Author Topic: New members and first time campers  (Read 5773 times)

Offline theboys

New members and first time campers
« on: August 10, 2011, 06:14:45 PM »
Hello, our names are Paul and Scott. We are new to camping and look forward to the adventure along with our boys, Moet and Arrow, show whippets.  :D We are getting a Castaway Campertrailer from O'mara's camper trailer in Rockhampton soon and are wanting great places to take our boys on holiday or just weekend getaways.

If anyone has one of these Castaway campers we welcome all advise opinions and tips both good and bad. Looking forward to our first adventure.

Re: New members and first time campers
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 06:17:59 PM »
Welcome to MySwag.......

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2011, 06:21:28 PM »
Hi Guys and welcome to the forum

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2011, 06:34:54 PM »
Welcome to myswag Paul & Scott.

Offline FZJ

« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2011, 06:38:25 PM »
Gday fellas ,and welcome. 8)
I dont mind going to work, its the 8 hours  i have to wait to go home again that annoys me.

Camel bushman....

« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2011, 07:02:50 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, how longs the wait on the trailer? Enjoy your stay and join in the crazy banter

« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2011, 07:58:15 PM »
Welcome to MySwag all 4 of you , if you need to know just ask , . Theres now such thing as silly questions , but we could rag on you anway. So enjoy the ride    :cheers:

« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2011, 09:21:02 PM »
Welcome to MySwag. What will you be towing the camper with?

Offline kelli

« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2011, 09:36:42 PM »
This may be irrelevant - but we take our boys away too! They all belong to the group 'not-a-whippet' because people always think they are whippets (Italian Greyhound, Greyhound, Pharaoh hound)!! The Pharaoh was going to be a whippet but alas he turned out a pharoah (whippet still on the 'to get' list)!

They sleep in the front bed of the Conqueror - well that's the plan anyway.

Welcome from another new CT owner!
William the Conqueror

Offline theboys

« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2011, 10:17:14 PM »
We will be towing with a Mazda BT 50 freestyle cab 3lt turbo diesel. We really like the Mazda and it is our latest in a long line of mazda vehicles. We have a custom canopy from carry boy and we also have the 3 ton towing pack, generator and looking at porta potty and hot water with shower. Looking to use this at dog shows as well as camping.

« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2011, 10:44:16 PM »
Welcome to the forum guys.  Look forward to seeing pics of the O'Mara's when it arrives.

« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2011, 11:15:21 PM »
G'day Paul and Scott and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: August 11, 2011, 06:14:33 AM »
Hi guys,

There are a few threads on the BT's here but 4WD Action site has lots more - the reason I mention it is that there are some known issues with them.

remember  :worthles:

Offline theboys

« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2011, 04:09:32 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, how longs the wait on the trailer? Enjoy your stay and join in the crazy banter

Hey GG
Our trailer is completed and we are just finalising the finance so it is ready as soon as monies swap hands.
theboys

« Reply #14 on: August 11, 2011, 07:14:05 PM »
Hi guys and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

« Reply #15 on: August 11, 2011, 08:47:56 PM »
Welcome along for the ride fellas.

« Reply #16 on: August 11, 2011, 09:51:56 PM »
Welcome in guys....enjoy!

Disco.

« Reply #17 on: August 13, 2011, 08:50:50 AM »
Gday lads and Welcome to the Forum  :cheers:

Offline watto11

• http://www.facebook.com/pages/Watsonfamilycamping/165262510248075
« Reply #18 on: August 16, 2011, 06:51:58 AM »
Welcome to mysway guys

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=-23.839704,151.271580

Offline flamingo

« Reply #19 on: August 19, 2011, 07:59:00 AM »
  Welcome to myswag boys!! Fire away with ya questions... someone will answer for sure!!   :cheers: Phil
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

Offline rodree81

« Reply #20 on: September 10, 2011, 10:47:09 PM »
Paul and Scott, we have a castway off road with 8 ft tent. 2005 model purchased second hand last year, very happy with it.

They are not heavy duty build, so weigh less then and use less fuel towing. I added electrics and small improvements as we find a need. Great Dynaporof canvas and travelled well when visited Fraser island a few months back. Pretty Basic camper, not a bad thing at all and easy for overnight stays. We do not need to put a peg down unless we set up the awning.

For the money asked second hand I am very happy.
NP Did, 3" Lift, Custom guards, Custom rear shelve, Red Arc isolator, KL78 Kumhos, Rear work light.
Castaway camper with - 120A/H battery and LED light install.

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #21 on: September 10, 2011, 11:10:30 PM »
Welcome fella's hope ypu enjoy your stay.

jas

Offline theboys

« Reply #22 on: September 11, 2011, 05:33:04 AM »
Hi Rodree81,
Thanks for the info.
I think our ct is called a kestral by castaway.
Both sides of trailer are all doors such as for gas bottle 5 way battery pack and kitchen swings out on tailgate at rear.
It tows really well and does not bounce around like some I have seen.
We will be doing the maiden set up in about 3 weeks as we have booked into a caravan park for a few days so as to get the hang of it.
The local dealer has even offered to give us a hand if needed to set up.

Offline Navvie

« Reply #23 on: September 11, 2011, 11:03:03 AM »
Sounds great! The plan to take it easy on the first set up is a good one - take your time and establish your own pattern of how you do things and what order, and then each time you do it it will get faster till you can do it in your sleep (or with a stubby in your hand- although thats the traditiomal reward for set up completion).  The other thing is to spend time in your camper seeing how things work and feel before any changes are made- once you know know how you use it you can do the little (or big) things that make life easier. Good luck!
Navara D40 Diesel Ute  Trackabout Deluxe Tourer CT

« Reply #24 on: September 11, 2011, 05:38:23 PM »
G'day & Welcome, and congratulations on your new camper.