Author Topic: New member from Central Coast NSW  (Read 4869 times)

Offline kierent

New member from Central Coast NSW
« on: January 23, 2012, 08:41:03 PM »
Just joined today after stumbling across this forum while looking for a second hand camper. My wife and I and our 3 kids love camping but are looking for something a bit quicker and more convenient in a camper. Hopefully we'll be able to inform ourselves on the ins and outs of different manufacturers and options out there..... there certainly seem to be many!

Re: New member from Central Coast NSW
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 08:44:58 PM »
Welcome to MySwag, you are in the right place with heaps of info available, have a look around and check out the classifieds as there are a few bargains to be had, enjoy your stay

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2012, 09:05:25 PM »
welcome to myswag  kierent & family

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2012, 09:29:08 PM »
Welcome Kierent,  join and first post in a day, keep it up mate.

Mace

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2012, 09:37:10 PM »
Welcome Kierent. Plenty of info to keep you busy!!!
Chers

« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2012, 02:39:31 AM »
Hi and welcome to the forum. As GG said, don't forget to check out the for sale section here. Could get your self a good bargin.

« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2012, 05:02:00 AM »
Hi kierent and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2012, 05:36:02 AM »
G'day kierent & Family
Welcome to the forum.Good luck finding a camper.
The journey has just begun.You will luv it here mate. :laugh:

Offline wholehog

• "Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups"
New member from Central Coast NSW
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2012, 05:43:41 AM »
Another Cental Coasty hey....
I am at Berkley Vale myself....
Welcome..

Offline V8 Grunt

« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2012, 07:09:07 AM »
Welcome to MySwag,   Lots of good info here
2011 LC76 Land Cruiser towing a Tvan

« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2012, 07:27:08 AM »
G'day & Welcome, and good luck in your search.

Have you much experience with campers?

« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2012, 07:49:42 AM »
to My Swag  hope you have plenty of spare time  :cheers:

Offline kierent

« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2012, 08:53:09 AM »
Thanks for the welcomes! This is obviously a very active forum. My experience in campers so far is pretty limited. Years ago my family hired one to go through the vic high country and we loved it. More recently I borrowed a friend's camper for my wife and I to use for a week. It was very basic but good for what we wanted. Now I have 3 kids and we've camped in a big 3 room canvas tent for a couple of years but the hours of setup is a bit prohibitive for quick trips so we're thinking a camper is the way to go.

We're not in any hurry to buy and with any major purchase I always do my research so that's why I'm here. I'd rather a quality setup that isn't going to give us trouble while we're in the bush than a cheap one with loads of inclusions I don't need! I've heard of lots of brands but want to find out who builds the quality stuff that will last. We're thinking of going around Australia one day but that won't be for a few years so I guess I'm open to either getting a more basic setup for now and then upgrading later, or just getting a good one now that will last us years. For now we want to be able to do weekend trips and an annual week or 2. My kids are 18 months, 4 and 6 so for now it needs to house us all, but we're happy all sleeping in the same area as that's what we do in our tent setup.

Anyway, that's our basic situation and what I'm after.

« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2012, 11:18:53 AM »
Hi Guys and

With a young family your camping needs will change as your children grow.
It did with ours over the years.
How our camping has changed over the years
With three young kids ourselves when we started, as they grew, so did our need to change our setup.
Until we have arrived at what we have today and I'm sure it will change again in time.
You have come to the right place to arm yourself with all the info needed to get out there and amongst it.
Happy and Safe travels.

« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2012, 02:50:03 PM »
Hi Kierent & welcome to MySwag. You can spend lots of time on this forum reading all the great info. Anyway, good luck with your camper decision - took us many months to work out what we wanted, then ended up spending more than we intended but happy that we did that

« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2012, 02:52:47 PM »
Hi kierent

« Reply #16 on: January 24, 2012, 04:44:56 PM »
Welcome mate.... i have an addiction to myswag....

« Reply #17 on: January 24, 2012, 08:35:35 PM »
G'day kierent and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline hillbilly

« Reply #18 on: January 25, 2012, 12:14:40 AM »
G'day kierent welcome to myswag. You should probably hire a few different campers before you buy just to work out what works for you. I'm pretty sure there a quite a few different camper mobs on the coast now.

Hillbilly
2008 VDJ78R Troopy

http://hillbilliesinthekimberley.blogspot.com.au
hillbillyholidays.wordpress.com

Offline kierent

« Reply #19 on: January 25, 2012, 11:01:33 AM »
Good idea there.