share knowledge and experiences.

« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2012, 08:39:45 PM »
Hi gg and welcome to My Swag

Offline OzJeeper

« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2012, 08:49:22 PM »
G'day and welcome G.G.  Just wondering if you were one of the troupe called the "Galloping Gumboot Roadshow" that toured Beechworth in late 1977??
Still got some memorabilia somewhere... :D

cheers!   :cheers:
It's not the arrow, it's the archer.

Offline corynmelnkids

« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2012, 05:29:18 AM »
welcome to my swag and Hi from corymelnkids
2003 Toyota Prado Turbo dsl
Cub Supamatic Escape Offroad
Stacer 349 Cartopper with a Suzuki 5hp 4 stroke
All set now for a big trip just need the money
and time off work.

Offline galloping gumboot

« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2012, 01:40:03 PM »
Hi Folks,
Thanks for the warm welcomes.
No I was not a member of GGshow in 70's. My name came well before that.
We are ready to launch the old girl. Had new rego done - no probs so we should be set to head north next month. We will travel up the coast as far as McKay to visit an old mate with whom I worked in bangkok a few years ago. My wife, Ussanee is Thai and wants to see the Great Barrier Reef so will take that in. I think we will try to camp in State and Nat parks on the way to keep costs down. Can anyone tell me if its worth getting a Parks Pass for a short time?
When we leave McKay we will head for Longreach to take in some OZ culture then miander south to our home on Central Coast.
In June we are planning to return to Thailand and visit "Mum and Dad' then veg out on Koh Samui for a couple of months. Should be back in Oz in Sept when we plan to visit Flinders Ranges.
Lot to do but hope to see some of you on the track
Cheers Gumboot.

« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2012, 05:19:15 PM »
welcome mate