Author Topic: How to get our new mountain trail camper to darwin  (Read 5951 times)

Offline Roper

How to get our new mountain trail camper to darwin
« on: May 02, 2011, 03:40:23 PM »
Gday all
Just a quick one to see if anyone has any suggestions on how to get our mountain trail camper from the showroom in albury nsw to darwin, the trailer will be ready in a couple of weeks and cant wait to see it. So far have weighed up the options of driving down and back but the 8000km return trip and the price of fuel at the moment would cost a bit and have had a few quotes done to transport up by truck with a couple wanting Shite loads of money up around the $5000 mark. I know its not going to cost nothing at all but any advice or suggestions on a cheaper alternative would be awesome.
cheers ben

Re: How to get our new mountain trail camper to darwin
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2011, 04:54:46 PM »
What does your manufacturer recommend. Surely they ship these things all over the country or is their recommended transport company one of the $5000.00 ones.

Online Bird

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2011, 05:09:19 PM »
I had mine shipped from Qld to Melbourne for $300. Turned up rooted. Paid for what I got thats for sure. Professional caravan movers. the company name is on here somewhere.

I'd drive down and pick it up - if there are issues they are then fixed on the spot.. If like me you may find service and carefactor hard to get out of a manufacturer from x000klms away.

Freight is exxy at moment due to fuel cost too and your trailer will take up a shed load of space on a semi - thus the cost

Then again I'd never buy again from anywhere I couldnt take it back and ram it in the blokes jaxie within 1hr.

Offline AussieBob

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2011, 05:12:04 PM »
Hi Roper,
I had a similar issue last year with a heavy camper trailer needing to be transported from Sydney to Perth.
The quotes I got started at nearly 2k upwards.

In the end used a company called "Load Shift" that puts large/ very large frieght jobs out to a number of companies /operators looking for the best price. The freighter charged me less than $700 to perth. every happy!!!
Even though the web sight says large loads they were happy to send mine. They may be able to help you. ph. 1300562374   web: Loadshift.com.au

« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2011, 06:10:25 PM »
Drive to Albury hook trailer on and make a 2 week holiday of it there,s a lot to see from Albury to Darwin

Offline flamingo

« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2011, 07:14:32 PM »
  Gday Mate Sounds a trifle dear!!  I had 3 cars bought over from Perth to Melb. 2 driveable 500 each. 1 non driver 1 grand. Start making phone calls.. good luck..  Phil
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2011, 07:19:30 PM »
I will pick it up and meet you halfway ;D

Offline morgue

« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2011, 07:20:52 PM »
Drive to Albury hook trailer on and make a 2 week holiday of it there,s a lot to see from Albury to Darwin

x2....I can see a road trip happening...go on, you'll be glad you did....

« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2011, 07:27:36 PM »
 ;D  Swag Mail  ;D   :cheers:

Offline camdyson

« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2011, 07:29:58 PM »
Must be someone out there who wants a cheap driving holiday?! I'd offer if I had the time (sadly I've got to be in Cairns for the next couple of weeks). Even if you paid their petrol and a few nights in motels, you'd do that for $1500-2000.

If you don't have any luck, get back to me and I'll see what I can do with my work roster... ;D

For someone from Vic/NSW who wants to do some 4wd-ing up north it would be a cheap transit for them if you chucked in $1500 or so (so long as they leave the rough stuff for the return leg!). If you could get your insurer to agree, I'd advertise on a couple of the big forums for a driver.

Good luck.

Cam
Set your chickens free

Offline MADCOW

• I Rescue Fish from Water and Beer from Bottles
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2011, 08:11:32 PM »
Try contacting the local 4wd clubs to see if anyone is heading up your way,

4x4alburywodonga.com

Or trailtrack4x4.com

We used to be in the Albruy wodnga club and without sounding biased there seems to be a lot of senior members in the club these days who may have the time to do a trip towing it up for you,

good luck!

Nick must have someone in mind who can transport for you over that distance.

cheers dave
03 4.2 TDI Gu, Mountain Trail Extended Escape Camper,
 June 2018 Terrain Tamer Calendar

« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2011, 08:20:08 PM »
What sort of hitch did you get on it?  If you can get it to Mackay I could probably get it to 3-ways for you.

Offline Fivid

« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2011, 08:24:04 PM »
Pity it wasn't a few weeks ago, we just returned from the Simpson Desert, had 8 vehicles on the trip from Albury area.  I will ask around amongst others I know if anyone is heading that way in the near future.  If you need temporary storage we have a 1/2 acre back yard, can park it here and put a tarp over it for you.

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2011, 08:25:40 PM »
Thats the way Swaggers working together  ;D

Online Bird

« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2011, 10:20:16 AM »
I know people have best intentions, but I wouldnt get other people to move it.. if anything happens, or is missing, or damaged etc etc....

nice to offer and all that.

Offline RichardNT

« Reply #15 on: May 03, 2011, 12:24:05 PM »
Hi Ben
We are in the same boat as you except our Mountain Trail camper isn't being built till June, which model have you bought ?
I got the same pricing as you when I phoned around, no back loads into Darwin !!
Can you PM me your number as a customer of mine maybe moving some gear to/from Kununurra and I am hoping to get it ours on as part of a load, maybe a truck will coming our way when yours is ready.

Richard

Offline Roper

« Reply #16 on: May 03, 2011, 08:34:08 PM »
Cheers for all the suggestions guys, but im abit like you lost not to sure about getting someone else to bring it up for me just incase someting goes wrong. Am gunna keep doin the research surely some transport company can help us out for a reasonable figure, would love to drive down and get it but am on abit of a timeline with money and to move out of our house when the trailers ready to pick up. i ll keep lookin

« Reply #17 on: May 03, 2011, 08:44:02 PM »
x2....I can see a road trip happening...go on, you'll be glad you did....
X3 then you can get any issues sorted straight away

Offline Disco EMU

« Reply #18 on: May 03, 2011, 08:50:33 PM »
Nick from MTC must still have some contacts in the transport industry. Certainly worth asking ???

Craig
2000 Landrover Discovery Series II TD5
2001 Jayco Finch

« Reply #19 on: May 04, 2011, 03:40:34 AM »
If its going to Darwin its front load ( inbound,high rate ) when asking tell them you want dedicated trailer space . Nothing stacked around it , so it wont rub or dint or scratch it . :cheers:

Online Bird

« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2011, 10:01:27 AM »
If its going to Darwin its front load ( inbound,high rate ) when asking tell them you want dedicated trailer space . Nothing stacked around it , so it wont rub or dint or scratch it . :cheers:
Yup, and thats why the price is so high. Your taking their prime realestate.
We used to have that problem when we did Fiatagri tractors years ago from the wharf to all parts of the state

Offline Mountain Trail Campers

• www.mountaintrailcampers.com.au
« Reply #21 on: May 17, 2011, 08:10:25 PM »
Guys,

Freight from our factory to Darwin is $2500.  This is the best rate I can find.  Freight to perth is $1750.

Nick
Camper Trailer Manufacturer

Offline Slipus

• Slip
« Reply #22 on: May 17, 2011, 08:30:15 PM »
Try NQX, I used to use them to run freight to Darwin, they run all their freight to a stage point and run the trailers as a road train.  Can you rail freight to Darwin ?

Online Bird

« Reply #23 on: May 18, 2011, 11:53:46 AM »
Maybe find a transport Dept 1/2 way - Coober Pedy, or Alice Springs, might save you a few sheckles and you get a few days away from home.

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2011, 06:19:40 PM »
What about a flight to Albury and a one way hire from Hertz or similar?
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.