Author Topic: Dual Cab 4x4 Vs Patrol,Prado,Landcruiser etc.  (Read 4562 times)

Offline MarkVS

Dual Cab 4x4 Vs Patrol,Prado,Landcruiser etc.
« on: June 07, 2011, 09:41:33 PM »
Guys,

Our family has a new Subaru Outback diesel and a new CT for our touring holidays. At the moment, for our longer holidays, they are going to be bitumen/dirt,but not across the desert etc.

What I am also looking at getting is a 4x4 for use for weekend get aways. Because we live just north of Brissy, there are heaps of places to go offroad. eg. Fraser Island, Moreton, back area camping.

I am looking to spend $15K on getting a 4x4, for overnite getaways..maybe towing the camper, maybe just using the tent for the night.

I have been looking for a month, and after some advice on the differences on getting a dual cab (Triton, Navara etc) type car, or an older sedan type 4x4 (80 series Land Cruisr, Prado, Pajero etc).

For the money I am spending, I seem to be able to get 'more value for money' from the dual cab style, but I obviously get more 'resale' value from the sedan' styles.

Can you give me some insite on differences between the 2 types I should take into account.

Mark.

2020 Patrol Series 5
2015 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

2013,2015,2017 National Meet
Survivor 2013 McGirr Across the Gulf trip
2014 McGirr Cape trip
2016 Duggie Savannah trip
2018 McGirr Kimberley

For every situation you have 3 choices. Live with it, change it, or leave it. But only pick one

Re: Dual Cab 4x4 Vs Patrol,Prado,Landcruiser etc.
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2011, 09:43:30 PM »
You should be able to get a great GQ or early GU for that money.

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2011, 06:35:22 AM »
Dual cab utes are really terrible off rd. The have no articulation, stiff rear ends and short front control arms. The ride is poor compared to your patrol / cruiser. But based on you description of what you want to use it for that's probably not an issue. My wife has a 03 courier xlt twin cab that we bought a few years ago for 13k in perfect condition. As you said you can probably get a lot better car for you buck if you go for the ute.
 Hope that helps

Offline FZJ

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2011, 08:50:50 AM »
Gday Mark,

We went through a similar thing a couple of years back.Id had luxes cruisers and troopies before a family arrived but needed to find somthing for around 15k that would be comfortable,the wife could drive,be a decent 4x4 and could be added to.

Im not sure I agree that dulcabs are better value.I narrowed my search down to a 04 lux d/cab petrol and a 98 prado petrol.both16k
.The lux was standard with lower ks but the prado came with bullbar,ipf spotties,cb,dualbatts,cooper stts,2 inch lift and impecable service record.Plus standard dual tanks.If i had to put all that plus a canopy on the ute it would have cost a packet.

love the diesels but am really happy with this prado on and off road.

Everything is a compromise and its just about what suits you at the time.
hope that doesnt confuse youmore...
pete
I dont mind going to work, its the 8 hours  i have to wait to go home again that annoys me.

Camel bushman....

« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2011, 09:37:42 AM »
Something to remember is a duelcab May work in better with your Tax, especially when only doing limeted Ks. Just something to thinkabout. But i do agree your patrol, cruiser are a better off roader.

Offline Campa

« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2011, 09:50:08 AM »
IMO the 4x4 wagons (Patrol, Landcruisers, Pajero etc) are alot more comfortable than a dual cab ute.

« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2011, 10:04:23 AM »
A lot more passenger room in the back of a wagon if that,s an issue.  :cheers:

Offline stepheng

« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2011, 12:16:17 PM »
Also went through a similar things and I really wanted a dual cabs as it provided a more versatile option, ie the tray is good for camping, going to the tip and generally carting stuff around.

The wife also liked the idea of a dual cab but when we actually got in it, drove it no good. There is plenty of room in the front but having three kids they wouldn't have fitted in. Or if they did, would have been a nightmare when driving - constant squabbling, pulling hair etc...ended up buying a diesel Prado - got eight seats, can split the kids up, no carry on. The real reason it got bought though was for the color but that is another story.

Offline Fivid

« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2011, 02:03:00 PM »
We started out with a dual cab Rodeo and have since had a couple of Patrols.  Patrol is more capable off road and a nicer more comfortable drive but the dual cab was great in that you could throw in just about everything you could think of taking camping and still have space for more.  The mud, dirt, smelly, wet stuff can all be kept in the ute tub rather than in the car with you, etc.  When we bought out first Patrol we still had kids at home and we really noticed the space difference, had to start carrying stuff on top of the Patrol.

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline camdyson

« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2011, 03:56:57 PM »
Dual cabs have some questions hanging over chassis strength lately too, especially towing over uneven ground.

If you google it, you'll find some horror stories of several brands where the chassis have bent badly -  for that reason alone I'd go a "proper" wagon.

Cam
Set your chickens free

« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2011, 05:32:26 PM »
Have gone from a dual cab to the Patrol and when the going gets tough you cant wipe the smile form my face instead of the worry. All in all it is a better set up for me, I only miss the storage room occasionally but I live with it

Offline koshari

« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2011, 06:05:34 PM »
i have a twin a tritan, nice car, suits me because i use the rear tub, but doesnt compare ride wise to a prado,patrol, pajaro ect with coil rears.
Code: [Select]
5M strips SMD3528x150 SMD3528x300 SMD5050*150 SMD5050x300 
LED Qty 150 pcs 300 pcs 150 pcs 300 pcs
Voltage DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V
Current(A) 1Amp 2Amp 3Amp 6Amp
Pwr 12 watt 24 watt 36 watt 72 watt